We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's All About The Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Carter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Carter
Ranked #411 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's All About The Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Room was average but nothing that I didn't expect from previous reviews, I wasn't horrified by it, was clean and comfortable. I think I said to my friend was a $40 hotel room in a $400 location. As other people said if you are there to check out New York and won't really be spending much time other than sleeping in your room then this is the place for you. Only real complain was the tour desk/information people were next to useless. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nezza75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    965
    1,456
    568
    1,083
See reviews for
828
1,189
258
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Hotel Carter is ideally located steps away from Times Square with easy access on foot or subway to anywhere in Manhattan. The rooms to be honest are average and I can say that fairly because we saw about 4 of them when the phone line didnt work in our first one and apparently in the 4 rooms we looked at following (we ended up just decided we didnt need a phone in the room) The bathrooms were clean but old and very run down looking, actually most of the hotel looked like that but if your just looking for a cheap hotel (by NYC standards) where you can crash after big days of exploring the city then the Hotel carter will suit you fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great place to stay. The room was ok. They only cleen the rooms evert two-days, so make sure you have enough towels in you room. You can ask for towels and pillows in the reception, they are very friendly. Walking distance to almost everything in Manhatten.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great location. Average service - the desk didn't really care about reporting of bed bugs. They didn't seem surprised but they did say they would get the guy to "spray". TV fine. Bed sheets and towels were dirty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Don't expect a luxurious or sofisticated place. This hotel is perfect if you're traveling on a budget, plan to spend the whole day travelling around the city and just need a place to sleep. The location is excellent, since it is two blocks from Port Authority Bus Terminal and Times Sq./ 42 St. Subway stations, which allows you to get quickly to almost anywhere in Manhattan and the rest of buroughs. Even though the place looks grim and old, rooms were clean. There is no free internet access, so you have to use the access code vending machine located in the lobby. Rooms are cleaned every 2 days. Tip: Visit the café on the hotel entrance for a quick and affordable breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank José Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This may not make any sense, but all of the good reviews and bad reviews are equally right. It all depends on your point of view.

If you've been used to staying at hotels/motels that have "decor", "style" and "class", and especially "services" and "amenities", then you probably will hate and even fear the Carter. Because they have none of those things.

For the lowest price of any recently listed New York hotel this is what you will get: A bed with a clean sheet and pillow, a towel, some hot water, a closet and a television. And, oh yeah, you'll be within steps of the center of Times Square, aka the Center of the World.

Modern? Don't make me laugh.

Lots of room to stretch out? Yeah, if you're the size of a gopher.

Soap and shampoo? That's what stores are for.

Complimentary cups, coffee, tables, chairs, bureaus, vanities, ironing boards, extra linens? Those are for wusses.

I'll say it one more time: If you've been staying at hotels built within the last two decades, this place will look like a concentration camp to you.

But if you want to save money (a LOT OF MONEY!), want to be close to where everything is happening, don't mind eating out for every meal and can survive without a pool or excercise room, this might fit the bill.

Two other critical points:

First, no bedbugs were sighted. And believe me, we looked.

Secondly, we had an excellent night's sleep. The beds in our Quad room were very large and actually rather comfortable. The air conditioning worked fine. And one of the unspoken advatanges of an older building is that they are constructed out of bricks, mortar and steel, not fiberboard and plaster. In other words, the building is strong and the rooms are surprisingly quiet at night. We neve heard a peep from our neighbors, even the ones with kids.

Yes, there are hotels that I like better than this one in New York. But except during the off-offseason, I can't afford them. For someone on a budget, and low expectations, the Hotel Carter is a dream come true.

One more pointer: If you're driving into NYC, the subterranean parking lot right next door, on the same side of the street, charges only $35 for a 24-hour rate, while the rip-offs across the street are asking $50+. Good to know.

Oh, and I should all of the staff that we dealt with at the Carter were courteous and professional.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank marc-the-chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The location is superb,walking distance to many Manhattan highlights-the accommodation is basic-no meals but drinks and snack machines in the lobby and a good deli immediately next door-recommend the Mexican hot chocolate and cinnamon apple tea.For meals Manhattan has so much to offer.Rooms clean(ish) but do negotiate on arrival for a better room if the allocated room is an un-modernised one also room sizes vary from the cramped to the small.Concierge and all staff friendly and helpful,not the cheapest of the cheap but you can save by being so near the heart of everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Shocard at Times Square
Hotel Shocard at Times Square
#296 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#187 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#151 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#340 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,464 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carter

Property: Hotel Carter
Address: 250 W 43rd St, New York City, NY 10036-3970
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #411 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Carter 1*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Carter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter Hotel Nyc
Hotel Carter New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing