We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favorite hotel in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Ranked #92 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I travel all over the world and I never have contributed to Travel Advisor because I like to forget most of my hotel experiences. I was so impressed that I would lose sleep if I didn't commend this hotel. I was also hesitant to give a review because if this hotel gets popular, I am nervous I wont be able to get a reservation again! I am the pickiest of travelers and there is never a place where I havn't had a problem...except this hotel! I am a former New Yorker and come back every few months. I had stayed in this area one time before and loved it so knew that the location was excellent. There is a beautiful relaxing feel when you walk in the lobby. I am used to the four seasons and ritz carlton so wasn't sure if a boutique hotel was for me. The staff are are very hip and young, unlike the fancy hotels but I loved it! Our room fit 2 kids and 2 adults with no problem. The beds were so comfy, the view of the chrysler Building was perfect for my facebook update photo :) The bathroom shower was the best I ever had in NYC. I felt like I was in my own apartment. There is a huge drawer in the bathroom that I held all of my junk in so the sink was not crowded, there was a great hall to put my suitcases in when packing and unpacking. The closet was a normal size. There were enough drawers for NYC standards, a full length mirror, a beautiful large screen tv, a reading light, a great desk with tons of outlets for my ipads, ipods, computers and phones. The day bed was perfect for my 9 year old to sleep. Anything I needed, I literally got it in just a few minutes!! The funniest part of the stay was that I was in the elevator on the way up and I said "I am in the mood for coffee, I wish there was coffee in the lobby". I got up to my room and there was a coffee pot with coffee in my room!! It was just a coincidence because while I was gone eating or shopping, housekeeping happened to put it in my room without me asking - but it was funny, since we were astonished at how fast things happened there! haha. One of the staff members at the desk didn't bother to look up anytime we came down to the lobby but the rest of the staff made up for it. In fact, he was really rude to me when I asked him if anybody had found a scarf I lost , but he gave me a late checkout, so that made me happy. My only negative comment is that I can't find the hotel for next year at the "jetsetter"price I had found for this trip/. I have 2 more trips to NY coming up and I have been checking every day. The price they charge is MORE than reasonable but I am able to stay in my family's apartment for free so it has to be cheaper for me to make sense..if I get a little better price than what is showing right now, I am definitely staying there every time I come!

Room Tip: The elevator beeps every single time it opens and closes but compared to NYC noises outside, you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank latripshermanoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear latripshermanoaks,

It was an absolute pleasure to read about your recent stay at The Tuscany, thank you so much for sharing it here on TripAdvisor! We are especially happy to impress a former New Yorker. I am delighted to hear that out staff took such great care during your visit, and I will be sure to share your review with them (rudeness, however, is not tolerated, and I will be sure to bring this to everyone’s attention—warm, friendly service is our standard with each and every guest!).

I would be our pleasure to look at the dates of your upcoming visit for our best rates and availability. Simply email our Director of Revenue and Reservations, Christopher Jevas, and mention the promo code THANKS for great rates and special offers for your upcoming stays.

We hope to welcome you back to The Tuscany very soon!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,205 - 1,211 of 1,875 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I visited New York for the first time for his 30th birthday in November 2013 and this hotel was a perfect base for us to explore the city. We purchased a subway ticket so it was very handy being only a couple of blocks from Grand Central. To be honest, we did not utilise all of the facilities, such as the fitness suite or breakfast area nor did with have much interaction with hotel staff but the room was spacious and the hotel has a calm and relaxed atmosphere which suited us perfectly when returning from a day's site seeing. There were a couple of glitches with our bathroom such as the sink blocking but this was rectified quickly without even having to ask. We had a drink sitting at the bar one night which was slightly chilly but otherwise a very pleasant stay and would recommend.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Susie-Lou_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Susie-Lou_2011,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! It was a pleasure to help you celebrate your boyfriend’s 30th birthday, and we are delighted to hear that you found our location and our spacious modern rooms were such a great base for your New York City adventure. We are sorry to hear that you had a problem with the sink, but glad to hear that our great staff rectified the situation quickly and seamlessly. Please come back and visit us in Murray Hill again soon!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Spent my 50th birthday at The Tuscany and could not fault anything.Being rather fussy,I am always quite critical of hotels but this exceeded all my expectations.An enormous de-lux room ,which was definitely worth the little extra! Emailed ahead and asked for a coffee maker,which was duly arranged albeit after .Will .definitley stay here again if lucky enough to return.

Room Tip: Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Gillian T,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We were honored to host you for such a special occasion, and it was our pleasure to help you celebrate your 50th birthday in New York City. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Deluxe Studio—these spacious and inviting rooms get high marks across the board. We are sorry to hear that the coffeemaker was not arranged in advance, as requested, and I will be certain to follow up with our teams to ensure that such requests are arranged prior to arrival. Please do come back to visit us in Murray Hill again soon!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Our first trip to New York City! We traveled with another couple. Booked a room at this hotel thanks to the positive reviews on this portal. The rooms are very large (king bed) 42" flat screen TV, make-up area (large mirror), walk-in shower (small bathroom otherwise). We had a corner room with 3 windows. There is no counter space in the bathroom as the fancy sink takes up the entire area. Staff was very friendly... then again, so were we! The 39th street location is very quaint and traffic is light. Really close to Park Avenue, Grand Central Terminal. Nice restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner really close by. A cab ride to Times Square area is only $10.00.

Room Tip: Corner Suite is large with multiple windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Paul T,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We are delighted when new guests find us here on TripAdvisor, and we are so glad that you enjoyed one of our spacious Corner Studios. With double-exposure, lots of natural light, and great views, the Corner Studios offer a truly unique New York City experience. Though we realize that the counter space in our bathrooms is in short supply, there is a drawer directly below the sink that can hold extra items when not in use. We are so glad that you had a great visit, and we hope to see you back a The Tuscany on a future visit!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Been a "frick review", I spent hours reading reviews about the hotels I intend to stay. And The Tuscany was the one that had the best reviews, meeting almost everyone's expectations.
I was very glad I did go for it. The location is great for midtown. (Don't like to even think about being close to Times Square). 5 minutes from Grand Central. Room was huge for NY standards. Very clean, walk in closet, hallway, great, great shower.
The hotel is small and cozy enough that the staff from the front door is able to see and cheer you up everytime you go through. (If you like huge lobbys with hundreds of people walking in and out, this is not the hotel for you). Charming hotel that I'll reccomend and certainly will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. Away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Renata P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Renata P,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany! We love a tough reviewer, and we love it even better when we meet and exceed expectations. We are so glad to hear that our staff provided warmth and cheer each time you passed through the lobby—warm, personal service is our goal with each and every guest, and I will be sure to share your review with our front office team. Please come back and visit us in charming Murray Hill again soon!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The best point of that hotel is location - right in the Center of Mnhtn, 5 minutes walk to Grand Central and metro station. Design is also nice and fresh. We had deluxe room and it was spacious. That were all good news about that hotel.

Main thing that can make your stay perfect - the staff. In The Tuscany hotel staff was not friendly and not affable. Especially the lady at the reception - nobody told her that she had to smile to the guests?
Cleaning service was horrible - during the week we could see spider's web over the table (we told about it but nobody cleaned), dust also was never wiped. They cleand the carpet just once during 6 days we were there. Glasses were standing dirty till we asked

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Guest Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Kate R,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Tuscany. We regret to hear that your visit did not meet your expectations. I would like to speak with you personally to determine exactly where we went wrong so that we can take the proper steps to improve. We pride ourselves on warm, personal service and spotlessly clean rooms provided to each and every guest, and it is disappointing to hear that we did not live up to our standards during your stay. I have spoken with our Housekeeping team and we are working with the front desk and our guest service professionals to identify gaps in communication and service to ensure that The Tuscany provides seamless and exceptional experiences for all of our guests. We are so sorry that we did not do so in your case. Please feel free to reach out to me at chriss@stgilesnewyork.com or by calling 212.592.8877. I would like to speak with you further, and we would love another opportunity to show you a true St Giles experience.
Sincerely,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I booked a stay there for a special occasion - I was going to propose to my girlfriend, so I wanted everything to be perfect. And it was.

The staff was great in arraging the perfect room, with a view on the Chrysler Building - which was beautiful, especially at night.

Once we got there, everything was up to the expectations: the position (3 blocks from Grand Central and a subway stop on the 4, 5, 6 lines), the hotel (recently renovated), the features of the room, the bed, and everything.

The staff was very helpful, even in providing me with precious assistance and tips to organize the "event". A+.

All in all, strongly suggested!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antoniobonanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Public Relations Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear antoniobonanno,

It was truly a pleasure to host you and your girlfriend (now fiancé!) for such a special occassion, and we are delighted to hear that our great staff at the Tuscany took such great care to create a memorable and exceptional experience for you. I will be sure to share your kind words with our front office, housekeeping and concierge teams. Thank you for the recommendation, and for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. Please do come back and visit us again soon, perhaps this time for your honeymoon!

Warm Regards,

Chris Swaim
Director of Guest Services
@StGilesTuscany

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#104 of 469 in New York City
1,135 reviews
Midtown
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
#325 of 469 in New York City
2,103 reviews
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#102 of 469 in New York City
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#34 of 469 in New York City
219 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#48 of 469 in New York City
2,284 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#130 of 469 in New York City
4,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel

Address: 120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in New York City
#64 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#72 Family Hotel in New York City
#76 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $225 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel- emerged from a multi-million dollar renovation in 2013 as New York's latest luxury destination. The Tuscany's 124 rooms are amongst the most spacious accommodations you will find in Manhattan. Fabulous features include: hardwood entryways in all rooms, corner studios with an abundance of natural light and multiple suites with signature views of the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. The plush decor creates warmth and invokes classic New York paired with modern amenities, including Molton Brown bath products, complimentary WiFi and rainforest showerheads in glass-enclosed showers. The Tuscany also boasts an in-house fitness center that features state-of-the-art exercise equipment. Open 24 hours a day for your convenience. Reserve today and rediscover New York City luxury at The Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Giles - The Tuscany New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotels The Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing