We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #41 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2007

We stayed in an executive king room during our stay at the Iroquois last spring. Beautiful room in great condition. For NYC hotels, it was a decent size and good value. Our bathroom was a good size as well. The room was on the street side which gave good light, but a lot of traffic noise (especially on garbage pickup night.) But at this hotel it's either noise or a dark room! Our only complaint was a strong smell of cigarette smoke one night. We were told it was a nonsmoking floor. The front desk sent someone up (very responsive) but he could not locate the source of the smoke (??) We think it was coming under an adjoining room's door. A wet towel under the door solved the problem. All in all, this is a really nice hotel for the price and a great location.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank homefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,345
    882
    173
    59
    32
See reviews for
832
1,417
209
420
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Iroquois for 3 nights. We thought the hotel was a very good value at $300.00 a night for a deluxe room. The room was nicely decorated, very clean, and in great condition with flat screen wall mounted tv and very comfortable bed. The location couldnt be beat with only 2 blocks to Times Square. The staff was friendly and did everything imaginable to please. We did not like the pillows provided but when we ask for different pillows, two memory form pillows were quickly delivered to the room. The drawbacks are the size of the rooms and baths- they are small. The halls are narrow. There is not much to the lobby. There are two elevators and while they were a little slow we did not encounter any significant delays. We did find in our mini bar two opened and partially consumed beverages but they were removed promptly when we called the attention of the front desk. All in all a good experience.

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Disliked — Small rooms and baths
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHDorshorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2007

I loved staying in this small Hotel with friendly understated service. The room was of a high standard with a great bathroom and downstairs there was a small but comfortable library which was a useful resource, with a pc for guests use. Located in W44th just off 5th avenue The Iroquois was only a walk from everywhere I needed to go.
Perhaps the best feature was the outstanding small resteraunt in the Hotel but with its own entrance from the street, or access from the hotel lobby. Triomph - this not only had some of the best food I've eaten in a restaurant but also a good selection of well priced wines with a good choice availble by the glass. Again the service is friendly and understated.
If you are going to New York on business or pleasure and want a quiet hotel to retreat to then I would recommend the Iroquois.
My only criticism is I would have liked a kettle in the room - I'd rather make my own tea when I'm out of England......

  • Liked — Peaceful and Friendly
  • Disliked — No kettle in roon
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DuncanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2007

I was traveling with a girlfriend to NY to see a show (Blackbird with Jeff Daniels - if you get a chance- see it!) We chose the Iroquois based on TripAdvisor reviews. A few days before we were to arrive I got a call confirming that I had requested a room with two queens and they wondered if I could accepta a room with a single King Size bed. No! My friend and I did not want to share a bed. The woman on the phone assured me it would not be a problem. When we arrived, however, the front desk informed us that they had no rooms with two beds, could we take a room with a single King Size bed? I was about to get hot under the collar and reminded her that I had just confirmed a room with two queens a couple of days before. She quickly offered us TWO rooms for the price of one - we each got our own room with a queen size bed and our own bathroom. Now THAT is what I call customer service! We had a lovely stay, the rooms had recently been renovated and were luxurious. I plan to stay at the Iroquois every chance I get.

  • Liked — Superb service
  • Disliked — single, small elevator
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mwells27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2007

I have to agree with a previous review, great location, nice staff, but that is it really.

Breakfast not included, attached bar (not really a hotel bar) no atmosphere and pricey. Sauna was never on. 2 lifts, both very slow. we were on the 3rd floor (2nd in english) and had to walk up and down the stairs all the time, not a prob for us, but not good.

Room was horrid, Very small, just room to walk round the bed. We couldn't tell if it was day or night out, very disconcerting. window pointless as was up against the brick wall of the next building. AC was loud, I had to use ear plugs to sleep . If you didn't close the bathroom door you had to sit sideways on the loo, and couldn't get to the toilet paper. No tea/coffee maker.

You go to NY for the views, I was very disappointed to be staying in a cave, it felt like being underground!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hsibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2007

My wife and I stayed 4 nights and were very happy, this was our first trip to NYC, read the reviews on this site and they were all very accurate. The rooms were small but very nice and clean. Staff was great. Would surely stay here again, the location is perfectly in the middle of it all. Enjoyed this gem!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Leaving NYC
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank potershouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAINESVILLE
Level Contributor
136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2007

From start to finish, our stay at the Iroquois was great. The room was large enough, very very clean, a staff that wanted to please you and a terrific location. of all the theatre district hotels i would rank casablanca and iroquois tied for #1, everyone else is a distant 3rd. will stay again and have told all of our friends to book here and to mention our name as you get rewarded for referals

  • Liked — overall quality
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bamafutbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,448 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,310 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,720 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#34 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing