We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful property, Beautiful people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
Ranked #236 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, Beautiful people”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I agree with the earlier reviews. Being on-site over a weekend, with two wedding taking place, 90% occupancy, the hotel runs as smooth as silk. Having brides in the lobby simply steppped up the Carlyle's elegance factor. (It doesn't need much help.)

If you're thinking of staying in midtown, rethink that idea. NYC is hard work... you'll love coming back to the Carlyle and the 76th/Madison neighborhood. Everything is steps away, including the Central Park entrances off Fifth.

Thanks to Kim Manning, Director of Sales - who graciously meets your expectations. Don't miss the Gallery for lunch or afternoon tea!

Room Tip: Tower rooms are charming, although smaller as you reach the top of the tower. All rooms are unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbadiantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    134
    69
    38
    32
See reviews for
164
265
54
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We took advantage of a 3rd night free promotion and booked a room in the Towers on the 33rd floor.
The room was very quiet and comfortable and we had a fabulous view looking uptown and at Central Park over the roof of the Met.
The staff is fantastic, very attentive and friendly, but understated. Even though the Carlyle is known as an old school New York society venue, we felt perfectly comfortable coming & going in sneakers, shorts & t-shirts for our afternoon excursions, while getting 'dressed to the nines' for our evening outings, ending with a nite cap at Bemelmans Bar.
Fabulous location - walk to Central Park, the Met & other museums, short train ride or cab to midtown.
We felt so at home we didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Try to book a room in the Towers - the views are fabulous and there are only 5-6 rooms on each floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCtraveler1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was our second stay at the Carlyle. We loved it. We had a corner room on the 8th floor. The room was impeccably decorated, immaculate and very comfortable. The staff was warm and gracious. The location provides an oasis in the midst of the city with easy access to everywhere. Just all very well done.

Room Tip: The corner rooms offer an extra window and more sunlight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogi825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex uk
Level Contributor
211 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Our first stay here having previously used the plaza and Pierre in new York.
Our room on the eleventh was very comfortable , the bathroom perhaps a little too small,after a days sight seeing it was so nice to come back to , a bit like home.
The staff are as pleasant and efficient as you could wish for, the breakfast buffet knocks spots off both the plaza and the Pierre plenty of choice , lunch in the gallery a rather jewel like area with
Excellent food , the gazpacho -much better than when we ever have it in Spain , the crab cakes
A particularly new York speciality , very good indeed, these two dishes we had nearly every day.
Then of course the dark and sexy bemelmans bar world famous , here it's forever night, with a
Pianist and band in the evening -fun.
Not forgetting the cafe Carlyle with it's cabaret , we were lucky to catch woody allens last night on june 18 , unforgettable experience in the delightful room with its pretty murals on the walls it's sharp service, and good food , not brilliant but acceptable.
The location on Madison is just right a step away to central park to the frick etc.
This is where to stay in new York .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanEastSussexUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I had the chance to stay in the City on a recent weekend and checked into the The Carlyle for the first time in about 10 years. It remains one of my favorite hotels. I had a north facing room on an upper floor in the tower with views of Central Park.

The room (queen bed with great linens) was modest in size, but comfortable. Furnishings might have seemed dated, but recognizing that much of it was Dorothy Draper allowed an appreciation of the classic look. Everything was impeccably clean. Bathroom was well appointed with toiletries from Kiehl's and the house bar soap that I instantly remembered from years ago. The bathroom had no shortage of mirrored surfaces (to the point of being a bit much). Closet space was abundent. Service was great, from the front door to reception to the maids, elevator attendants (!) and bell staff. Suit and shoes pressed and polished in short order on Saturday afternoon. Climate controls worked nicely. Only drawback: the obnoxious charge for WI-Fi access. At this price point for a room, Ido not believe that one should not be asked to pay. But I suppose at this price point, one should not be thinking too much about another $15 per day.

The hotel is well located at Madison and E. 76th. Not the best location if you want to do the usual tourist thing, but exceptional for shopping on Madison, access to Central Park (one block), museum mile, the 6 train at Lexington and E. 77th and only a few minutes walk to Sushi of Gari (not to be missed, reservations recommended).

Room price for the weekend was comparable to Four Seasons and Peninsula, and while those hotels are more modern and attractive in their way, the same price would have yielded me an interior or adjacent building view at those properties, and nothing can beat an upper east side location with a good view of the park for a fun and relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: Splurge on the tower, north or south (not east) facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6101FCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed here for the weekend on a "suite Deal"

The room was amazing, old world charm and furnishings, but with all needs for a modern traveller.

The bed was ultra comfy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJWW4764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay at this charming, traditional hotel. The location is fabulous and our room was very spacious with a really comfortable bed and two walk-in closets.
We'd definitely recommend The Carlyle to anyone looking for a stay at an exclusive address in New York.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nshah0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#54 of 467 in New York City
1,807 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#27 of 467 in New York City
694 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#240 of 467 in New York City
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
#179 of 467 in New York City
605 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#259 of 467 in New York City
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel

Property: The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
Address: 35 E 76th St, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in New York City
#96 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#118 Family Hotel in New York City
#156 Business Hotel in New York City
#161 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the elegance of the Upper East Side - from the vibrant culture and elite shopping to the oasis of understated luxury - The Carlyle has become a "home away from home" for sophisticated travelers. Offering a first-class combination of discretion and grace - the 193 rooms and suites feature elegant views of Central Park and Manhattan's skyline. Gracious and romantic formal dining awaits guests in The Carlyle Restaurant while legendary entertainers create the quintessential New York cabaret experience in the famed Café Carlyle.Step outside the elegant marble lobby and into a new level of sophistication. The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel is surrounded by galleries and designer boutiques on New York's posh Madison Avenue. Blocks from the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Guggenheim, the Whitney and the Frick, the hotel is within easy reach of what is commonly referred to as "Museum Mile." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle a Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle a Rosewood Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing