We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #41 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Iroquois for ten days in August. We had a lovely stay - the staff is courteous and helpful and the hotel is situated just a couple of blocks from Broadway, Times Square and Fifth Ave, so the action is within short walking distance.

Rooms were very clean and pretty. Beds comfortable. Our view was disappointing, but we barely spent any leisure time in the hotel, so it was not a major issue. My husband used the gym facilities which he said were fine. Definitely my go-to choice the next time I'm visiting Manhattan.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Deanegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Dear Deanegirl,

We are so excited to be your "go-to choice" when visiting Manhattan! Thank you for your review and I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately, being a smaller building here in midtown doesn't lend itself to the best views but we do have a few different options and hopefully on your next visit we can show you a "different side" of The Iroquois.

Best Regards,

John Waechter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,963 - 1,969 of 3,834 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2014

Great location, great food in the restaurant. I was very happy with the hotel overall. Nice gym and sauna. Very clean and I had a good time. I would recommend it to a friend for sure. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Evan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Dear Evan W,

Thank you for your review and for staying here with us. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more memorable please don't hesitate to contact us!

Best Regards,

John Waechter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

The hotel's position is great, very near to a number of attractions and to the metro station. Hotel has a limited number of rooms, so it is very quiet and peaceful, thing that we appreciated. But if you are looking to trendy hotels with crowdy places, it will not be your type.
Staff was nice and the room was clean. Though comfortable, we find the room very small, probably too much considering the price.
Breakfast is available a la carte in the restaurant of the hotel, good though pricey.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Alessandra_G73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Dear Alessandra_G73,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us here at The Iroquois. We do have a variety of room types here at the hotel and if your looking for a little more room please let us know so that we can accommodate you as best we can. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the restaurant and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,

John Waechter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

My husband and I visit NYC several times a year for a few days. We deviated from our usual hotel to give the Iroquois a try as there was a sale going on. Upside - the location is terrific, staff very welcoming, bed comfortable, room very clean, free wifi. Downside (perhaps for some) - room was a bit small and view of brick building. Neither of those bothered us. As long as we are not traveling with our kids, room size is irrelevant. Ditto for the view. We're just there for a comfortable place to stay. Which leads me to the big sticking point with the hotel. The temperature control is centrally handled so we could not adjust the a/c in our room. Comfort is important to me and the room was just too hot for us at night. We were able to fall asleep because we were tired from being on the go and having had several drinks. However, if not for that, I would have had a hard time sleeping. Hate to say it considering everything else was great, but I would not book with this hotel again because of that. When traveling, I need to be comfortable. My husband woke up super early and left the room just because it was so stuffy and uncomfortable. To be fair, we did say something to the front desk after our first night and were assured that they would try and cool that side of the building a bit more. We didn't really notice much of a change though.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine0114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Dear Christine0114,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Iroquois New York and for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the staff and our prime location. We do unfortunately have some challenges being a smaller building here in midtown with our views but we do have a variety of room types and hopefully should you return we can find something that suits your needs more comfortably. Thank you again!

Best Regards,

John Waechter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Great location. Amazing service. Small and quaint. Not to be overlooked! We stays here for a long weekend and it was just perfect. The room was small, but that is to be expected in NYC. Great area as you are near the theater district by not in an overly touristy section.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank EmElleSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Dear EmElleSmith,

We are honored to be called a "Fantastic gem" and are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Iroquois New York and for your flattering review. We look forward to seeing you again and if you need any assistance arranging your next NYC visit please don't hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

John Waechter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is a wonderful small hotel in the theatre district with excellent staff who are more like friends than employees. Can't go wrong with this place. No spectacular views but great accommodations. Concierge was one of the best!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Douglas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Douglas T,

Your review is greatly appreciated and I am so glad to hear that we made you feel so at ease while visiting NYC. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. If you need any assistance arranging your next NYC visit please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

John Waechter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Not just a great location, it’s all about the atmosphere and employees. The Iroquois has it ALL – charm, customer service, and all of the above. Charm! I loved EVERYTHING!! (Where should I begin?)! First, I love the fresh peaches waiting for us at the front desk – delicious and HEALTHY!! Second, our hotel room had a DOOR BELL! –OMG! The list goes on, on and on.. our morning paper was delivered in a cute cloth bag.. and the concierge was AWESOME! Thank you Veronica and Ezra! You guys rock…. After Veronica’s shift, she escorted us on the dreadful NYC subway to Harlem (to Sylvia’s Soul Food—yummy)… definitely above and beyond her call of duty. And thank you Ezra!! He was the bomb! Ezra informed us of all the Times Square hot spots, soul food joints, and must sees! And the BEDS and bedding... oh la la Ia! The best sleep EVER! I would definitely recommend and STAY Iroquois again!! This was great getaway..

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ToyaSpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear ToyaSpin,

Thank you so much for choosing The Iroquois New York as your home away from home while you were in NYC! We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and we cannot wait to welcome you back again soon. If you need any help arranging your next NYC adventure please don't hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

John Waechter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 470 in New York City
3,177 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#66 of 470 in New York City
6,655 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 470 in New York City
3,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#42 of 470 in New York City
255 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 470 in New York City
430 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#14 of 470 in New York City
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#37 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $193 - $688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing