We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a super location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Ranked #87 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The location was great, with restaurants galore within close proximity. Many of the tourist sites are within easy walking distance (Empire State bldg., Grand Central Station, Rockerfeller Plaza, etc). The rooms are big and the bed was super comfy with a crisp white duvet cover on the comforter. The bathroom however was rather small but the shower was a nice good-sized walk-in shower with slate tile so was not slippery like some showers are. The staff was accommodating especially when we checked in and noted that my husband needed a shower with no tub.
A couple drawbacks were a lack of a in-room coffee maker. While they had coffee you could buy downstairs at Audrey's it was inconvenient to have get dressed to go down and carry up two coffees. Another problem was with the internet and I suspect that it was because of the way our room was situated on a corner.
We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to our family & friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marna505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,918)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,037 - 1,043 of 1,918 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 3 night in a loft suite (room 1604). I booked through the hotel and got 50% off the 3rd night. Total cost=$1,250 approximately. Worth every hard earned penny. The suite was quiet and huge. These are two words seldom used as NY hotel room descriptors. There was a living room with microwave and fridge + huge flat screen TV. Little dining table for two in a corner. A very comfy L shaped couch about as wide as a twin bed but it's not a fold away. The bathroom is modern and clean. There isn't a tub but the shower stall is big with a glass door and tiled beautifully. The bedroom also has a flat screen TV and a super-comfy bed. The floors were a lovely hardwood covered with area rugs. There's a Keurig in the room, but the maids never refilled the coffee supplies with creamer. (Minor problem and I could have asked for more.)

The pics in hotel's website exaggerate the size if the lobby, it's s few chairs (nice chairs) but that's it. There's a tiny lobby bar-restaurant. But who cares: it's quiet and the staff is pleasant. If you get the loft suite, you'll have a sitting room to hang out with friends. Plus, there are 2 walk in closets and a safe. The closets were bigger than some bedrooms I've seen in NY.

The hotel is two blocks from Grand Central in Murray Hill. Not hipster-ville, for sure. Perfect for me since I wanted convenient sans crowds. Theater district is walkable and when you get to Times Square, you'll be very glad you're not staying in that area. The village is a walk and train away.

The cost is high (for me) but I didn't want my hotel choice to negatively impact my weekend in NY. I was meeting friends and the sitting room provided us a place to hang out, talk, have a beer etc. without dealing with World Cup craziness. I was worried the room would be horrible and I'd be out a tidy sum. It was perfect. Just perfect. No regrets.

I can't speak to the standard rooms, but check deals on the loft suite if you want a lovely two-room hotel.

Thank you, Tuscany.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vida1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Staying at The Tuscany turned a good trip into a great one. The room was booked through a discount travel site, and I did not know what hotel we would get, but I guess we were just lucky that day! The hotel was well worth the money we paid. Our room, on the backside of the hotel, was quiet, large and well appointed. We were on one of the lower floors but if we leaned a little to the left we could see the Empire State Building. I was also very intrigued by the outdoor patios/gardens of the townhouses behind us....I never saw anyone using them! While the room was way beyond expectations, it was the staff that truly made this an outstanding hotel. Previously we stayed at larger chain hotels, with revolving desk clerks, valets and doormen. Here, we really got to know the people who did an excellent job of taking care of our needs. In particular Dennis , who worked the front desk, went out of his way to make our stay special. (He was off the day we left so we never got a chance to thank him!) We will be returning to NYC again for another girls’ trip and will certainly return to the Tuscany, by choice this time!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I booked 2 rooms for my sister and her family who are arriving on an international flight tomorrow morning. Because of an emergency and unforeseen circumstances the original hotel her family was going to stay fell through. In the midst of the chaos I needed to book something before they landed. I called reservations and spoke to Joshua - several times. No matter my request or how much I made him crazy he maintained his cool and ensured that all would be taken care of. He helped me with the best price, the best room options for their needs and emailed all the details with exact directions to my sister so when she lands she will have a clear and hopefully smooth arrival in NY. If Joshua's customer service is any indication of what this hotel has to offer, I am positive all with be terrific. I will update later with further details and how the stay actually was.

Thank you Joshua!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

I needed a last minute room for one night in Manhattan and expected to pay a lot and get a little, but the Tuscany was a very pleasant surprise. Every staff person went out of his way to be helpful and courteous--tip or not. My ugraded suite was handsome, enormous and outfitted beautifully and comfortably. It WAS pricey--$522 with tax--so not a "vaue" but still a really great night. My compliments to the hotel owners and staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Decent hotel with large rooms at a reasonable price. Location is good, next to Grand Central Station so it's easy to get around.

My room did not have a safe and we were offered the option to move to another room but decided against it.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohamed Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Tuscany is just blocks from Grand Central off Park Avenue. The rooms are spacious and very well appointed. There is a separate dressing table and closet area. Bathrooms are not large but nicely done with beautiful shower. The staff was extrenely friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend if you are looking for a boutique hotel and do not need on-site restaurants. There is a basic cafe.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TravelLadyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
#334 of 470 in New York City
2,128 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#109 of 470 in New York City
1,196 reviews
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#42 of 470 in New York City
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central
Fitzpatrick Grand Central
#47 of 470 in New York City
2,323 reviews
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#108 of 470 in New York City
1,192 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#45 of 470 in New York City
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel

Address: 120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Family Hotel in New York City
#64 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#71 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $177 - $579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel- emerged from a multi-million dollar renovation in 2013 as New York's latest luxury destination. The Tuscany's 124 rooms are amongst the most spacious accommodations you will find in Manhattan. Fabulous features include: hardwood entryways in all rooms, corner studios with an abundance of natural light and multiple suites with signature views of the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. The plush decor creates warmth and invokes classic New York paired with modern amenities, including Molton Brown bath products, complimentary WiFi and rainforest showerheads in glass-enclosed showers. The Tuscany also boasts an in-house fitness center that features state-of-the-art exercise equipment. Open 24 hours a day for your convenience. Reserve today and rediscover New York City luxury at The Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Giles - The Tuscany New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotels The Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing