We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what more can you ask for?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
Ranked #255 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“what more can you ask for?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Once you enter the hotel, you know it is different from other fine hotels in New York, it truly makes you feel like you live here. The service amiable and well mannered. Delicious food, incredible hair salon, knowledgeable staff and guests that truly did not get a special rate to stay at the hotel. A delight and a great way to stay in such a magical city!

Room Tip: Try the salon,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiemponomejora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    130
    70
    37
    32
See reviews for
160
257
54
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Not the first time we have stayed here but a noticeable " commerciality" has recently crept into the atmosphere of a once distingusihed aristocrat of hotels - or that is the first impression you get when you check in. Their first objective is to do a trade with you and get you into a higher price room. Maybe that's the instruction from Rosewood head office to maximise room yield but it surprised me that their intent was so explicit. After we got thru that step ( and it actually suited us to upgrade to a large suite for an extra $500 night) , they were charming. The suites are large and impressive...beds superb. There are several "buts" however: the breakfast is outrageously expensive and rather pedestrian in both quality and service; no overnight shoeshine; its outsourced and will cost you which seems petty to me; the doorman is probably the most disinterested member of his profession in New York city; luggage retrieval is a bit of a lottery; and be careful to find out if your room overlooks the noisy construction site on the side road. Its overwhelming advantage is its location; all the great galleries and museums are within a short walking distance and so are the best shops ...so it is a perfect santuary come 4pm on a wet afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your comments and feedback regarding your recent stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your suite, however we are so sorry to hear that you were not happy with some aspects of your stay. We would welcome the opportunity to further discuss your additional issues with us directly.

If you wish, please call my office directly or contact our Director of Operations, Massimiliano Puglisi, at 212.570.7163 or massimiliano.puglisi@rosewoodhotels.com. Again, thank you for reaching out and we hope to hear from you soon.


Warmest regards,
Giovanni Beretta
(212) 570-7187
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at the Carlyle in room 1206 for one night on May 12th 2013 for the first time in our life. Obviously we had a very high expectation to this hotel with its historical fame and reputation. But we walked out of the hotel next day unrested and disappointed. The room has no privacy what so ever from the next-door neighbors, loud TV and conversations going on throughout the evening. Yet the worse thing is the bed which is old and sinking. Both of us couldn't get to sleep because we could find a comfortable position in that bed, what we got next day was the pain in the back. Indeed every single detail in the room look tired and some are inappropriate, for example, the water faucets in the shower cannot be reached easily and is dangerously located in the other side of the shower door.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fi5hs0up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni_Beretta, General Manager at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We would like to extend our deepest apologies that your experience did not exceed your expectations. We have looked into all of your comments on the mattress and layout of the room and rest assured we are working to remedy the situation.

If you wish to reach out, we would be happy to speak to you regarding your stay. You may ask for my office directly or reach out to our Director of Operations, Massimiliano Puglisi, at 212.570.7163 or massimiliano.puglisi@rosewoodhotels.com.

Warmest regards,
Giovanni Beretta
(212) 570-7187
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton, ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We took our 3 and 22 year old children for a family weekend. The two bedroom suite was beautiful, spacious and very quiet. Gigi at the front desk made sure it was perfect for us! The toddler amenities were adorable. Just a block away from Central Park near the Levin playground entrance and a short walk to the zoo at Central Park. We love that the common areas and lobby at The Carlyle are not crowded, makes it so easy to get in and out. The Bemelman Bar is amazing and a great way to end the evening. This is our favorite place to stay in the city!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian_Norbury, Director of Sales at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for writing this review, we really appreciate you taking the time. We're also very happy to be your favorite hotel in the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was our first trip to New York and we were really looking forward to our stay. On arrival, we were made to feel really welcome and were swiftly booked in and shown to our room. The room was at the rear of the hotel and was nice and quiet, with no traffic noise whatsoever. It was well appointed with 2 walk in wardrobes, a small kitchen and (sadly) a VERY small but well equipped bathroom. We ate breakfast at the hotel, but took the remainder of our meals elsewhere. Breakfast selection was really good, however the buffet was seldom piping hot and could have been supplied with hot plates - tepid food served on cold plates becomes inedible very quickly.
So why the but?? Tipping is not a way of life in Europe, I'm happy to tip when I've experienced exceptional service, an outstanding meal or someone's gone the extra mile. I don't agree with tipping just for the sake of it. To be given no option other than to add 15%, 18% or 20% to an already inflated bill is really irritating. I realize that this isn't just an issue at this hotel, but right across the hospitality sector in the USA. The first hotel that bucks the trend and offers everything gratuity free will, in my humble opinion, be onto a winner!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian_Norbury, Director of Sales at The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
I'm sorry you were frustrated with the gratuity, however it is customary throughout the United States. I do however really appreciate your kind words about the hotel and appreciate you taking the time to write a review. I will certainly bring your comments on the buffet to our food anfd beverage team.

Adrian Norbury
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great restaurant, bar (Bemelman's), accommodations, makes for a wonderful stay....take a tower room if available....staff is superb!......late afternoon cocktails with lovely piano in bar is perfect way to finish day, and begin evening......plus ghost of Bobby Short still very much in residence

Room Tip: loved room 3306....views east and north are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank restoman2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Style, service, luxury, quiet, sophisticated, charm and elegant all come to mind after a stay at The Carlyle. Upper East side location close to Central Park enhance the stay even further. The bar is a delight.

Room Tip: Try a suite for a luxurious experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#257 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Greenwich Hotel
Greenwich Hotel
#119 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#322 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#29 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Property: The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
Address: 35 E 76th St, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in New York City
#97 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#119 Family Hotel in New York City
#157 Business Hotel in New York City
#165 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the elegance of the Upper East Side - from the vibrant culture and elite shopping to the oasis of understated luxury - The Carlyle has become a "home away from home" for sophisticated travelers. Offering a first-class combination of discretion and grace - the 193 rooms and suites feature elegant views of Central Park and Manhattan's skyline. Gracious and romantic formal dining awaits guests in The Carlyle Restaurant while legendary entertainers create the quintessential New York cabaret experience in the famed Café Carlyle.Step outside the elegant marble lobby and into a new level of sophistication. The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel is surrounded by galleries and designer boutiques on New York's posh Madison Avenue. Blocks from the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Guggenheim, the Whitney and the Frick, the hotel is within easy reach of what is commonly referred to as "Museum Mile." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle a Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle a Rosewood Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing