We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central but in poor conditions, very cheap.”
Review of Hotel Carter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Carter
Ranked #417 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

PRO
Excellent location and helpful staff. Air conditioning OK and heading OK.

CON
Cleaning service every two days, no hot water in the showers, dirty hotel and small rooms. Internet by payment very expensive.

OVERALL
very handy for the position, if you want to spent not so much go there. The position is really grate!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iacopo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. It is disheartening to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 4,296 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

We weren't expecting much seeing it was rated 1 star, but we were in New York for the long days, late nights and just wanted a bed at 3 am to fall into. We arrived at 12:30am went up to our room to see that one bed was shaped like a banana and the other had a huge brown stain on the sheet. The towels were more like hand towels with pubes included. The bin hadnt been emptied in god knows how long. Lucky we had our own towels so I jump in the shower and see used razors and mould on the shower curtain. Overall this place gave a great laugh and still laugh about it. It was cheap, it was somewhere to stay and in an amazing location. Next time I go I will be a little older and actually care about where I stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. It is disheartening to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. Hotel Carter is always striving to improve upon our guest satisfaction & I apologize for the negative experience you described .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Found this hotel via a hotel search. Stayed there 8/5-8/8 2013. Got into LaGuardia around 10:30pm. Took the NYCporter shuttle to the hotel which cost about $13.00 per person. Took about 30 mins. Check in was fast. Hotel is in a very good location. About a block from Times Square. Room was fairly clean. Very quiet. Window a/c. Cable tv with about 10 channels. Room was cleaned once during our stay. There is Wifi starting at $5.00 for 2 hours. If you plan on using wifi much better off buying the higher cost cards. comes out cheaper. Computers are downstairs for internet starting at $5.00 for 30 mins and up. There is a concierge to help with plans. They have a room to store luggage only if luggage has a lock. There is also a 24 hour deli at the front door. A lot of restaurants nearby. There is a place in times square call tkts where you can purchase sameday show tickets at a very good discount. We used the super shuttle to take us back to the airport which cost about $17.00 per person. If you just want a place to sleep, this is the place. I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank archer34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you very much for the comments about your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed yourself at Times Square area. Again, we appreciate your feedback and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed from 23-30 July 2013. I have to say that from all the reviews i read, i was really nervous about how the hotel would be when we arrived. True, its in need of updating and a bit of a renovation, but the location is brilliant - just 1 minutes walk to Times Square. The room, bed and bathroom were clean and all the linen and towels were clean too. Air conditioning was a little noisy but worked really well. Honestly, i didn't go expecting much and for the price its spot on. The people who have written to definitely not stay there must have a bad experience with it and that can happen at any hotel, but obviously everyone has their own opinion. But in all honesty we would stay again, and we would even take the kids there too because you are only sleeping in the room and getting changed anyway.There's a sandwich shop at the bottom of the hotel which is really good. Also, when you come out the hotel and turn right, keep going through Times Square near the police station and on the left you'll see Brooklyn Diner - the food is amazing in there - mac and cheese (BEST EVER) and the Triple Layer Coconut Cake is incredible. You must try it. The only other thing I would say about the hotel is that there isn't a safe in the room, but for $5 a day you can use one of the safes that are behind the reception. Also there is a luggage room to store your bags on your last day - $3 a bag. And we used a shared transportation bus to get to and from JFK - the website says 45 mins to the hotel - took us 2 hours either way - just bear it in mind because the traffic is hectic. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsONeill83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for your review of Hotel Carter. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your accomodations. We pride ourselves on guest service and the customer experience. Look forward to hosting you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

A/C not working and not fixed for 4 days of my stay. Room was not cleaned for 4 days. It shouldn't be called a hotel and doesn't even fall for that category. It is more like a hostel or a cheap apartment. Please stay away or your vacation mood will be ruined.

Room Tip: not recommended, A/C don't work during summer and will not be fixed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ricsilver623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback from Hotel Carter. We are doing everything we can to stay current and there are many projects and updates in the works. We hope that you afford us the opportunity to regain your trust. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I recently stayed in the Hotel Carter from the 12th July to the 17th. I can honestly say that I've read some really picky, borderline stuck up reviews about this place and honestly, it's perfectly fine. There were no bed bugs, no dirty sheets, our room was cleaned every day, I mean, what more could 4 friends travelling round the US ask for?!

The first good thing about this place, as I'm sure you've read before, is the location. Slap bang in the middle of Times Square, for those of you who have been to NY before, it's literally round the corner from the Hard Rock Cafe. The staff were friendly enough, and the prices are great for such a good location.

The room was just big enough for all of us to put our things down and have a comfortable sleep. We were barely in the room but for those of you that will be, none of the TVs work correctly, our volume was broken and it went from so quiet that we couldn't hear it to that loud that it made our neighbours complain with out us even touching the remote.

I will mention one thing, do not use the grocery store that is attached to the hotel next to the lobby, they can smell tourists and will overcharge you ridiculously as they do not put prices on anything. There's a pharmacy about 2 minutes around the corner, go there instead.

Overall the hotel was fine, you really do get what you pay for. If you're travelling and fancy a break from hostels, this is definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faye D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for your feedback of your stay at the Hotel Carter. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your accomodations. Look forward to hosting you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

It's a worst hotel I have stayed in my entire life, First of all they make you pay in advance simply because they know that they room are ugly and unbearable. We arrived in NYC in winter it was freezing, and when we got there, the room tiny and all the furniture were old and weird. Like we asked to swap the room, that was even worst, coz the air conditioning would not go low or higher it was stuck. We just manage to sleep in one night as we already paid for but the wost was yet to come, in morning my husband went to have shower and guess what? there was no hot water! the water ice cold in the middle of winter. I can keep on going with my complains, we decided to change hotels the following day and went to the Broadway hotel, it's nice and very little hotel compare to Carter but the room are much cleaner, best breakky ever, awesome location as well. Please my fellow don't stay at CARTER HOTEL

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nono C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjpr2006, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carter, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback from Hotel Carter. We are doing everything we can to stay current and there are many projects and updates in the works. Hotel Carte is always striving to improve upon our guest satisfaction & I apologize for the negative experience you described .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 470 in New York City
19,914 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 470 in New York City
7,397 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#413 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Americana Inn
Americana Inn
#377 of 470 in New York City
746 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#111 of 470 in New York City
7,034 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#400 of 470 in New York City
4,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carter

Address: 250 W 43rd St, New York City, NY 10036-3970
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #417 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $95 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Carter 1*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Carter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter Hotel Nyc
Hotel Carter New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing