We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Carter
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$171
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of $213/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$210
$180
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$197
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$170
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$229
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 54% below average rates

The price you found is 54% lower than this hotel's average rate of $197/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (4,297)
Filter reviews
4,297 results
Traveler rating
215
972
1,456
570
1,084
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
972
1,456
570
1,084
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 4,297 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We (a 3-generation family) stayed for several days and were pleasantly surprised after some of the reviews we had read. The rooms were comfortable and the bathrooms very clean. The hotel is literally a block from Times Square and close to public transportation stations. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially the young Moroccan man at the night desk. The hotel was perfect for what we needed in NYC and you can't beat the location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you very much for the positive comments about your recent stay. We always strive to offer our guests clean and comfortable accommodations. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

If your goal is literally the cheapest room in the best location and you don't care about anything else AT ALL this hotel is for you.

Pros: Excellent price, excellent location, very friendly & helpful staff.

Cons: Outdated rooms, old beds, old sheets, old towels, AC that does not fully function, lots of noise coming from all over the hotel at all hours, poor quality housekeeping only every other day, absolutely no surfaces to set anything except one nightstand, no luggage racks, no light in the closet or hallway by the closet (had to use a flashlight to see our clothes), very little walking around room, absolutely no amenities included except soap and shampoo (coffee, WiFi, ice, luggage storage, safe etc are all extra). Be aware that you pay in advance - so if you get there and hate it you are out of luck because you have already paid.

Listen, this is a very bare bones hotel that is cheaper than anything else in Times Square. The location is fantastic but there are no creature comforts and nowhere to put anything - you will be tripping all over each other and your luggage during your stay. Also, just know that nothing at all is included in the price of the room. Be aware that it's directly attached to a "Gentlemen's Club" so for me personally I would not be comfortable staying there with my 11YO daughter. With that said, I did feel pretty safe and the staff was super helpful and accommodating. Again, as I said before if all you want is somewhere cheap in a good location with a bed and a shower and absolutely nothing else you will be fine. If you have any needs or preferences beyond that stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated already.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Allison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you for your kind words, particularly about the Hotel Carter Team. We take great pride in our people and feel strongly they are, hands down, our biggest asset. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The location of this "hotel" is amazing - turn right out the front door and you're in Time Square almost immediately. But this hotel is not for the weak stomach - trash in the halls, dirty rooms, dirty bathrooms, bizarre noises coming from other rooms, etc. I wanted to go out in NYC for the night - got this room for cheap - went out until 3 am, came back, slept fully clothed on top of the sheets, woke up at 5:30 am and drove myself back home. So... if that's what you're looking for, it is perfect. If you intend on spending any more than 10 minutes awake in the room, may be worth looking to spend more $$ elsewhere.

Room Tip: You probably only want to "stay" here if you are going to be out exploring the city all day until the very minute you need some sleep.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trovato44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Please please don't stay here. There are so many other hotels in New York. Find somewhere else - anywhere else!!

The first room we were offered had water literally pouring on to the bed. The second room whilst dryer wasn't much better. There was mould across the bathroom and cockroaches in the hall.

The first night we stayed here I cried most the night unable to sleep it was that horrible!

We read the reviews before we went and ignored them thinking - "we aren't that fussy, can't be that bad". We were wrong! Don't make the same mistake.

On the plus side the hotel was so bad that it forced us to spend every hour out of the hotel exploring New York and the location is pretty great for that!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank JPTravel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to describe your recent experience at Hotel Carter. I apologize that the accommodations were not up to standard. Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a well-located hotel; the lobby looks like a good hotel but the rooms... are horrible! The room was little, there were two beds with old sheets. We spent two nights, nobody came to make the room. Can you imagine that?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank leoreynosoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to describe your recent experience at Hotel Carter. I apologize that the accommodations were not up to standard. Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews