We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
Ranked #242 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
130 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2007

Stayed at this hotel one night for Business after four nights at the Hilton NY with my family. Interesting contrast. This hotel is quite old but a very well done boutique type hotel, with a smaller well appointed room. Very friendly staff and a good Midtown location.

  • Liked — Older style very well redone and maintained
  • Disliked — Small hallways, offer for room smoke detectors at the desk.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Travelinsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    820
    291
    117
    63
See reviews for
407
755
159
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2007

This hotel was fine. I had a small, but lovely room--very clean too. The hotel was old, but was not slow. The hotel is old and art deco, but not dumpy as other New York hotels can be. The location was fine, the staff was okay, but I wasn't blown away by the service.
The wine reception at night was fine. the Internet is only free for 15 minutes and you have to put a credit card in first, because the next 15 minutes are $15.00
The Silver Leaf Tavern in the lobby was not interesting at all. It was rarely open and it was overpriced.
I do recommend this if you can get a good deal.

Helpful?
Thank Ricinatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2007

Booked a Premier King Room. This is highly recommended as their general rooms are quite small and coming from the UK, I got it for £573 for 3 nights on Lastminute.

The hotel is very central for sightseeing. It's about a 20 minute walk to Greenwich Village or Central Park and has plently of restaurants nearby. It's right in the heart of the city and on a busy road (isn't everything in New York) but it's also quite a leafy street.

We had room 1015 overlooking Park Avenue. It was a well appointed room with a nice jacuzzi bath, huge TV and everything the hotel say it has on the site. I would definately stay here again.

Gripes, well here are my criticisms

No tea and coffee facilities as mentioned in a previous review. $7 plus $3 room service and 20% gratuity included is ermmmm excessive. Thats $11 for a pot of tea. Tea is complimentary on a morning in the lobby but who wants to put on their clothes when they just wake up to sip free coffee in the lobby. Starbucks is two buildings down on the left when you come out of the entrace lobby and is $1.69. Starbucks was our saviour when we stayed and you can drink it in the comfort of your room.

Mini Bar

Sorry staff but $4.25 for a 330ml can of Pepsi makes you feel like you are being ripped off. Shop around the corner sells 1.5litres for 79 cents. I know that mini bars are always expensive but it was excessive.

Room Service

The Silverleaf Tavern downstairs do the most wonderful french bread pizza which we had in the bar when friends came to visit us for drinkies. It's $12 in the bar but $15 + $3 delivery and 20% tip to the room. Why $15 when they are adding $3 delivery on too. Don't understand that.

Internet

It's $10.95 for 24 hours wifi or ethernet connection billed to your room. In this day and age, free internet should be an added little bonus to make your stay more comfortable. They provide free internet on two laptops in reception but only for 15 minutes a day per credit card number you tap in on the screen, then it's $5.99 per 15 minutes. This I didn't like.

Apart from those things to avoid, it's an excellent choice and for someone who had never visited New York we feel we hit on to somewhere good.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of Tea and Coffee facilities and excessive mini bar
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jazmincleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
collegeville,pa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2007

I stayed at this hotel over the weekend of June 29th with my girlfriends while attending a bachelorette party. The hotel was very nice and we had no real complaints. Check in was quick, the lobby is rather small which makes you feel like the front desk is watching your every move but they gave us no real problems. The rooms were a nice size and could easily accomodate the small suitcases of 4 30 year old women. Cabs were easy to get with the assistance of the doorman. We got this hotel for $199/night through travelzoo and thought it well worth the money. The weather in NYC was nice and we had no problems with the temperature of the room or AC as previously mentioned. The beds were great. No ice machines, room service has to bring it to you. Also, don't bank on valet it cost me $42/day and I probably should've gone and found a spot but at rush hour in NYC I just didn't feel like it. We had room service come and make our beds and give fresh towels as they normally would. Modern room with flat screen tv were really nice. A cab is needed to get to any area though but that was okay with us.

  • Liked — Modern rooms, nice sized
  • Disliked — Expensive valet, but to be expected
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank magat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2007

We stayed at 70 Park Avenue for a week in November, we had one quibble while we were there which was resolved

Dont know why but i am always impressed when theres a man employed to just open doors when you arrive.

Check in was efficient with helpful friendly staff

We really did love the rooms, the bed was so comfortable (so comfortable we bought a similar one when we got home), the bathroom was a good size for the two of us plasma and dvd wer great to have, some nights we do like to just lounge around in the room, and also wireless internet avaiable for the week was
really handy,

We loved the little removable lights,

We did have one issue, one night we came back from a show and found that our door opened without the key, it was about 11pm at night, we phoned reception and a maintenance man arrived to try and fix it, we then had another guy come up, after about an hour of faffing around it still wasnt fixed, the senior guy suggested that we leave the door as it is and then tomorrow will try and fix, it, my husband (far too polite) agreed, then the door closed they left and 1.....2......3...... "YOU DO REALISE THAT THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO WAY IM SLEEPING IN THIS ROOM WITH NO LOCK ON THE DOOR!"
So i rang recpetion with quite a bit of arguing they agreed to move us to another room, we had 15mins to pack our things and get to a new room, we did get complimentary breakfast, however i shouldnt have had to argue so much to feel safe.

This happened on the second to last day it didnt ruin the holiday we had a blast, went to statue of liberty, empire state building, rockafeller, i would always recommend the express ticket on the empire state building and make sure you right to the top,

We also went to see Rent, i loved it Husband didnt (however i have watched the dvd), and we saw I love you Your perfect now change which we laughed all the way through.

Also do jump on one of the tour buses they are great fun and a nice easy way to see the sights without getting cabs

New york is a fantastic place, i would definately go back, i think i left a piece of my heart there

  • Liked — big beds clean rooms nice location
  • Disliked — nothing it was lovely
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louisa00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
158 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2007

This is a real sleeper. Everything is great. The employees can't do enough for you. Great location. You name it. You can't go wrong here. I noticed a remark about some small bathrooms. True, but it won't spoil your trip. It is really a sensational hotel. I've stayed in many. This is a keeper.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pgh., PA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2007

The Super shuttle dropped us off in front of the hotel and we were immediately impressed. The lobby was neat and clean. The employees were all friendly and helpful. Upon arrival to our room we were delighted. Great size for a hotel room in New York for 3 people. Wonderful large-flat-screen TV, plush terry cloth robes and towels, nicely decorated room, but most of all CLEAN. The maid brought extra towels immediately upon request.
The location is fantastic-close to Grand Central Station and the metro, bus stop is one block awa y. Lots of good eateries down the block on Lexington. Scotty's Diner perfect for breakfast.
We got a great rate on Travel Zoo and would definitely stay there again for the same price.

  • Liked — Quality of hotel
  • Disliked — No view out of window.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pgh_PAGjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#45 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,271 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#86 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,963 reviews
Upper West Side
Inn New York City
Inn New York City
#338 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,605 reviews
Midtown
Kitano New York
Kitano New York
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Midtown
Morgans New York Hotel
Morgans New York Hotel
#180 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel

Property: IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
Address: 70 Park Ave, New York City, NY 10016-2504 (Formerly 70 Park Avenue Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in New York City
#148 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#186 Business Hotel in New York City
#187 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in midtown Manhattan, 70 Park Avenue Hotel is a luxurious urban hideaway. Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike, this intimate boutique hotel offers gracious personalized service in stylish surroundings. This hotel is convenient to Grand Central Station, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center, Broadway, museums and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
70 Park Avenue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing