We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and HUGE rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Ranked #92 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great location and HUGE rooms!”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We truly enjoyed our stay, we spent three nights and the location is the best central to most attractions and Activities in NY. The staff was very nice and courteous, hotel was clean and the rooms are huge for NY standards. Slight downside is the rooms and building are old and need of upgrade, but they were clean and nicely decorated.

We were very happy with our stay and overall quality for money. There is free Wi-fi in lobby but not in rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pcollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,032
    564
    106
    40
    22
See reviews for
223
840
104
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

The rooms are huge and comfortable.The AC worked great and that made for a great night sleep.Quick walk to Grand Central,easy conection for all the subway lines.The front desk staff seemed a little unfriendly but the bell man was extremly friendly and helpful. It is a short walk to all the sights,plenty of dinning options around the Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nukenriles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Room was big but in bad shape - they're basically old NY apartments, partially renovated. The first room they tried to give us had all the enamel chipped off the bathtub - in a $300 room. Front desk staff were really unfriendly, lobby was not very pleasant. When we decided to leave after one night when we had booked 6 no one bothered to ask why. That says a lot. There are a million better choices in NY.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneymoonersThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1dutymanager, Front Office Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Please accept our most sincere apologies that things did not go will. I would be delighted to discuss what went wrong during your stay and try to make it right for you. I cannot tell from your comments if any of my managerment staff was given the opportunity to address your concerns.

Please feel free to contact me if you like and we can discuss further. Congratulaions on your wedding vows.

Warm Regards,

Michael Yancy
Director of Front Office
St Giles New York Tuscany and Court
(646) 302 - 6418
michaely@stgilesnewyork.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

The Tuscany is located at a premier location within midtown. The front desk is staffed with friendly, happy and highly knowledgeable personnel. The woman that runs the breakfast in the morning is absolutely delightful & I noticed that people come by in the morning on their way to work just to see her. She remembered my name after the first morning and served me with a double espresso without asking, very cool! Rooms are huge for Midtown and really well appointed! Great value for what you get in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkmanthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

I am surprised by the number of positive reviews, which (along with location) led me to book a stay.

Pros:
* Boutique feel - nothing has changed from its days as a W
* Good sized rooms

Cons:
* Nothing has changed from its days as a W. Rooms are badly in need of updating! Showers/bathtubs showing serious signs of wear. Room as a whole had a musty odor.
* Staff nice and casual but not particularly professional which is a problem if you have a more than basic request.
* Overall NOT pleasant in current state and I suggest looking elsewhere until the planned renovations occur.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1dutymanager, Front Office Manager at The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
We are sorry to hear that your expereince was anything less than fantastic. You mentioned in your comments that you were suprised by the amount of positive reviews of our property.

We stronly feel that many of the issues that occurred in the room you were given were an anamoly and not typical of our product at all.

We would welcome the chance to have you back again as our guest or to compensate you for not meeting your expectations on this past visit. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel or leave your contact information with any of my colleagues at the hotel and we can get together to discuss.

Warm Regards

Michael Yancy
Director of Front Office
St Giles New York Tuscany & Court
michaely@stgilesnewyork.com
(646) 302 - 6418
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newlyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

This small hotel is one of two on East 39th and Lexington. The rooms are on the small side but perfectly formed and the big asset this hotel has going for it is the staff. Friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Downsides, no WI-FI, very limited room service and no restaurant (but in midtown that really isn't a problem).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tishinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

I stayed here with my husband from the 3rd till the 10 th of June. I was there for my birthday and let the hotel know this before my arrival. We got upgraded to a bigger room room 1602. We had a great view with dual aspect. One being of the Empire State Building. Room was clean but no tea and coffee facilities which would have been nice. Needed extra hangers and had problem with the safe but the staff were quick to respond and very helpful. Our room was a good size. Bathroom was small but well appointed. Beds were very comfortable. The air-conditioning unit in the room was noisy but you get used to it. A magnifying mirror in the bathroom was useful for the desk area as only long mirror was in the bathroom.
The gym was very well appointed and would recommend a visit.
Staff were all friendly and helpful.
I went on this trip for business and pleasure but I would recommend it for either. Wifi in the lobby. Very near Grand Central and Scottys diner around the corner is a must for breakfast and open 24/7. Excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDGodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#77 of 468 in New York City
983 reviews
Midtown
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
#308 of 468 in New York City
2,038 reviews
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#117 of 468 in New York City
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#53 of 468 in New York City
2,159 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#126 of 468 in New York City
4,748 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#62 of 468 in New York City
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel

Property: The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Address: 120 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in New York City
#64 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#73 Family Hotel in New York City
#75 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel- emerged from a multi-million dollar renovation in 2013 as New York's latest luxury destination. The Tuscany's 124 rooms are amongst the most spacious accommodations you will find in Manhattan. Fabulous features include: hardwood entryways in all rooms, corner studios with an abundance of natural light and multiple suites with signature views of the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. The plush decor creates warmth and invokes classic New York paired with modern amenities, including Molton Brown bath products, complimentary WiFi and rainforest showerheads in glass-enclosed showers. The Tuscany also boasts an in-house fitness center that features state-of-the-art exercise equipment. Open 24 hours a day for your convenience. Reserve today and rediscover New York City luxury at The Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Giles - The Tuscany New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotels The Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing