We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next To Time Square - Great For Backpackers - Cheap $$”
Review of Hotel Carter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Carter
Ranked #413 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Next To Time Square - Great For Backpackers - Cheap $$”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This is an interesting location. It is not your typical 5 star- 4 star but in between a 2-3 star hotel. The hotel is pretty old.. Coul dwork on remodeling but i guess the hole idea is to keep it a s affordable as possible. This location has private baths and OK beds. THis is pretty much close to a Hostel but with some privacy. I woul drecommend this to people that want to save a lot of money. We all know that NYC can be extremely pricey even for a 3 star holiday in.. Running for a minimum of $300- $400 a night. I wont recommend this for Families or Business traveloers, butmore for adventurous couples and group of friends that are just looking for a place to stay. As my friends say.. Aplace to Sleep and Shower. This is the place.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Store next to the lobby. THe guy there is not nice at ALL!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 880imvip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    966
    1,456
    568
    1,085
See reviews for
830
1,190
257
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Ok it has to be said that this isn't quite the old style glamour of Broadway I had pictured, but I knew that before I arrived. Think posher hostel rather than hotel and you will not have a coronary when you arrive. The location, as mentioned, is amazing and you can't argue otherwise and this is what you are paying for. Reception were quick and efficient and the lobby has internet and a desk available for booking tours etc. They charge $2 a bag if you want to leave it there on check-out day and be bag free before returning to the airport.
The room was pretty dull and a little grubby, we ignored the towel hanging up in the clothes cupboard, the cracks in the sink, the dust and general lack of 5* appeal - we did however have a giggle about it, got over it and enjoyed our stay....the bottle of wine helped. The bed was ok, sheets clean and air-con worked. If you accept that you do honestly pay for what you get in a city that is not cheap, you cannot go wrong. If you are fussy or want the high end treatment, then this isn't the sort of place for you. We went wanting a place to sleep, not a spa, geyt out and enjoy this amazing city. If you do it right, you will be so knackered in the evening, you won't care where you sleep and suddenly that room seems like a haven.

Room Tip: Avoid room next to the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank proseUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel,last week end. Our room was very small as we had the stair well in the corner. The sink was cracked and was falling off the wall.There was someone's underwear in the corner that the cleaners hadn't removed. There was a bundle of wires on the floor from the air con and TV. We had read the other reviews so was a bit prepaired. Our bed sheets were clean but very tatty. There was nothing in our room except our two beds and and 2 night stands, one with the TV on. not even a lamp. Fourtunatly we did not spend any time in the room except to sleep. We used the shower, but I was worried all the time. The only thing going for this hotel is the fantastic location, for the price. Even though this place is a real dump, they can still fill the rooms because of the price. Don't think I would ever return though.

Room Tip: don't go for room 400, very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Madgeontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

A group of 12 of us were staying in NYC for the weekend and we wanted somewhere cheap and central to stay. The Hotel Carter is literally one minute from Times Square, the heart of New York with ridiculously good transport links. One of our allocated rooms was fine - clean and sorted - but the other was disgustingly dirty. I went to reception and complained. Turns out, they have been renovating the hotel from bottom up - so the top floors are the least pleasant. The manager listened to my concerns and offered us a room change, to the same floor but a nicer and much bigger room with a huge bathroom and views of Times Square, at no extra charge, which we were very pleased with. No, it's not the most comfortable hotel in the world but if you're in NYC on a budget then it is great value.

Room Tip: Lower floors - the top floors have not been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 20katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This place is awful. I read the reviews before I went there and thought "surely it can't be that bad" - it's actually worse. I'm covered in bed bug bites. The sheets, while washed, had red/brown stains on them, as did the towels. The water was never hotter than lukewarm. How this place has not been closed down is beyond me.

Room Tip: Just don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

As I was told by a customer service representative (and I quote):

"We are a budget hotel. Don't expect a Hilton service from us."

Enough said!!

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SeanD213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I had seen many reviews for this hotel. All said that it was pretty bad, but many said that it was okay as long as you were just looking for a place to sleep in a good location. I figured I would give it shot. I'm telling you that it really isn't worth it.

When I first got there I was placed in a room that literally had mold on the walls. It was so bad that the sheetrock was actually deteriorating. When I looked in the bathroom, tile was missing from the walls and ceiling. In its place was just blackness from mold. I asked to be switched into a different room and the clerk who had previously check me in, laughed at me. The second room wasn't much better. It still had the moldy smell and I'm pretty sure that the mold is there, but painted over. The shower curtain in the new room had mold on it and the sheets were stained and ripped. Honestly do not stay here. It is not worth it at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marmalode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Shocard at Times Square
Hotel Shocard at Times Square
#293 of 467 in New York City
201 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#348 of 467 in New York City
18,430 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#176 of 467 in New York City
2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#157 of 467 in New York City
1,471 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 467 in New York City
9,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carter

Property: Hotel Carter
Address: 250 W 43rd St, New York City, NY 10036-3970
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #413 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Carter 1*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Carter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carter Hotel Nyc
Hotel Carter New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing