We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Ranked #87 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is a boutique hotel smack dab in the center of NYC, and just a few short blocks to Grand Central Station. The rooms are upscale and a great price point. I wouldn't stay anywhere else! Service is great, you can walk to anywhere in mid town, and cabs are plentiful. I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank felix33442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,005
    548
    99
    39
    21
See reviews for
219
817
98
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

My Aunt and I stayed here for a girls trip to New York. This hotel was awesome. The room was charming and obviously recently updated. The location was absolutely perfect. You are only a very short walk from Grand Central Station and tons of nice restaurants. We were only a few blocks from Time Square and tons of entertainment including Broadway shows. The staff was nice and extremely helpful. We did a lot of walking, shopping and sightseeing so at night we crashed. The bed was absolutely amazing. There is one thing that you should know and that is the traffic never died down until about midnight...then the trash trucks started passing by. It was quite noisy, but once your head hit those awesome pillows the bed just took you away! We did notice the free wifi only worked in the entry way of our room. It wasn't a major issue for us because we didn't need it for anything important. We could not have picked a better hotel. We always felt safe and the doormen always greeted us when we returned. I will definitely stay at The Tuscany for future visits to the Big Apple.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tvlady911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

I recently visited NYC for business and stayed at The Tuscany for one night. Check in ws handled by a charming front desk clerk who made the process easy and incredibly quick. Upon entering the room, I was irritated that I was only staying one night. The hotel was recently remodeled and the rooms were beautiful with Molton Brown bath products. The hotel was central to everything I needed to do. The only negative was the noise level. I stayed on the 3rd floor and heard quite a bit of street noise. It certainly didn't interrupt my sleep and was quickly forgotten as I jumped into the comfy bed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinaMePittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We had some points on the American Express card and used some to stay here. It was amazing. The location is so perfect. It is right next to Grand Central Station and a short walk from tons of other amazing restaurants and tourist sites. The staff is young and provided a great vibe when we walked in. The guy at the door was amazing with helping us get cabs and assisting us with luggage. The rooms are impressive and super romantic. There is an awesome touch of elegance about this place. The access to Park Avenue makes this hotel worth it. Give this place a chance.

Room Tip: A room that overlooks the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clayton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher J, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Clayton S,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We are delighted to hear that our spacious, modern rooms and great location near Grand Central made for such a great stay. We are especially glad to hear that our staff provided warm, friendly service—that’s our goal with each and every guest. Thanks for recommending us, and we hope to welcome you back to The Tuscany on a future visit!

Warm Regards,

Robert Falco
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I had always wanted to stay here, but I never got the courage to stray from the W New York. So glad I finally did! The hotel is in the perfect location. You're right next to Grand Central, Bryant Park, and 5th, and despite being around so much, it's in a quiet location. Sleeping was great! The staff was extremely accomodating, and the decor was beautiful. My favorite thing about this hotel was the bathrooms. Don't judge...I am all about bathroom space, I'm a girl (DUH). Don't pass this gem of a hotel up, it's perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nkesler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Tuscany for two nights.
the room was very spacious, well decorated, and well equipped.
Shower was nice and large.
The location at 39 between Lexington and Park is central and convenient.
The one downside we found was the noise from the outside. Soundproof windows would a recommended change.
I would return to this hotel and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eyal70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed 4 nights in room 507 in May 2014, as our first visit to NYC. As long as the bed is large and firm and you have a good shower, i am happy at that. I got both of those things here no problem. Room itself was a good size, as was the area for changing and hanging clothes, but the actual bathroom size did not seem quite in proporation to the large size of the rest of the room and was one at a time only. No problem with street noise, but the proximity of the lift and the noise of the AC might bother some.
Reception were freindly and we did not use the breakfast service, so cannot comment there. Handy for the Empire State, Macys, Times Square etc, all maybe 10 mins walk and Grand Central Station maybe 5 mins walk away, so decent mid town location. Considering theres so many bad choices you could make in NYC hotels, i am happy with this one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colinmc400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#72 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Midtown
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
#300 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#114 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,654 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#27 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel

Property: The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Address: 120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in New York City
#64 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#69 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#73 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel- emerged from a multi-million dollar renovation in 2013 as New York's latest luxury destination. The Tuscany's 124 rooms are amongst the most spacious accommodations you will find in Manhattan. Fabulous features include: hardwood entryways in all rooms, corner studios with an abundance of natural light and multiple suites with signature views of the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. The plush decor creates warmth and invokes classic New York paired with modern amenities, including Molton Brown bath products, complimentary WiFi and rainforest showerheads in glass-enclosed showers. The Tuscany also boasts an in-house fitness center that features state-of-the-art exercise equipment. Open 24 hours a day for your convenience. Reserve today and rediscover New York City luxury at The Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Giles - The Tuscany New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotels The Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing