We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Ranked #92 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved our stay.”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Loved our stay at the Hotel. Rooms were larger than expected and had a walk in closet enough for 4 suitcases aswell as a desk and chair in the alcove outside it. The bed was devine to rest in after walking through nearby Central Park in the snow. There was plenty of space for all our needs and a great view of the Empire State Building. The breakfast was adequate and the breakfast staff were fantastic. However, a little more attention from the doorman would have been nice. Would consider staying again for location and comfort provided.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Empire State Building to enjoy the light show with a bonus of it being quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mochacoffee44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear mochacoffee44,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We are delighted to hear that you loved your stay and that our spacious, modern rooms offered a great respite in the city. Our comfortable beds are getting high marks across the board, and we are so glad to hear that they provided such great rest after a long day of exploring. We do regret to hear that service seemed inconsistent during your visit—I will be sure to share your kind words with the Audrey Café team, and we will certainly be following up regarding the service issues mentioned. We would love to welcome you back to the Tuscany on a future visit!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,071
    583
    110
    40
    24
See reviews for
235
864
106
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Checked in on Jan.31st and had to go home on Feb.4th, 2014. It was Super Bowl week end! The hotel staff was so friendly and professional! The employees really make all the difference. The room and beds are nice and comfortable. Great coffee and breakfast in the cafe. The service is supreme! Going to stay at The Tuscany again! It's all good at this place!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesliegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear lesliegood,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! What a great weekend to have been in NYC, and we are so happy to hear that our great staff left such a great impression. We love to hear when guests receive the warm, personal service that is our standard, and I will be sure to share your kinds words with our whole team. Please do come back and visit us again soon. Do not hesitate to reach out to us at reservations@stgilesnewyork.com for the best rates and promotions on offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Tuscany!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Very friendly staff, excellent prompt,customer service. Great location, right near Grand Central. Boutique hotel, smaller and very comfortable. We felt that the staff made All the difference. Booking through the hotel was very nice and professional. The front desk staff was awesome,so was the cafe staff! Everyone was so nice. Doormen, hotel engineers and entire hotel staff really aim to please . We were impressed with the hotel employees and their professionalism. We will stay at The Tuscany again, and look foward to seeing the hotel staff again! Beds are comfortable too! Coffee at the cafe is fantastic! You can have a nice breakfast at the hotel, before you hit the pavement!
All the rooms are newly renovated, and several size choices. This place is a good time! I have to mention, How helpful the reservationists were!
Housekeeping was very quick and helpful too! We especially enjoyed meeting Dennis,Shane,Jon and
Christian and Orlando. They made us feel appreciated as guests! Thank you to the great staff at the Tuscany,St.Giles!! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyeb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Skyeb123,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We could not be happier that you had such a wonderful visit with us. Our staff is our best asset, and we love to hear when they leave a great impression on our guests. I will be sure to share your kind words with Dennis, Shane, Jon Christian, Orlando and their colleagues in housekeeping and engineering. We are also glad to hear that our spacious, modern rooms provided a great respite from the especially cold winter we’ve been having. Please do come back and visit us again soon!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I suppose when you put luxury in your hotel name you have to be very confident you have everything covered, unfortunately although the hotel is nice it could be better in some areas too.
Lets start with the good bits; the hotel is well positioned mid town away from all the noise and mayhem of Times Square but accessible to all major attractions and with Grand Central close by you have easy access to the subway. The beds are big and very comfortable one of the best hotel beds I have slept in. I contacted the hotel direct to ask about their best rates and got a good rate with an upgrade to a corner room (my last couple of reservations with hotels have beaten all the major search brokers like Expedia etc by some margin so always worth a call). The hotel room was very large with a great view of the empire state building on one of the higher floors which was lovely and quiet too.

The not so good bits: we stayed for six nights and had problems with the air conditioning with the heat setting being sporadic then not working at all on the second day with temps of lower than -10C obviously not too comfortable, hotel engineering agreed the controller was not working and the hotel moved us from the 15th floor to the 16th floor of the identical room. We realize things like this happen but we had the inconvenience of packing, unpacking and moving not ideal on holiday, also we had an issue with the shower which seemed to be lukewarm we asked the hotel to look at it but hey informed us it was working ok? the water pressure was not the best either. The bathrooms are nicely fitted out but very small which seems out of proportion with the large rooms, also there is no pedestal table with two comfortable chairs as shown on the hotel website not really an issue with us but maybe for you. I think if you are going to book a room in this hotel its best to ring and see what exactly is fitted in the room type you are looking at, as I believe some of the rooms have baths as well as showers which may of suited us better.
No Vanity mirror was in the room for my partner, enquired at reception for one but informed none were available.
We used the hotel transport to the airport and thought it reasonable value, efficient and comfortable in relation to using a yellow cab.

To recommend a nearby breakfast place I would say that Pershing Square opposite Grand Central Station was good for us, big, noisy with great food and fast service and how you imagine a New York eating place to be! great to start the day, as a tourist you want to get a feel for your holiday destination not just sit in another hotel lobby.

If you are going to a show in the low season most of the major ones are half price at the moment with the exception being Wicked which charges full price, we saw Mama Mia which was fantastic!

If your over in the off Broadway area a great small restaurant we tried was '9' on ninth avenue which served amazing Thai food with all day cocktails at $5 each, great value for both food and drinks in New York.

Room Tip: Ring to see exactly what you are getting in the room, pictures and descriptions can be misleading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear AnyS7,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to New York City, and that our comfortable beds provided such great rest after long—and cold—days exploring the city. We regret, however, to hear that you had some issues with your original room. Our rooms do tend to vary in size and character, and while rooms on higher floors tend to have the best views, they are a bit smaller due to the tapering of the building near the top. This means that some Corner Studios on upper floors do not feature a table and chairs and that the bathrooms are a bit smaller on average. We are always happy to take special requests in advance, including for features like a bathtub and our rooms with a separate vanity area. As not all of our rooms are identical, we do like to receive your preferences beforehand so that we can do our very best to accommodate your requests. You can contact us any time at reservations@stgilesnewyork.com with requests, questions, or quotations for special rates—our Accommodations Team will be happy to assist you. We hope to make your second visit to The Tuscany better than the first!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Booked for a mid week night, we were doing theater and dinner. Easy check in and a nice bar in the lobby. Room was clean and comfortable with plenty of room. The only set back was there were not any drinking glasses in the room. They were brought promptly upon request. The room came with breakfast which was a continental. For an extra charge you can add hot dishes. Biggest benefit is location. only three blocks from Grand Central and walking distance to Times Square wnr he theaters. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid being across from elevator if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Chris M,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our clean, spacious rooms. Though we are sorry to hear that we overlooked the drinking glasses prior to check in, we are glad to hear that we were able to promptly address the issue and that you enjoyed your visit with us. Please do come back and visit us in Murray Hill again soon!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed here during the polar freeze in January. We arrived just before midnight and struggled through the snow into the lobby with our bags. The front desk staff were polite but rather disinterested and gave us very little information or guidance. The porter needed to be called I felt from the sister hotel next door. Whether it was a staff sharing situation or not I am not sure.
The rooms were more than adequate. As others have described, large, good TV and clean modern bathroom. I feel much like one of the other reviewers that it felt more like a serviced apartment than a hotel.
The weather made moving around the area difficult and therefore I can't add much as to the location.
At checkout it was a similar situation to our arrival. There are a few steps to climb from the lifts to the exit and these we coped with on our own without any help from the staff. I don't know if the weather prevented some staff form getting to work but generally I felt that the hotel was operating on a skeleton staff.
Probably wouldn't choose it again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DidiWesternAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear DidiWesternAustralia,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany. We are delighted to hear that you found our spacious, modern rooms and amenities to be a great base for your New York City adventures. It has been a much colder-than-average winter in the city, so we are certainly glad to hear you survived the weather! We regret, however, to hear that you did not receive the warm, personal service that is our standard for each and every guest. We apologize that we did not live up to this standard during your visit—there should certainly be a member of our bell staff to assist with the front doors, luggage and hailing a taxi. We are also surprised to hear that our front desk staff seemed disinterested, as we pride ourselves on ensuring that all guests receive a warm and personal greeting, along with any assistance or advice that might be needed for navigating the city and arranging reservations and services for you. Please note that you are always free to reach out to one of our Front Office Managers, who will be delighted to speak with you at any time and ensure that you are having an enjoyable visit. We hope to have the opportunity to make your second visit to The Tuscany better than the first!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Loved my last stay so much I brought my husband this time. He felt the same- our preferred hotel for visits to NYC. Love the staff as well! The location is perfect and central to all my favorite spots. Great for those who travel in from Grand Central Station.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Corinne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Corinne E,

We love to welcome guests back to The Tuscany, and we are delighted that your second visit was as wonderful as the first, especially as you were introducing your husband to us! Thanks for making us your preferred NYC hotel, and do not hesitate to contact us at reservations@stgilesnewyork.com if we can be of assistance in arranging a future visit for you. We hope to welcome you back to Murray Hill again very soon!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#101 of 467 in New York City
1,060 reviews
Midtown
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
#315 of 467 in New York City
2,071 reviews
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#109 of 467 in New York City
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#53 of 467 in New York City
2,221 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#133 of 467 in New York City
4,825 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel

Property: The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Address: 120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in New York City
#64 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#72 Family Hotel in New York City
#75 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel- emerged from a multi-million dollar renovation in 2013 as New York's latest luxury destination. The Tuscany's 124 rooms are amongst the most spacious accommodations you will find in Manhattan. Fabulous features include: hardwood entryways in all rooms, corner studios with an abundance of natural light and multiple suites with signature views of the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. The plush decor creates warmth and invokes classic New York paired with modern amenities, including Molton Brown bath products, complimentary WiFi and rainforest showerheads in glass-enclosed showers. The Tuscany also boasts an in-house fitness center that features state-of-the-art exercise equipment. Open 24 hours a day for your convenience. Reserve today and rediscover New York City luxury at The Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Giles - The Tuscany New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotels The Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing