We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Ranked #80 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,159 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 636 helpful votes
“Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I was very happy with our one night stay at the The Tuscany (St Giles) in Manhattan. The location is excellent. It's near Park Ave and Grand Central Station, but 39th street is a quiet tree lined street that feels like a little oasis in the city. There are plenty of good restaurants near the hotel.
The staff was excellent. They are welcoming and helpful and give each guest the feel of personal, one on one service. This is not a factory - get them in, get them out kind of hotel.
I loved our room. It was modern, comfortable and successfully combined the old with the new. The bed and linens were a little slice of heaven.
We just bought a condo in Florida and are redoing the bathroom. The minute I walked into the room and saw the bathroom I knew I wanted to do this exact bathroom in our condo. I was snapping pictures to give to our contractor to say - "see this is what we want"! I think that is a good recommendation for the bathroom, I loved it so much I want to copy it in my home!
It was my first time here, but not my last!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    487
    82
    35
    15
See reviews for
185
714
83
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Itala, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I spent 4 nights @ Tuscany in May 2014.

I suggest this hotel mainly for two reasons:
1) room's dimesions > I have been in several hotel in NY but this room is for sure the bigger
2) position > perfect compromise between lower and higher part of Manhattan

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank ViaggiatoreVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had made a request weeks in advance with our reservation for a very quiet room. When we got there, it was late and we were exhausted.... so did not think much of it when we had a room on the 4th floor.... OMG... I had to take a sleeping pill at 2 am... even with ear plugs, I could not sleep through the sound of ambulances and police car etc, people on the street etc (windows are not sound proof at all)... second day we asked to change rooms and were told the only other option was the second floor... so no... so two more night of noise but not as bad from outside, just woken up in middle of the night by people coming in around 2-3 am from night out partying (yes, we can hear very clearly everything from the hallway it seems, even with earplugs). Wifi is disastrous... worked on and off the first night but not at all the other two nights... we had to go to Starbucks to check our emails... I would have preferred to be in hotel where I had to pay for it and actually had signal.
On the positive side... yes there is one... Hotel looks nice. Rooms are huge, which is amazing if you need to spend time there working (as long as you do not need wifi!)...love the décor. Only 3 blocks from Grand Central Station which is amazing to get you anywhere across the city by subway. Great comfortable beds. Clean.

Room Tip: high floor, but you may not get what you request anyways...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genevieve61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

It was around dusk on April 6, 2014 when I was spending time with a new business partner of mine, when things took a surprising turn for the worst. This gentleman made the dumb and unprofessional mistake of using the room to fornicate with his "boyfriend," while leaving our lunch for an "errand." When I arrived, I caught them in the act, and decided to leave. He got in my face, things almost got physical & he rushed out, even changing the safe's passcode. When I go to leave, I can't for the fact I could not take my card information off the room for incidentals. He would not put his card down either. After about 2 hours of figuring out what to do, my attorney, and the amazing front desk team that night saved me, and treated me. They were so patient, caring and just beautiful people. The lady even got me something from Starbucks. They as well escorted the gentleman, and his guest out of the hotel, and pretended I left too. Finally what does the staff do? Book me into one of their gorgeous, spacious and delightful suites. I forgot the girls name :( & I believe the guy's name was Jonathan. They both were working that evening on April 6th. Thank you for saving me, and showing me what true hospitality is, especially here in New York. See you soon Tuscany! Best Always, Tommy Hawk.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Nice decor, very good location and extremely friendly staff.

Complimentary NY Times and Wall St. Journal is a helpful touch for business travelers.

A la carte continental breakfast is well-managed but not ideal for someone either trying to have a full breakfast.

Elevators take too long, not good if you are in a hurry.

Room Tip: Recommend bringing your own plug adapter if you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KanjiCongee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Positive: Amazing rooms and much bigger than the average in New York. Very modern and with all the facilities you expect of a four star hotel.

GREAT location! Minutes from Grand Central, Time Square, Bryant Park and Fifth Avenue.

Negative: The WIFI in the hotel/rooms is very bad and not working much of the time. We stayed for 6 nights and had to contact the staff several times regarding the internet. Continued to break down through our stay. They never came back to us with any status or any help.

The lobby is not what you would expect from a four star hotel. Very "cold" atmosphere and not that inviting. Much of the time there is only one person the reception and thats all.

The rooms and doors are not soundproof, so you can hear all the noise from the hall and from the elevators. We stayed 3 rooms down the hall from the elevator and would wake up several nights because of the loud chime from the elevator.

Conclusion: All in all a good stay, good price and most important some very great rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WBB85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Overall experience at this hotel was good. The location was excellent, the rooms were very nice and larger than what I had expected to see in NYC. We also got a good price for the room which combined with the ratings is why we booked. One thing to be aware of is that the doors let in a lot of noise, so I was awoken pretty much every morning by the housekeepers out in the hallway around 9 am. Probably not an issue for those who get up early but not easy to sleep in. Overall this was a very nice hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel
The Renwick Hotel
#83 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Midtown
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
#291 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,867 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#92 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,179 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#58 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,136 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel

Property: The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Address: 120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in New York City
#62 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#65 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel- emerged from a multi-million dollar renovation in 2013 as New York's latest luxury destination. The Tuscany's 124 rooms are amongst the most spacious accommodations you will find in Manhattan. Fabulous features include: hardwood entryways in all rooms, corner studios with an abundance of natural light and multiple suites with signature views of the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. The plush decor creates warmth and invokes classic New York paired with modern amenities, including Molton Brown bath products, complimentary WiFi and rainforest showerheads in glass-enclosed showers. The Tuscany also boasts an in-house fitness center that features state-of-the-art exercise equipment. Open 24 hours a day for your convenience. Reserve today and rediscover New York City luxury at The Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Giles - The Tuscany New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotels The Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing