We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but....”
Review of Hotel Carter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Carter
Ranked #414 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The location for this hotel was amazing especially for the price but......the room was on the 8th floor and soooo dated. We had one room with two beds and there was hardly any space. One of the mattresses had 4 spring poking out but the bedding was clean. The bathroom was clean but had mould on all the walls and the rooms were cleaned every other day. The door to our room stuck so we had to kick it open but the hotel was very busy and since we were not going to spend to much time in the room i didn't see the point in complaining and i had also read the reviews which warned me that it was not going to be luxury. There was no view but this i didn't mind and the lifts were ran quite well. Hotel staff i found very friendly and helpful but i must warn that wifi was about £30 for the week which i thought was quite expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank plainjane73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Your kind comments are most welcome. We are indeed working hard on enhancements to our property - and we look forward to wowing you next time you honor us with a visit. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,293)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Carter
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 4,293 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

As a solo male traveller, this place is perfect for a budget journey, ($99 per night), with the added advantage that the location is amazing. Bang on Times Square! Any other place would be double or more the price for this location. Okay, is not a five star sort of place, but if you intend to spend your time inside your room, then why go to NYC? The rooms are ancient, clean and spacious. The concept of hot water is a theoretical idea, but if you want an authentic 1950`s feel, the Hotel Carter is for you! I stayed there twice for two nights each time, in May and June 2012. Surprisingly quite. I stayed on the seventh floor both times. I will definitely stay again next time I`m in NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnyechoecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjpr2006, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Carter. I was glad to read that your stay was pleasant and met your needs without breaking the budget! Thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Anyone booking this need to be aware this is a budget hotel, not a 5 star one. That said, my experience staying here was above average:-

1) The location was amazing! I could pop back anytime to drop shopping bags, I could stay out as late as 11pm and still felt safe as there were still tons of people milling around Times Square, and there was a theatre a few doors down showing "Spiderman" and I caught a glimpse of the good looking actors as they came out for a meet-and-greet after the show ^.^

2) The person at the tour desk was really helpful and arranged my shuttle ride from the hotel to the airport with no problem.

3) The doorman Luis was a lovely and very helpful chap.

4) I had turned up really early for check-in (6am) yet they managed to put me in a room (yay!) but room was in quite a state - dirty carpet, dusty furniture & bed, air con was weak even though it was turned up full, room door made slamming noises every few mins, and the last straw was when the bathroom shower started sputtering both ways and the water wouldn't down from the tub (it seemed clogged up). BUT! I went downstairs and asked to be put in another room and the girl promptly did so which was great. The 2nd room was sooo much better! clean(er) carpet, clean sheets, aircon was great, bathroom was so much better - the only niggle was that water still had trouble going down the drain after a shower and the shower pressure (for warm shower) was so strong that it stung when showering.

5) Unfortunately internet + cell connection is intermittent in room but there is paid internet in lobby.

6) If you walk further down 43rd W St, you'll find a friendly drop-and-pick-up laundromat a few mins after 8th Ave to sort you out.

=)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Carter. I was glad to read that your stay was pleasant and met your needs without breaking the budget! Thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

after reading all the bad reviews i was somewhat nervous about my booking at the hotel carter, i was however surprised at the we got. the rooms were clean when we arrived, we stayed on the 21st floor, double room, it was spacious and the bathroom was adequate. the best part about staying at the carter was the location its just a few steps from times square, the only negative thing was that we had to ask for clean towels but the staff was very helpful and accomodating, will def stay here again...great price for a great location!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjd t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thanks for your kind words. You certainly took the opportunity to explore everything the hotel and the area have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Location great, price great but so many things wrong with this hotel...
Female hotel staff are so unfriendly, verging on rude
In a 6 night stay, our room was serviced once
Two days with no hot water and no notice given to us about this
Bathroom not the cleanest, tiny black flys in the shower box and sink
Both me and my husband got bitten a number of times in the night which was not pleasant with it being so hot
Once in the shower with the curtain shut, it blocks out the light so you can't see what you are doing
Can't alter shower temperature or power, and shower 'cubicle' is tiny, could barely wash my hair
No fridge in room
Armchair did not have a back cushion and a totally different seat to the base....

... And this was a supposedly a renovated room

The luggage man was rude and unapproachable and I would stay clear of the tour desk, over priced and gives different prices to different people for the same thing.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laceyr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to describe your recent experience at Hotel Carter. I apologize that the accommodations were not up to standard. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was horrible. It smelled, had a window air conditioner the was very noisy. The king bed was rock hard the bathroom had mould and just gave a general feeling on being dirty when in the room. After staying here I would pay double to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soniam84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to describe your recent experience at Hotel Carter. I apologize that the accommodations were not up to standard. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed here for a week to finish off a two month trip around the states. I had picked it primarily for it's location and good price, which neither can be faulted. But you do get what you pay for. The room is basic,and old-fashioned but functional; although in our room they had been a bit ambitious with the furniture choices, which were all too big for the room. The staff cannot be faulted- very friendly and happy to help with whatever you need and happy to have a chat and give tips on the best places to visit. If you just want a cheap place to stay in the heart of the city, then this works as a good base. But if you are someone who likes good style and a bit more luxury, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quieter and there is less glare from the lights of Times Square at ni...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Your kind comments are most welcome. We are indeed working hard on enhancements to our property - and we look forward to wowing you next time you honor us with a visit. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Shocard at Times Square
Hotel Shocard at Times Square
#293 of 468 in New York City
219 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#351 of 468 in New York City
18,920 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#169 of 468 in New York City
2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 468 in New York City
7,183 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#312 of 468 in New York City
9,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carter

Address: 250 W 43rd St, New York City, NY 10036-3970
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #414 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $95 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Carter 1*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Carter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter Hotel Nyc
Hotel Carter New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing