We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
Ranked #247 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

The room itself is just as in the photos - modern decor but small. Great for a couple away for a week or less. We could see the Empire State Building from our room which was fantastic!

The staff were friendly and helpful. Small touches like the iced water and fruit in reception were appreciated, especially after a long day of sightseeing in the NY sunshine.

The bed was really comfortable and most importantly the room was clean. If I go to NY again, I would definitely book here.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L00u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,206 - 1,212 of 2,335 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed for 5 nights recently. We arrived after midnight and just collapsed into beds in our 3rd floor room. When we awoke the next morning and opened the window blinds, I was extremely disapointed to see that we were located at the back of the hotel and the window consisted of obscured glass! We couldn't see out at all and it was actually difficult to even tell if it was day or night! For the first time in my life, I requested a room change which was duly accepted. We relocated to the 12th floor - still facing out of the back of the hotel. Still did not have a view of anything other than the backs of opposite buildings but at least could see what the weather was like. The room was small, the bathroom even smaller. There was no counter space in the bathroom so not very practical, the smallest bath I have ever seen and just not enough room! We had a Double Double room - the beds were not proper doubles - they were small doubles and very uncomfortable. Both mattresses dipped in the middle. There is nowhere near enough storage space in the room although you do get a safe, iron and ironing board and huge mini bar fridge which we didn't use and was a waste of precious space. Location-wise - this hotel is great, near enough to everything but not in the middle of the hustle and bustle. All in all, it was OK but if I were to return to NY again I probably wouldnt stay here.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenster68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

I like kimpton hotels. I like the happy hour, the decor and the vibe you typically get when you walk in the door. 70 park is a lovely hotel with a friendly staff. We were visiting relatives in the Murray hill neighborhood so the location was ideal. The hotel is really in a residential area. While it's park avenue, it is pretty quiet. The hotel has a restaurant, but others are a few blocks away. The hotel's cable package stinks. No hgtv, food channel or bravo!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaj2600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stay here often as its close to my HQ. the only weakness WAS a very small poorly equipped fitness center. No more! Great new spacious center with an array of new equipment. This is really a gem. The rooms are spacious by NYC standards. The restaurant / bar downstairs works if not great.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CornellBigRedFIJI1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

70 Park Avenue provided a great base to explore New York. Just two blocks from Grand Central station (and airport buses) and a ten minute walk to the shops on 34th street it was ideally located. What makes it special though is the friendliness of staff and the stylish (and a bit quirky) fit-out of the rooms. Room size is Ok. I stayed in one of the smaller rooms and there is some difference in the floor plans on each level. The room had a nice view of the Empire State building and pleasent street views. street noise was minimal. A let down (the only one) was the poor variety of food in the bar/restaurant. Very pleasant are the complimentary drinks at 5pm - a great way to meet and chat with fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Internal facing rooms are quieter but lack the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tassyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is beautifully located in a convenient yet quiet area of Park Avenue.
We requested upper floors for our 2 rooms, and we were given a fifteenth and sixteenth floor room.
The rooms were excellent, with very comfortable beds with fresh linens daily.
The bathroom was, as other reviews have pointed out, very small. However, it was adequate, and there were plenty of thick clean dowels and loads of hot water.
The staff were charming, and the overall feeling was that they really wanted to make the stay as good as possible. There was always iced water available, and tea or coffee in the morning was welcome.
The evening wine reception was good after a long days sight seeing, and overall I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, especially if a good deal is available.
When I return to New York, I would certainly choose this hotel over the larger chains I have stayed in previously.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#187 of 469 in New York City
812 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#202 of 469 in New York City
3,403 reviews
Midtown
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
#325 of 469 in New York City
2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#130 of 469 in New York City
4,892 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#167 of 469 in New York City
1,373 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#71 of 469 in New York City
5,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel

Address: 70 Park Ave, New York City, NY 10016-2504 (Formerly 70 Park Avenue Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in New York City
#144 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#168 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#181 Business Hotel in New York City
#182 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $158 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in midtown Manhattan, 70 Park Avenue Hotel is a luxurious urban hideaway. Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike, this intimate boutique hotel offers gracious personalized service in stylish surroundings. This hotel is convenient to Grand Central Station, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center, Broadway, museums and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
70 Park Avenue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing