We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new Favorite Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Iroquois New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #36 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Loudonville, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our new Favorite Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

My husband and I were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary, and our children gifted us a stay at the Iroquois. We loved the Hotel. I don't know what we liked better - the beautiful suite we were in, with the jacuzzi tub and the sitting room, or the fact that we could walk everywhere.
It was Easter weekend, and the staff was very cordial and helpful; the room was beautifully decorated, with the highest quality linens and accesories, and the intimacy of a finer boutique hotel.
The location was a plus, making it our new Favorite hotel, since we could walk to the theatre, our favorite restaurants, and even the train station. We will definitely stay there the next time we are in the city, and will send all of our friends there, too.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Betty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,095
    796
    153
    51
    29
See reviews for
724
1,265
186
374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
washingtondc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

My 11 yr old daughter and I stayed at the Iroquois for 2 nights and loved it. The staff are warm and helpful. It is next door to the Algonquin where we visited their famous cat Mathilda. Walking distance to all Broadway shows. 1 block from 6th Ave subway lines. Our room looked out on a lovely outdoor patio seating area next door and was very quiet for NYC because we were in the back of the hotel. The small library off of the lobby had a computer available for guests so my daughter could keep in touch with her friends via g mail. There were lots of restaurants on 44th and 45th streets--from fancy french to Chipoltle and of course the Red Flame Coffee Shop.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ynez
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

I join the many who love this place. Roomy, tasteful, great service, fantastic location.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Horse03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

We spent three nights at the Iroquois in April--myself, our teenage daughter and my husband. We chose a suite, and in effect found it was two rooms for the price of one. Our daughter could shut the door and have her own space, and a very comfortable bed.

The hotel is brilliantly located--an easy walk to the theatre district, Times Square, Empire State Building, Fifth Avenue, and of course good shopping. At the same time, when you walk inside, it feels like an oasis. The door is opened for you with a smile, and it's quiet and comfortable inside. The desk staff greet you with a steaming cup of cider--very refreshing.

The room was spacious, immaculately clean, and nicely furnished. Each evening your bed is turned down, and chocolates and a weather report left on your pillow. If I could change one thing, I'd have windows that can open--but that would allow noise, so it might not suit some--the double glazing meant it was very quiet. There was also one waitress who disappointed with her cool attitude.

However, the rest of the staff were terrific--and that's what really makes the place. Absolutely everyone else--from cleaners, doormen and most of all the desk staff-- were ready and willing to help, and generously sorted out any problem. For example, we were offered umbrellas on rainy days, and were allowed to shower and warm up after a drenching on the last day of our stay, long after we should have checked out of the room--and for a very reasonable extra fee. Really, the staff make the place what it is--a perfect spot for wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank englishfamily99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

As a business traveler who has been to New York City over 100 times in the last twenty years, I have stayed at somewhere between 15-20 different hotels. During that time, I developed a personal set of preferences for a satisfying NY hotel trip, listed in order of importance to me:

1 - Very clean and comfortable bed/pillows
2 - Bath with a strong shower and good bath amenities;
3 - Pleasant and helpful staff
4 - Centralized location to wherever I need to go, whether by foot or cab
5 - Free access to internet
6 - Exercise facilities, accessible at any time at no charge

Given these criteria, I am proud to say that I have not stayed at another hotel other than the Iroquois for several years now! Looking back, I am quite amazed that not one hotel that I visited prior to the Iroquois was able to match each of my preferences (in some cases, not even half of them!). Given the sprawling, crowded environment of many of the larger NYC hotels that I previously endured, I have become especially fond of the Iroquois' cozy, intimate setting that allows the staff the opportunity to assist on a more personal basis with their guests. That the hotel staff always remembers me by name whenever I return (and I have also seen this with many other visitors) and goes out of their way to make me feel welcome without being intrusive is an absolute luxury - especially when i am over 2,000 miles away from home!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank melsli77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

To put it simply, this is an extraordinary hotel, but not merely because of the standard concerns of location and amenities. It has those in abundance, but it has something else that truly sets it above and apart from even what most would otherwise consider the best. The Management and Staff of the Iroquois New York genuinely care about the pleasure you take from your stay with them. No, it is not overt or even subtly obsequious treatment that lacks sincerity and substances. It is exclusively about how you, the guest, perceives the physical characteristics of the hotel, the merits of its collective efforts, and the overall attitude and manner the entire package is delivered. They could not do it better. Moreover, no hotel my wife and I have ever stayed in forty-two plus years of traveling in Asia, Europe, Canada, The Caribbean, and the United States has come even close.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JBUSMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

Very plush traditional hotel. Very clean with polite staff. 3 minutes walk to Times Square. Lovely rooms, although ours was pretty small with a view onto a brick wall! Mini bar, large plasma telly with DVD player, really good bathroom. No tea making facils in the room which was a bit of a shame, but they did have them in reception.
Overall a great hotel that I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnAndDawn08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,185 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#45 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,690 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#21 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#43 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,772 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#56 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,851 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#31 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Orbitz, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing