We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay & location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #38 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay & location”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed in a double room with my husband and teenage daughter last week for four nights. The room was a little on the small side and the room lighting is not the best though it creates a nice atmosphere. Lighting in the bathroom is much better. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms and bedding are kept clean and linen is changed regularly. We did not use the dining facilities, preferring to eat on the run each day. We did visit the bar one evening but were a little disappointed with the aloof atitude of the bar staff so didn't return. The best thing about the hotel (other than the very helpful concierge) is the fantastic location. It is right in the heart of midtown and within easy walking distance of most of the major attractions or very near to subway stations for reaching those further away. All in all a really great hotel to use as a base for exploring this wonderful city. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Paula S,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our prime location proved to be beneficial for your daily adventures. I hope that we get to welcome you back again soon!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,433
    907
    179
    61
    34
See reviews for
867
1,462
214
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

What to say about this hotel.. Great location, impeccable service and small enough to not be crowded 24/7.

We stayed here with my younger brother and he loved it as much as we did, staff are consistently polite and will always try to accommodate any requests you have.

Location-wise, its near perfect, plenty of restaurants around and not far at all from Times Square, the concierge is also very helpful when you're trying to plan a special night out.

Whether it's your first visit to NYC or your tenth, its worth at least one visit.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sebi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Sebi A,

We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful time while staying with us in NYC! Thank you for your review and for choosing us as your New York City refuge. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

I booked this because of the reviews on TripAdvisor combined with a great rate I found directly through the hotel's website. First, the positives. The location is fantastic--it's an easy walk to Times Square/theaters, to many restaurants, Rockefeller Center, and several museums. The rooms are immaculate--we booked a Deluxe King--and the staff is very friendly. The woman working at the check-in desk was helpful and when the first room we were given was on the second floor facing a dark wall, she moved us to a higher floor with no problem. Turndown service is also incredibly friendly. Knocking first (some hotels are terrible about this), chocolates for your pillow, and a card noting the next day's weather. Now, the not-so-positives. The room was freezing...the AC was cranked up, but changing the thermostat didn't seem to help. It's also quite dark. Even with all the lamps turned on, it's not too bright in the room. Great if all you need is to sleep, not so great if you need to work. The bathroom, while very clean and boasting luxurious fixtures, is tiny. There isn't a spot to put your toiletries, as the glass shelves are narrow and already contain extra toilet paper and towels. If you have a makeup bag, you'll have to put down the toilet seat and set it there. And a biggie: no plugs in the bathroom. We couldn't believe it and searched high and low, but nothing. If you want to use a heat appliance for your hair, you have to do it in the main room. Overall, I'd give it four out of five stars, because it's clean, safe, and the staff is extremely friendly. Not sure I'd choose it again, though, given the other choices nearby at a similar price point.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Nic B70,

Thank you for staying with us and I am glad you had a good time. We hope that you do come back to stay with us again as we do have a variety of room types and I am sure we can find something that you will fit all of your needs. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croissy Sur Seine
2 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Great location to visit NYC as you even do not need to take the metro. Most of interest are close to the hotel and you can use sightseeing guided tours to see more. The architecture of the hotel is very nice. Definitely a great place to stay and experience mid town.


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Christian M,

Thank you for choosing the Iroquois New York! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you and soon. If you need any assistance arranging your next NYC adventure please don't hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Nice oasis in the hot hectic city. Friendly staff, good service, clean and nice rooms. Stayed in a suite - a little extra in price gives you a lot of extra luxury. I will definitely be back. The hotel is a good choice if you want to stay in that part of town.

Room Tip: Choose a suite - you won´t regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docadhoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear docadhoc,

Thank you for choosing the The Iroquois New York and for taking the time to review our property. I am glad you enjoyed one of our suites and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay even more comfortable please don't hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Hotel in great location and staff is fabulous. Great hotel experience. Check in easy and accommodating. Size makes it a very friendly atmosphere, but they have everything a large hotel offers. Love the newspapers in the library.






  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ilene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear llene S,

Thank you for choosing the Iroquois New York while visiting NYC! I am so pleased that you had such a great experience that the staff were so wonderful throughout your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and if you need any assistance arranging your next NYC adventure please don't hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We arrived early at about 10am after a long flight from Hawaii, followed by an unbelievably long airport transfer from JFK that made several stops in rush hour traffic all over Manhattan which left us regretting our decision not to take a cab as we only saved about $10 so we could not have been more tired on arrival. We were so grateful when reception unexpectedly told us we could check in immediately. Very impressed with that and being able to get a few hours sleep before venturing out into Times Square meaning our first day was not a write off.

Being on our honeymoon they also brought wine and chocolates to the room which was a lovely touch, although I'd forgotten to put the Do Not Disturb button on and as I staggered out of bed to answer the door still half asleep and dressed only in my underpants the poor hotel staff were probably not as impressed with their view as I was with their kind gesture!

The room was very compact but well laid out given the space, the "view" from our window was of an alley outside and the sky was hidden by an enclosed high rise in every direction so you couldn't even tell if it was day or night but it meant the room was very quiet despite being in the middle of all the hustle and bustle. The carpet was a little worn and dated but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean. We'd been warned not to expect too much from NYC hotel rooms but considering the reasonable price and the location of the hotel we were satisfied. We were on the 3rd leg of our honeymoon having visited Vegas and Hawaii so the hotel room was always going to be less extravagant but the point of New York isn't staying in your room anyway.

We booked a Broadway show through the ever helpful concierge Bill and this hotel is the perfect location for the theatre district. We saw Les Mis and my wife enjoyed it but I must admit although I love live comedy, music and entertainment, musical theatre is never going to be my thing. I tried to look for other husbands who'd been dragged along but they all seemed to love it. I swear the guy sat next to me actually cried and they weren't tears of boredom like mine. Maybe it was the $30 dollars you had to pay for double whiskey and coke! Luckily the concierge Bill had more wine sent up to our room free to help us celebrate! Top man.

The hotel is the perfect base to explore Manhattan. We found the subway quite easy to use but to be fair as long as you have a reasonable pair of shoes you could walk around all of NYC and there's so much to see. We spent an entire sunny day in the beautiful (and free) Central Park, went to the top of the Rock for the outstanding views, took in live (and free) musical performances in Greenwich Village, walked the (free again!) High Line, took the (free) Staten Island Ferry to see the Statue of Liberty, visited the humbling 9/11 Memorial and we paid in to the visitor centre which was well worth it and very emotional, and were taken out in New Jersey by friends we'd met in Hawaii for stunning views of the Manhattan cityscape, there's a great bar called Nevada Smith's for the football (soccer!) during the World Cup, just a shame about our England team being a let down as usual, but our favourite night was The Comedy Cellar in Greenwich Village followed by great live music at Cafe Wha. We were so impressed by how much you could do and see that was free like Union Sq or Washington Sq and I will definitely return to NYC.

By the 5th day all I would say is I was a bit over Times Sq. As a first timer in NY I'm glad I experienced the beating heart of Manhattan but after a few days battling the crowds, touts and hustlers I was a bit sick of the area. We found Greenwich Village and the Meatpacking District much more to our liking and will probably try and stay there next time.

If you do want to stay near Times Square though then the Iroquois is a great base at a very reasonable price with nice little complimentary touches like the best tasting, fresh strawberries on the reception desk every morning and iced water garnished with oranges, lemons or cucumbers which was very welcome after another day pounding the city streets!

The lobby area is nice, we didn't go into the bar The Lanterns Keep but it looked a great little hideaway, the rooms are adequate but best of all the staff made our stay great with the early check in, little gifts and helpful advice.

We did come back to an unexpected minibar bill on our credit card that we hadn't signed for and certainly hadn't used $102 worth of items. We think we did use some mini bar but it was a lot more modest figure than what we had been charged. Again though credit to Iroquois, one email to the reception and Jazmin wiped the bill to apologise for the confusion and refunded the credit card. This was above and beyond what we expected and again all credit to them. The "can do", helpful attitude of the staff is certainly the highlight of The Iroquois.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GeordieDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear GeordieDave,

First off, thank you for letting us be a part of your honeymoon and we hope we did everything we could do to make it the best it could be. Secondly, kudos to you for sticking it out through Les Mis for your wife, that's true commitment. I am glad we were able to show you our "can do" attitude and although you may be over the midtown/Times Square hustle and bustle we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 467 in New York City
3,170 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,583 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#62 of 467 in New York City
6,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#79 of 467 in New York City
732 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
2,912 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing