We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The big apple” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Edison Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Edison Times Square
Ranked #305 of 479 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The big apple”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

If proximity to Times Square is what you want the Edison is unbeatable. The rooms are basic with no tea and coffee provided and if you are around the 3rd floor by some big exterior aircon units, it is like having an aircraft in your room in the middle of the night.. We stayed there twice in the same week and it was the second stay when we got the aircon problem as the other room was much higher up. The public areas are very good and the hotel is obviously very popular as there are always crowds of people in the lobby. Good security is maintained and the staff for the most part helpful. The breakfast room is good and always busy and the travel desk for airport transfers etc makes things easy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Remmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
We thank you for your compliments on the location of the Hotel, the room,our facilities and security. We regret the noise from the air-conditioning on your second stay and will bring this to the attention of the respective department. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,936
    3,356
    1,797
    632
    423
See reviews for
2,300
2,605
346
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,485)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

When I booked flights and hotel together on Expedia I got a great deal on the hotel price. We had two queen beds and no major complaints. The lobby is beautiful and rooms are right on par with the price we paid. Bathrooms are small but for a weekend trip, the location morrre than makes up for it. We arrived at 11am and they even let us check in early annd for $0.50/bag they stored our bags when we checked out since our flight wasn't leaving until the evening.

Unlike some terrifying reviews on TripAdvisor, no bed bugs and the room was in pretty decent condition, all things considered. Beds were actually pretty comfy. Not sure what everyone's complaining about but room 915 was great.

You get what you pay for (we paid about $60/night per person and shared 1 room between 4), but overall happy and satisfied. Makes me want to go back to NYC as soon as possible. And yes, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 915 and it was just fine. It's no 5-star hotel but you shouldn't be hangin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay at the Edison Hotel. Thank you for the favorable comments regarding the décor, amenities and location. We look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We were a party of 6 celebrating a 50th birthday and the hotel couldn't have been better. We had 2 suites with more than enough room for all even with 4 of us in one of them. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the transportation desk went out of the way to help us when our privately booked taxi was over an hour late, making phone calls on our behalf. Some of the decor could do with refreshing but everywhere was clean and tidy and the public areas with the art deco theme were stunning. The security for the elevators and lobby area was a bonus. The location is superb, right on Time Square and easy access to shops, restaurants, theatres, the subway and other main attractions. The hop- on hop- off buses also stopped close by which was ideal for us. All in all highly recommended - I'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pimple2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
We thank you for staying at the Edison Hotel and are thrilled to know your stay met our expectations! Thank you for the comments regarding the staff and the great location of the hotel. Thank you for recognizing our staff as they work hard to make sure every guest has a wonderful stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon during your next stay in New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakbank, Manitoba Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We recently spent four night in Manhattan and stayed at the Edison hotel on west 47th Street. This hotel is literally a half block from Broadway and Times Square. It is right in the heart of the Theatre district and close to several metro stations. We walked tot he Metropolitan Opera house at Lincoln square from the hotel and it was a 20 minute walk, It is 12 blocks to the south end of Central Park, 15 minute walk. Lots of great restaurants, delis and shops in the area. The Rockefeller centre is a few minutes walk from the hotel, lots of things to see in the area. At night there are police officers everywhere, we felt very safe walking around at all times.

The hotel itself is an older place and the rooms are dated. It was clean and the cleaning staff were very good and efficient. I know some people would not like the place because it does look old, but for the price it is what you expect. There are newer fancier hotels in the area but you would be paying more than twice what you pay at the Edison. We weren't in the room that much so it was fine for us. We ate one breakfast at the cafe in the hotel, it was OK but there are so many places nearby I would suggest you go out most days and look around, there is lots to choose from. Restaurant Row is just two blocks from the Edison. If you like fresh croissants for breakfast, I would suggest trying Amy's Bakery on 9th Street just north of 46th Street. They are great.

The check in at the hotel went smoothly and was very good. The staff were friendly and efficient and we had no concerns with anything during our stay. There were lots of people using the hotel and I would say that for the price charged, it is a good deal. I probably would not stay here again, but only because if i returned to Manhattan I would try and stay in another district. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in Midtown for a decent price or is going to be there for any shows in this area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimDebH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Thank you for letting us know about your stay here. It was our pleasure having you and your family stay with us. We will share your comments with the staff so that we can continue to make future stays for all our guests most enjoyable. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We travelled as a mixed group of 6 people.
My husband and I had a very big bedroom with queen bed, the bathroom had a hair-dryer fixed to the wall the shower was hot and powerful we had a tv in the bedroom and a walk in wardrobe, we had an adjoining room that contained a sofa bed, tv, dinning table and 4 chairs, there was an old fashioned dressing screen in the room and 2 walk in wardrobes one with an iron and ironing board.
The rooms were a little cold at times but not too bad.
There was a slight fusty smell in the adjoining dining room but over all the rooms were clean and well decorated.
There was no kettle in the room but down in the lobby was a door to the diner, we took coffee up to the room in the morning, they served a variety of home cooked foods, soup and pastries all reasonably priced..
We liked this quaint hotel and would go back and location is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lollie2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Guest Relations at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
We are so pleased to know that you had a comfortable stay at the Hotel Edison and found our facilities and location satisfying to your travel needs.
On behalf of the entire staff I want to thank you for your feedback. We will be looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel Edison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

So, remember this is NYC!! The location is great and the rooms suitably appointed - you have to remember the cost which is a value.

Our room was small but do you wish to stay in the room all day?? It is NYC!!

We found reception helpful at all times. The location is a short walk to the Metro.

A fine breakfast cafe contained within.

We would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask reception to give you a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
We thank you for your courteous comment and rating. We indeed do have the advantage of being in a great location, in the heart of almost everything. We look forward to serving your family, friends and you, on your next visit to New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

The hotel is literally within a minute's walk from Times Square so you couldn't wish for a better location. The lobby is impressive with great Art Decco paintings and a comfortable seating area and there is a small bar which is handy for a nightcap. The Cafe Edison is a great breakfast stop - it's busy and buzzy with a huge selection of reasonably priced breakfast dishes.
Our rooms were somewhat dated and a bit dark but they were clean, the beds were comfortable and the sheets and towels were changed every day. An added bonus was the air-conditioning which was very welcome as it was in the 80s and very humid. The only downside of the air conditioning was the noise - it sounded like a helicopter was hovering just outside the window - permanently!
Most of the staff we encountered were charming - particularly the security guys the only exception was the conceirge (Gian) who was most unhelpful when we asked if there was a quiet area we could use in the hotel to make a freephone call to our airline when we were notified our flight home had been cancelled. He grunted at us and directed us to a pay phone in the street - thanks man!
The hotel isn't the best but it sure isn't the worst either. It is brilliantly located, felt very secure and represents good value for money. Let's face it unless you want to pay an extortionate rate a lot of hotels in New York aren't great - but if you want cheap and cheerful right in the heart of the city The Edison is pretty good and well worth considering.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McPidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jtcanavan, Gloria Pierrot at Hotel Edison Times Square, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
We thank you for your compliments on the location, and services of the hotel. We are pleased to share that we have concluded renovations of many of our rooms. The management’s endeavor has always been to offer our guests a contemporary product. In line with this, further upgrades in a phased manner are already scheduled. We are confident that you will notice the difference in your future visits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#322 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 12,135 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#368 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,141 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#296 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 5,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#137 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 6,272 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,223 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#327 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edison Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edison Times Square

Property: Hotel Edison Times Square
Address: 228 West 47th Street, Between Broadway and 8 Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Green Hotel in New York City
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
#245 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edison Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 810
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1931, Hotel Edison is an architectural art deco masterpiece with a rich history dating back from the moment famed American inventor, Thomas Edison turned on the light at the grand opening of the hotel to playing host to countless notables, to movie and television appearances. Hotel Edison is conveniently situated in the heart of New York City's iconic Times Square, amidst the energy and excitement of the latest in Broadway Theatres, nightlife, fine dining and shopping. The hotel is within steps of Midtown Manhattan's premier business and leisure destinations - Time Warner Center, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and world renown Fifth Avenue Shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Edison Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Towers Times Square
Edison Hotel New York City
Edison New York
Edison Towers Time Square
Edison Hotel Nyc
Hotel Edison New York City
Edison Towers New York
Edison Towers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing