We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good value, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Hotel New York City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heritage Hotel New York City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 West 25th Street, at 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10010 (Formerly Comfort Inn Chelsea) (Flatiron District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #313 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good value, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel is located in a convenient location of Chelsea. I am used to room size in New Mexico so this was a tiny room, but that's how it is in NYC, so that's not a negative but something to keep in mind and be prepared for.
First the good...We had a room with two single beds and it was very clean, especially the bathroom. The towel and linen quality was excellent. The room design was nifty, considering the tight space. They wear full house so we could only get a smoking room, however, the room had no smoking smell at all which was a huge relief for us. The breakfast was large for NYC and well kept. They keep the breakfast replenished constantly and an African American gentleman who was working there was the hardest working guy I saw in manhattan on this trip! He did not waste a nano second and accommodated every request from demanding guests, especially those European group, who seem to eat a lot!!! Check in and check out was smooth...
The tv channels were so so...the tv was wide screen but the reception was analog and poor. I don't get the point, they invest in a wide screen tv, why skimp on the content? Give less channels but provide at least the networks in hi-def! It was not fun to watch playoff game in analog...
The parking across the street is a rip off...go north on 6th avenue and make left (west) on 31st street, six blocks away...there is cheaper parking there. Two blocks south, broadway and 23rd, there is a great place called Eatly, they have great espresso, gelato and all fancy stuff.
Overall, not a bad deal for $119 per night in Chelsea ....will return!

Room Tip: Higher floor facing 25th street, facing south side of the hotel will have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SenorBaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    288
    158
    41
    30
See reviews for
171
137
44
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is not the nicest place, but it does offer quite a bit for the low price. The location is perfect. they offer free internet and a morning continental breakfast that is not that bad. The room was small, but very clean and well appointed. Again, for the price you could do much worse in New York. I was perfectly satisfied.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dkoenig101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

An Excellent price for NYC. Lobby and entrance were unremarkable. But this isn't the Ritz and it doesn't pretend to be. One tiny elevator, which could be a long wait for some, but we didn't experience any problems with that. Stayed in a king room on the fifth floor facing 25th Street. I personally wasn't bothered by street noise. The room has it's own heating/air conditioning unit, and with the heat/fan on, sleeping was fine. The room was tight, but that's the norm in New York. Bathroom was very tiny, but clean. You had to step up a few inches to enter it, a little treacherous at night. Free internet worked fine and t.v. was a flat screen with a limited number of channels. In spite of scaffolding on front of the building, we had a nice view of a pretty church across the street and a partial view of the Empire State Building! Cool! My husband made use of the free breakfast and said it was fine. Concierge will store your bags in a locked room. If you do this after checking out, there's a $1 fee per bag. No biggie. Convenient to subway/public transportation. Eataly is right around the corner. Easy walk to Union Square (Christmas Market is awesome there!)...Overall, an older (slightly dated) hotel, but clean and in a safe convenient location. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Some Upper floors facing 25th Street will give you a view of the Empire State Building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jandcsmdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
170 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

A block from beautiful Madison Square, Broadway and the N Line train means Chinatown, Times Square and Central Park are all within 15 minutes without changing trains... N Line also goes direct to Coney Island). A much better price than other comparable hotels we stayed at in recent years (e.g., Four Points Soho). Our room was small to be sure, but king size bed was very comfortable, lcd tv 42", room and bath were both spotless, we had a view of the Empire State Bldg, and the furniture and wallpaper seemed new. There are more than a few excellent restaurants within short walking distance, and Madison Square Park at night is wonderful. 15 minutes or less walk to Empire State Building or Times Square, straight up Broadway so you can window-shop on your way, passing Manhattan Mall, Macy's and Lord and Taylor, as well as countless discount souvenier shops. One block to Eataly, a great Italian food court for lunch. About ten blocks to Penn Station. Service was friendly and the free breakfast, while nothing special, was bountiful, offering a lot of variety. Concierge is weak, looking for the upsell instead of offering insider tips, but the front desk personnel were all great. Considering the price and location, I want to give this place five stars but our room was too small and concierge not helpful even compared to my own knowledge just from reading TripAdvisor forum and Fodor's ahead of time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidFromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

suppose to be a christmas vacation for my children and they put us in a room with twin beds one was higher than the other and they heat our room with a window air conditianer,the concier could not give me info on different place i wanted to go but the black guy in the breakfast room help me out alot

Room Tip: check room before checking in calling would not help cause u will get the wronge info
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A True C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

It always amazes me how different the professional pictures look than my experience in the hotel itself. I did not think it was a good hotel to stay in and I would not stay here again. The room and the bathroom were very small. The staff was not particularly friendly. It was a hotel that young backpackers might stay in. If you are looking for comfort or for an extended stay, I would not stay here. If you have a car, you will have to walk 2 blocks to the garage to park it yourself.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthCalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Marlton, NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I had to spend a night in Manhattan for business purposes and was thrilled to find this little gem! Althought it was $299 for the night, I realize that is quite reasonable for Manhattan. While it is an older building, the room was clearly well-cared for ... and absolutely huge for NYC (with a sitting couch, flat screen tv, desk, and adequate bathroom). I was quite impressed and would not hesitate to stay there again should I be in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Room 906 was clean, well-appointed, spacious, and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MB_SouthJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron District
Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West
Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, ...
#233 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,003 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#415 of 478 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#161 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron Hotel
#278 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 694 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Comfort Inn Times Square West
#193 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 852 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Comfort Inn Times Square South
#246 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hotel New York City

Property: Heritage Hotel New York City
Address: 18 West 25th Street, at 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10010 (Formerly Comfort Inn Chelsea)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Flatiron District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #313 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heritage Hotel New York City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moderately priced, centrally located hotel in the heart of Manhattan, Chelsea district - 10 minute walk to Empire State Building and located close to almost all major subways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Heritage Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Chelsea Nyc
Comfort Inn Chelsea New York City
Comfort Inn New York City
New York City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing