We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend in nyc” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Ranked #94 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Merion, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“weekend in nyc”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Not cheap but very reasonable by Manhattan standards. The rooms are consistently extraordinary. In another 4 star hotel these room might be several hundred dollars more per eve
Staff from desk thru house keeping are A-1. It will take a great deal to convince us to stay elsewhere in NYC and we do frequent the "Apple".

Room Tip: all our rooms 3 visits have been great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear patt0n,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our spacious, modern rooms and that you found them consistently extraordinary. When we undertook the renovation of The Tuscany, we put consistent though and care into each new guest room, and we are always delighted to hear that guests notice the details. And we love it when our staff leave a great impression—I will be sure to share your kind words with all of our guest service teams. We are delighted to have welcomed you on all 3 of your visits, and we look forward to the next!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    543
    98
    39
    20
See reviews for
213
800
98
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shaftesbury
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

The Tuscany was a great hotel in a superb location, couple of blocks from grand central station. Fab staff who could not do enough for us. The room was well equipped as you would expect from a hotel of this quality, good wifi throughout the hotel and room. No coffee facilities but staff went and got us a coffee machine :)
We will staff again thanks

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DDandMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear DDandMat,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We love it when our great staff leaves a lasting impression on our guests, and I will be sure to share your kind words with our guest service team. Though coffeemakers are not standard in our guest rooms, we are always happy to place one in the room upon request (and when requested in advance, we’ll have one waiting upon arrival!). We would be delighted to assist you with a future reservation, and we hope to welcome you back very soon!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, South Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

If you are staying in the city this is hotel is a must! Rooms are amazing. Hotel is one block from Grand Central which made traveling very easy. Hotel staff was amazing. Great hotel!! Plan on staying here next visit.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Rose M,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We are so delighted to hear that our combination of spacious, modern rooms and our great staff made for such an amazing stay in New York City. Thank you for sharing the pictures, and for recommending us to other travelers. We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had an excellent stay at this hotel. Although we tend to stay at different hotels every time we come to New York, we will stay at this one again the next time we visit. The location was fantastic; the rooms were clean and spacious; the staff was genuinely kind and helpful, without being obtrusive; the bathrooms and amenities were great; the bed was comfortable; and the it was great value for the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCDC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear DCD77,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit and our spacious, modern rooms and amenities. We are especially glad to hear that our staff made such a great impression—warm, personal service is our hallmark, and we are always happy to hear when we are succeeding. We look forward to making your second visit even better than the first!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We chose this hotel because of the reasonable cost and the great reviews we had read. I'm happy to report that all of our expectations were exceeded. The room was very large (including a walk-in closet), especially for New York and very well appointed. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have experienced in a hotel. The bathroom was moderate sized but had a huge glassed in shower with both fixed and hand-held shower heads. The lobby was very nice with a small lounge for drinks in the evenings and cooked to order breakfast in the mornings. The staff was very friendly and attentive. It is a few blocks from the subway but pretty conveniently located. There are a number of really good restaurants within a block or two. A great value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmichaelaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear pmichaelaustin,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our spacious modern rooms and amenities, and that the bed provided such a restful and comfortable experience (our beds are getting high marks across the board). And we are so glad that you had the chance to explore some of the great restaurants in our Murray Hill neighborhood. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Tuscany for a few days right after Christmas. We arrived early and the front desk staff was wonderful about letting us check in early. The staff throughout our stay could not have been friendlier, including finding salt when I started getting a sore throat, and making a special hot toddy at the bar. We stayed in room 1003, the room was large and the shower amazing, the bonus was we had a view of the Empire State Building as it changed colors each night. My husband appreciated the work out room. The location was just a few blocks from Grand Central Station which made getting everywhere in the city easy. It would have been nice to have a tea/coffee pot in the room, but Starbucks is just arounnd the corner. Next trip back to the city we will hope to stay at the Tuscany again.

Room Tip: 1003- wonderful view of the Empire State building, very quiet, spacious room. I heard the corner r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naninjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear naninjax,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We love to hear when our staff goes to extra mile to provide the warm, personal service that is our standard for each and every guest of the hotel. I will be sure to share your kind words with our Audrey Bar staff, to whom we will all go for a special hot toddy next time we’re feeling under the weather. We are delighted that you enjoyed room 1003, one of our spacious Deluxe Studios, and the great view of the Empire State Building. Though coffeemakers are not standard in our guest rooms, we are always happy to place one in the room upon request (and have one waiting for you upon arrival when requested in advance!). We think this makes for the freshest possible machines and product for our guests that enjoy coffee in the room. Thank you again for sharing you experience here on TripAdvisor, and we hope to welcome you back to The Tuscany very soon!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tshwane, South Africa
Level Contributor
139 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was an unbelievable find so close to Grand Central. We stayed on a Monday before Christmas so I think we got a serious deal because the room was extremely spacious (even by NYC standards). The beds are very comfortable and the room has all the amenities. Location is great. The staff were friendly, no complaints overall. Not sure what the normal rate is but for what we paid, this was a steal! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finny123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear finny123,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We love welcoming guest over the Christmas Holidays in New York City, it’s a great time to visit and see the best of NYC dressed up for the holidays. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed our spacious, modern rooms and amenities and that our great staff took such great care during your stay. Please do come back and visit us again next time you are in the city!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#73 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Midtown
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
#300 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#126 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,604 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel

Property: The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Address: 120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in New York City
#65 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Family Hotel in New York City
#74 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel- emerged from a multi-million dollar renovation in 2013 as New York's latest luxury destination. The Tuscany's 124 rooms are amongst the most spacious accommodations you will find in Manhattan. Fabulous features include: hardwood entryways in all rooms, corner studios with an abundance of natural light and multiple suites with signature views of the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. The plush decor creates warmth and invokes classic New York paired with modern amenities, including Molton Brown bath products, complimentary WiFi and rainforest showerheads in glass-enclosed showers. The Tuscany also boasts an in-house fitness center that features state-of-the-art exercise equipment. Open 24 hours a day for your convenience. Reserve today and rediscover New York City luxury at The Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Giles - The Tuscany New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotels The Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing