We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #40 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Harbor, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed June 8, 2007

My sisters and I celebrated my mom's 80th birthday over a May weekend at The Iroquois and, as my mom describes it, it was truly a weekend she will never forget. First of all, the hotel is magnificent! It is warm, elegant and inviting (plus it is convenient to both Fifth Avenue and the Theatre District). Secondly, the staff is extremely accommodating and went above and beyond to make my mom's birthday a memorable one. They arranged for the six of us to have a beautiful suite plus 2 adjoining superior rooms which were all very lovely and comfortable (the beds were EXTREMELY comfortable). We had ordered a couple of bottles of champagne, a fruit platter and a cheese platter to be delivered to mom's suite before her arrival, which they were, and a short time later, after we polished off the champagne, a staff member arrived to deliver a complementary bottle of wine and a box of chocolates, which was a nice surprise. The service was impeccable! The staff was extremely attentive and did everything they could to ensure we were happy. I have stayed at 5-star hotels before, i.e., the Peninsula, and find The Iroquois to be in the same league. For a truly memorable experience, plan to stay at The Iroquois. My family and I highly recommend it and will definitely return.

  • Liked — The elegant decor
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoChanel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,404
    902
    179
    61
    33
See reviews for
856
1,448
214
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2007

My ten-year-old daughter and I stayed at the Iroquois from 30th May for three nights. We arrived at lunch-time and our room wasn't ready (check-in is at 3) but they stored our bags while we went off for lunch and shopping. Our first room was exquisitely decorated and had a delicious bathroom and an enormous flat-screen tv; but was a little cramped. When I mentioned this to the lady at the front desk she asked if I would like to upgrade to a suite, so we spent our last 2 nights in super luxury (with TWO enormous flat-screen tvs) with our own living room, dining room and kitchen in addition to bed, bath and walk-in closet. The staff were without exception not just friendly and polite but actively kind; I would have to say the service was outstanding - our requests were always attended to quickly and courteously. My daughter loved the free dvd library and the internet access from the itsy-bitsy "library" on the ground floor. The hotel's restaurant, Le Triomphe, was also excellent. The location - midway between Grand Central Station and Times Square - could not have been better. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Stylish decor, extremely comfortable beds, attentive and friendly staff, intimate scale of hotel
  • Disliked — There were only two lifts, which sometimes meant waiting a few minutes
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Thursdays-child
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2007

My husband and I just checked out of the Iroquois. The location is great and very near Times Square and all the shows. We had our theater tickets delivered to the hotel on check in and that was really terrific. The room was small and we didn't have any view at all ... looked at a brick wall. But, the room was very, very quiet which we thought of as positive. We did have a negative experience when asking for additional towels (had to ask twice), and pillows (three times). Internet wireless being "free" ... is a positive, too.

  • Liked — Very close to Broadway shows
  • Disliked — Having to keep asking for additional pillows and towels
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AGMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2007

We stayed at the Iroquois over Memorial Day weekend, and absolutely loved it. Other reviews provide details about room size, furnishings, and convenient location, so no need to rehash those here, other than to say that this hotel is everything we've come to expect from a Small Luxury Hotel property.

We sat in the Triomphe bar and had drinks one evening, and decided to order dessert after coveting the lemon meringue pie of the gentleman sitting next to us. He asked us how we were enjoying the hotel, whether the concierge had been helpful, whether we'd tried the restaurant and how we liked it, etc. ; it turned out he was the manager of the property. He seemed genuinely interested in our feedback, which was all positive, and particularly proud of the fact that many of the staff had been with the hotel for a number of years. When we got back to our room later that evening, he'd sent us up a bottle of wine. This is a hotel that takes pride in providing excellent service, and it shows.

  • Liked — Staff/service
  • Disliked — Room view
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StymieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2007

This hotel has both good and bad aspects. On the good side, the suites are very nice and spacious. The free DVD's to borrow are a nice touch. The location is great. The subway at Bryant Park is the closest and it's nice to walk through the park during the day. Know, however, we took cabs towards the end of our trip and thankfully the hotel is between two of the most famous hotels on the west side: the Algonquin and the Sofitel. Not one cabbie ever heard of The Iroquois, but when I mentioned either the Algonquin or the Sofitel, they knew exactly where to go.

Due to a very shoddy concierge staff however, we won't be staying here again. Thinking it would save us time & trouble, two weeks before our trip I booked the house limo to take us to The Iroquois from our home and back. We were quoted a price, worked out the times and were even given the color of the limo and the driver's name. Two days before, I called to confirm the pick-up time and was told there was a problem with our booking. I was told that the other concierge girl had us quoted us the price for a town car & not a limo. They said the limo would be almost double the price each direction!!! They told us they could call out a different company for the price we were quoted, but that "we might get a foreigner who speaks no English" and they couldn't account for the way they'd drive!! They said they would "absolutely not send their top-of-the-line limo out for that price" and the only thing they would do was send the other company and "it wasn't going to be a very nice limo either." I was shocked! They wouldn't budge. I called my regular limo company and luckily, after explaining the situation to them, they took us both ways for even less than The Iroquois quoted originally. I cancelled the limo service with The Iroquois and thought the matter was done. I was sorely mistaken.

When we got to The Iroquois in our privately booked limo, there was a letter waiting for us at the front desk confirming that we were using the house limo to go home. This was the very same limo we had cancelled with concierge two days prior. The concierge representative that was there happened to be the same girl I actually cancelled with and she apologized for this SECOND error and said she’d correct it. We got the "corrected" letter later that day, but unfortunately, concierge must not have read it themselves, since it was simply a copy of the one we received earlier. We contacted the front desk this time who said they’d take care of it. We didn’t see the concierge hardly at all the rest of our trip.

When we checked out, our account was still wrong and concierge was again not at their post. We therefore had to speak with the manager and the front desk again before we could check out since our bill was all wrong due to this now beyond pathetic concierge error.

The hotel itself was very nice. However, if you need to book anything through the concierge, I would not recommend this hotel. The Iroquois’ concierge does not honor its word and they don’t value their customers at all. The last thing you want to do is spend your vacation in the lobby and on the phone trying to fix the staff’s mess.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Concierge
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank missmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottgeres, Management at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, May 30, 2007
Regarding the review from May 29th, this guest was originally informed that the booking was for a town car and NOT a limousine. The price she was quoted was accurate for a car service based in New York City. This guest misunderstood our staff. We offered to rectify the situation by quoting a price for a limousine through our contracted company but the guest was unwilling to acknowledge the price offered. The transportation company we are contracted with is an independant company with extremely competitive pricing according to the New York City Market. Our concierge staff are members of Les Clefs D'or and have a combined work history of 27 years of service in New York City. They take a tremendous pride in their customer service.
With these reasons, we feel this review is unfair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2007

We were 2 old friends, almost 60, in the Big Apple for the first time. We were referred to The Iroquois hotel through one of the packaging companies that do plays/hotels. We got tickets to three of the major shows and 8 nights at the hotel. Check in was easy, very nice service and greeting. We got the rooms requested. Service all around was very very nice. Best of all was the helpfulness of the conceirge. She helped us book restaurants and other shows. Led us to great restaurants and other adventures. A big plus was the wireless internet service that was complimentary with the room. The location was absolutely perfect for our plans. We saw 5 plays in all during the 8 days, and a jazz pianist one evening. We were able to walk to all evening entertainment from the great location of the hotel. We booked prix fixed meals prior to dinner at some of the historic restaurants, 21, Sardi's. Tavern on the Green. Some really great spots. All in all we had a great time, enjoyed seeing the sights and saw great plays.

  • Liked — The location central to the shows and restaurants.
  • Disliked — ice available only through room service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelermarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2007

This gem is located within walking distance to the theater district, shopping, and subway access. The intimate feel of the welcoming hotel
is refreshing. The emphasis is on customer service and the staff could not be more accommodating. The rooms have the most luxurious bed and bedding. The restaurant and bar are fantastic.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dksDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#66 of 468 in New York City
6,371 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,550 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#57 of 468 in New York City
3,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#76 of 468 in New York City
701 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,851 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 468 in New York City
3,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#36 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing