We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Ranked #94 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“What a find in NYC”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We were in NYC to celebrate our daughter's 21st birthday. My son and his wife were also joining us and I wanted a "reasonable" but nice hotel. Well, compared to the Times Square area, not only was this a bargain, but such a great hotel. I would rank it one of the best I have stayed in. HUGE room, HUGe bath, the brightest hotel room and wonderful staff. And an important feature at least for my family- many, many electrical outlets to use and even a charging station for phones, computers, etc. My daughter didn't have any trouble using the internet, so I think it was working fine.

I guess to rate 5 stars there should be no negatives, but for me it was in NYC almost perfect. The only thing I thought was negative, was that the shower head leaked to the side, so water was on the floor after our shower and I would say that eventually this is more of a problem for the hotel. The bathrooms were beautifully tiled and thought out; a drawer where I could put my toiletries.

I apologized to my daughter for not being in Times Square and she said, this location is so much nicer. We arrived via Grand Central and we could walk up to the hotel from the station in no more than 5 minutes.

I mistakenly made reservations for dinner for the wrong night and the desk went above and beyond to get us reservations in a very nice restaurant very quickly.

I guess there could be a restaurant, but really in NYC, that isn't important to me. I will return unless the rates get exhorbitant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathycnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    555
    106
    39
    22
See reviews for
223
830
100
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 7 nights start of March 2014 staff went out there way at all times to make sure our stay was perfect, big thank you to Angie who I liaised with to organise a surprise for my partners 30th birthday, they decorated the room filed with balloons, cake, champagne, flowers. Room cleaned daily and products in shower room replenished daily
New York best city in the world

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel has a great location, but I'm probably being kind giving this hotel an average rating.It has serious security. plumbing and staffing problems. Most rooms do not have security locks and hotel personnel do not wear uniforms so when young men knock on your door unexpectedly, there is no way to know if they are there for a purpose. We had to change rooms twice. The first room we were shown did not have a safety lock. The second did, but it had no storage -- not one drawer deeper than 2 or 3 inches -- and the shelf in the closet was covered with fallen plaster; someone had drilled holes in the wall and not finished the job. There was a desk, but it had no lamp or overhead light, so it was useless. When the toilet stopped working, we were moved to a big suite, but that toilet had problems too, which they were able to fix. When each toilet failed, we called for help. The first time, no one ever answered and the second time, someone answered on the 15th ring. During our whole stay, there was someone to open the door on only two occasions. When we checked out, only one person was working so she had to check us out, hail a taxi and hold the door open for us. Also, the windows are of very poor quality. You can feel the cold air rushing in. By the way, the hotel gets a very young clientele and perhaps the average reviewer has little hotel experience. We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Irvinereviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Irvinereviewer,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany. We are so sorry to hear that your visit did not meet your expectations, and we sincerely appreciate that you took the time to share your concerns—we are always looking for opportunities to improve the guest experience. Our management team takes the safety and security of our guests very seriously, and we are auditing our rooms to ensure that security latches are available and operational in all of our guest rooms. We regret that the plumbing did not seem to cooperate at all during your stay, and our engineering team is on the case. And regarding the staffing issues you mentioned, our front office team is working to ensure that our warm, personal service is consistently there for each and every guest. I would like to speak with you personally regarding your visit. Should you feel so inclined, please feel free to reach out to me at chriss@stgilesnewyork.com or by calling 212.592.8877. We hope to have another opportunity to show you a true St Giles experience.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Room was very big and clean . Area is in Murray hill which is super quiet . Only downside is there no room service .
Otherwise everything was cute. Huge bathtub and big bathroom
Would definitely go back for another night away . Can't wait for Beers and Buns to open

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Faith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Faith W,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We are so glad that you enjoyed our spacious, modern rooms, and especially that you enjoyed one of our rooms with a deep soaking bathtub. We’re sorry to hear that there may have been confusion about room service—we do offer in room dining daily from 7am to 11am and again from 5pm to 11pm currently! We’ll be sure to check and make sure that our menus are in every room. Please do come back and visit us again soon. Beer & Buns is now open from 11:30 to 3:30pm for lunch every day, so there’s a great opportunity to try our international slider menu or go for the now-famous Indulgence Burger! We look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Great size rooms for NYC. Perfectly well equipped. V quiet and bed was super comfortable. Way better experience than some of the other 'cool' NYC hotels where the rooms are ridiculously tiny. Service in the bar was good as was the front desk. No complaints although I note refurbishments continue on some closed off floors.

Room Tip: corner rooms are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NewYorkDunelmian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear NewYorkDunelmian,

We’re so glad you liked The Tuscany and our sunny Corner Studio! Thanks so much for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. We are especially delighted that our warm, personal service left a great impression—I will be sure to share your kind words with our front office team and our Audrey Bar team. The Penthouse is very nearly complete, and we can’t wait to share it with our guests. Please do come back and visit us again soon.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We had a 15th floor mini suite with a view of the Empire St Building, the largest rooms we've ever had in NY. Just off Park Ave, about 5 min. walk from Grand Central. The hotel appears to have been very recently renovated and the room was incredible. Comfortable bed, quiet, spacious. The front desk support exceptionally helpful, and the rates amazingly low - it could have been the off season mid-week timing, but we'll definitely keep this place at the top of our list for NYC.
Also, there is a very good gym (for hotels) on the 2nd floor - it had a good selection of free weights, some weight machines, and a full range of aerobic machines.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcccward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear rcccward,

Thank you so much for your 5-star review of The Tuscany! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the Loft Suite, the great views of the Empire State Building and our warm, personal service. And thanks for the Perform Fitness Center plug—we think it’s one of our best kept secrets, a hotel gym that is spacious, well-equipped, and sunny. Please do come back and visit us the next time you’re in New York City.

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Very few hotels in NYC are truly 4 star, but this one delivers in full. Great spacious rooms, with well appointed baths and tons of space. Plus, quiet. Worth the extra money, I always stay here when I can catch a deal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#72 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Midtown
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
#306 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,031 reviews
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#112 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,707 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#23 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel

Property: The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Address: 120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in New York City
#64 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#73 Family Hotel in New York City
#76 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel- emerged from a multi-million dollar renovation in 2013 as New York's latest luxury destination. The Tuscany's 124 rooms are amongst the most spacious accommodations you will find in Manhattan. Fabulous features include: hardwood entryways in all rooms, corner studios with an abundance of natural light and multiple suites with signature views of the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. The plush decor creates warmth and invokes classic New York paired with modern amenities, including Molton Brown bath products, complimentary WiFi and rainforest showerheads in glass-enclosed showers. The Tuscany also boasts an in-house fitness center that features state-of-the-art exercise equipment. Open 24 hours a day for your convenience. Reserve today and rediscover New York City luxury at The Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Giles - The Tuscany New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotels The Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing