We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun boutique hotel in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
Ranked #248 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
150 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fun boutique hotel in NYC”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was my second stay here, and again was quite pleased with the imaginative decor, polite and knowledgeable staff, and good location. Wine hour is a nice treat. Room was spacious and quite comfortable. Great pillows and love the leopard bathrobe. Would return.

Room Tip: Had a corner/end room so had a bit more space. If you want a larger bathroom, ask - not sure what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marles83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    851
    308
    121
    63
See reviews for
419
789
162
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

70 Park is one of the Kimptons in New York. While a bit more dated and with smaller rooms than Ink48 (another NYC Kimpton property) the location is perfect.

Word to the wise - join the loyalty program when you first sign on to the internet and save the $13/day charge plus get a $15 minibar credit.

Happy hour with free wine every evening in the lobby and nice amenities are a special touch. Staff is young, vibrant and easygoing though they'll do whatever it takes to make you happy.

All in all not a bad place for a short stay in the city especially with the reasonable rates.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myklnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We got a great deal on SniqueAway and would definitely return. Our room was modern, beautiful and comfortable, and about average size for a New York hotel (i.e., pretty small and a tiny but well-appointed bathroom). We enjoyed the very quiet room, and also the complimentary happy hour in the lobby. The staff was friendly and exceptionally helpful, and we especially appreciated that they did not charge us for the roll-away bed we requested. The location in the relatively peaceful Murray Hill neighborhood is excellent, with many neighborhood-type restaurants and bars only a short walk away. Only a couple of blocks south from Grand Central, also, so there is easy access to transit, including the shuttle buses that run to and from Newark airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I want to start off by saying I am a Kimpton fan. So far this year I have stayed at 3 properties and its just January. It is a sad day to me when I have to gripe about them, but here goes....

The Good. Like almost every Kimpton where I have stayed, the people were great. The door man was welcoming, warm reception at the front desk, upgraded my room to a king over a queen, you get the idea.

The bad. The hotel is just beat. There is paint upon paint upon paint, and not in a good way. The windows were drafty, the bathroom was tiny and poorly laid out. In order to sit on the toilet, you had to turn sideways, the seat was literally against the wall. When they repainted the bathroom they just slapped the paint on with no consideration of the fixtures. The pendant lights had paint on them, as did the trim, heck even the blinds had paint spills on them.

The housekeeping team must not believe in dusting, all the flat surfaces in the room were covered in dust. I even went so far as to leave them a note in the dust.

The clincher was this morning when I got up to shower, the water was turned off. They had a pipe burst and there was no water in the Hotel, yep NONE. Typically I am very forgiving of this type of incident, I am sure they would have rather not have it happen, but combined with the way they take care of everything else, seems like they don't maintain anything well.

When I checked out the front desk folks were apologetic, but made no offer of compensation, honestly had they said here is a gift certificate for any of the Kimpton restaurants, have lunch on us, I would have been thrilled, but instead I was told the manager would "probably get in touch with me to tell me he is sorry".

I am not off the Kimpton chain, but never here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nomad737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Booked easily over the phone a day before arrival. The staff members were all helpful and proactive which made our stay easy and enjoyable. The 2xQueen room was a reasonable size, reasonably priced, very clean and quiet even though it was front facing.12 noon check out was an advantage too. Despite the stated situation that WiFi is only free in the lobby, we could get free WiFi in our room. The lobby is a nice place to hang out with free chilled water and the free wine tasting in there in the early evening makes it a pleasant and more social place to stay than your average 3 star hotel. I do wish that US hotels provided a kettle, tea bags, milk and cups the way Australian hotels do - there's no cafe in the hotel and the nearest early opening diner is round the block.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This lovely little gem is very centrally located in Manhattan. Located a few blocks from Grand Central Station, makes this a perfect domicile for a fun trip to the city. This is a recently remodeled boutique hotel, and is a little more modern for my tastes, but the room was very comfortable. There is an evening wine hour, in which they were pouring a very nice australian shiraz and chardonnay. We didn't try the restaurant (way too many great places to eat in that city), but we did try the bar, which didn't disappoint. We gave the concierge a lot of latitude in helping us select restaurants, and he nailed it every time. Our criteria was excellent food - not so concerned about ambiance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cisaacs1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had a few problems booking accomodation during Chistmas NY period so we stayed in Hyatt for a week and then the Kimpton for a week. The Kimpton was a much more enjoyable experience. It is more of a boutique hotel verses the huge Hyatt.

The rooms were larger & more individualised.There was happy hour each night and generally more personal attention and attention to detail. Other facilities were fairly basic - eg very small lobby, but it all works well enough.

Like most things NYC over-priced for what you get, but everywhere seems to be the same. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave_one1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#194 of 468 in New York City
781 reviews
Midtown
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
#309 of 468 in New York City
2,038 reviews
Midtown
Morgans New York Hotel
Morgans New York Hotel
#198 of 468 in New York City
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#127 of 468 in New York City
4,743 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#41 of 468 in New York City
3,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel

Property: IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
Address: 70 Park Ave, New York City, NY 10016-2504 (Formerly 70 Park Avenue Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in New York City
#147 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#185 Business Hotel in New York City
#186 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in midtown Manhattan, 70 Park Avenue Hotel is a luxurious urban hideaway. Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike, this intimate boutique hotel offers gracious personalized service in stylish surroundings. This hotel is convenient to Grand Central Station, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center, Broadway, museums and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
70 Park Avenue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing