We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kimpton Rocks!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
Ranked #248 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Montpelier, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kimpton Rocks!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Far and away the best hotel I have experienced. The staff are friendly, engaged, and hip - providing outstanding customer service thoughtfully. I have now stayed at 5 different Kimpton hotels and each experience has been terrific. Kimpton is my first choice for a hotel whenever I travel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalvinRufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulu E, Manager at IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
You rock Calvin S!

Thank you for five stars and Kimpton-hopping! We look forward to your next visit for another terrific stay!

Thank you for your continued loyalty,
Lulu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    877
    319
    125
    64
See reviews for
436
816
165
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was truely a great hotel, with a fantastic location. Easy to travel Downton as well as Uptown.
The room was a good sized room clean and cozy, although the bathroom was small that is the NYC standard unfortunalty.
We where welcomed with a bottle of wine and some fresh fruit, which was such an extra plus to the whole expericance. The staff was friendly and always happy to help.

Room Tip: Ask for a top Floor with a view over Empire State Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulu E, Manager at IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear AmandaBrown99,

Thank you for five stars and choosing us for your second trip to the Big Apple! We're excited about your great visit and that you enjoyed the bottle of wine! We hope we welcome you soon!

Thank you!
Lulu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The location of this hotel was great. It was a 10 min walk to Time Square and only 3 blocks to Grand central station. I stayed in the double room with a double bed. It was pretty small but I think you get that anywhere in NY. The room was clean and so was the bathroom. Every morning, free coffee and tea is served in the lobby and every afternoon, free champers is also offered. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 49ENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

October was a very busy month for me as far as business and leisure travel to New York. I have always enjoyed staying at Kimpton hotels because of all the ways they help reduce the stress of travel. They also find many ways to pamper you, or at least that's my experience. (I belong to Kimpton In Touch. Well worth doing so!) The hotel is lovely, the location is great (I like finding places near Grand Central because I always travel to NYC by rail), and the staff are delightful--helpful, professional, and friendly.
I enjoyed the wine reception--very good wines, by the way--and a number of In Touch perks including free WiFi in the room, though the only complaint I have is the WiFi connection was weak-to-nonexistent. I notified the front desk about this, but only on the day I left so I don't know how quickly they fixed it. Given the high quality of service otherwise, I'm guessing they took care of it fast! My room was big, well-appointed, and comfortable. Who could ask for more?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheRoad27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

No early check-in allowed!!!! They kindly state we guarantee a 3:00 checkin and make everyone wait until 3:00 to release rooms. It is their unspoken RULE. They even get your cell phone number so, they can notify you when the room is ready ("Not happening").
Really old hotel floor plan; (exactly the same floor plan as the Warwick in SF at union square) with remodeled rooms. Quiet in the rooms; in the hallway you can hear everything in each of the rooms (interesting). It is a 3 star; not a 4 star. Warwick in SF was $120 a night vs. $400 a night in NYC for same room--different decor. They do have a courtesy feature.....baggage storage before and after check-in/out free of charge. Yes!

Surprise, Mini stairs to climb when you get to your floor. Not wheelchair friendly. No one offered to take bags to our room. We dragged 4 suitcases up the mini staircases once we got off the elevator and dragged them back down the mini stairs when we left. They were quick and happy to offer to take our bags from lobby to the taxi waiting outside.

Staff were pleasant (thank you Maria). Rooms Clean. Enjoyed Murray Hill neighborhood which was low key and quiet. Close to the Grand Central Terminal 3 blocks, Starbucks next block, walked to Time Square and Broadway and Central Park from here. Didn't touch the $15 nuts in the fridge, $58 taxi to JFK from here with toll; plus tip. The Park Avenue Tavern across the street on the corner (up to the left) had great but pricey food. The windows actually open but it does take two people to master the simple feat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank modesto2400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountain view, ca
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I'm a Kimpton In-Touch member (free to join, so worth it!), and try to stay in Kimptons whenever I travel. We stayed at the 70 Park for 3 nights in October 2012 on a girls trip to NYC. We needed two beds and this was one of the only hotels that had availability in this "class level" that had two beds. That, and the fact it was a Kimpton = booking @ 70 Park. The location is excellent - in a lovely neighborhood that is easily walkable to Grand Central, one block over from 5th avenue, a 5 minute walk to shopping in Herald Square, and on a main thoroughfare in Midtown (although our room on the 16th floor was nice and quiet!). Note: the main road thing is important if you plan on using cabs at all, since they are much more likely to come down Park Avenue than a random side street. I've stayed in Manhattan hotels on side streets and literally frozen my tush off waiting for one to come down the road...who needs that? At 70 Park, we were able to get cabs quickly, day or night. The front desk staff were beyond helpful and lovely. Actually, every single employee with whom we interacted was gracious, professional, and attentive. Our first day we had breakfast at Silverleaf in the lobby and it was decent - later in the evenings we noticed it was always crowded with locals having a good time.

The room was a bit tight for three women with huge suitcases, BUT it had amazing lighting, three(!) full length mirrors for getting ready, and totally met our needs. This hotel is now my first choice for Manhattan boutique hotels - I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor - I believe they are quieter. Our window opened to the back of the hotel (no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verrierdale
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Staff were very friendly and helpful. We had good size clean and comfortable room. We enjoy staying at Kimpton Hotels as we're always good for a doggy cuddle when travelling. Good value for money. Location pretty good too. Happy for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sashalute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#195 of 467 in New York City
790 reviews
Midtown
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
#315 of 467 in New York City
2,072 reviews
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#202 of 467 in New York City
5,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#136 of 467 in New York City
501 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#196 of 467 in New York City
3,324 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#131 of 467 in New York City
4,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel

Property: IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
Address: 70 Park Ave, New York City, NY 10016-2504 (Formerly 70 Park Avenue Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in New York City
#145 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#167 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#182 Business Hotel in New York City
#183 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in midtown Manhattan, 70 Park Avenue Hotel is a luxurious urban hideaway. Ideal for business and leisure travelers alike, this intimate boutique hotel offers gracious personalized service in stylish surroundings. This hotel is convenient to Grand Central Station, Fifth Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center, Broadway, museums and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
70 Park Avenue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing