We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Girls getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Iroquois New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #34 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Gorey Co Wexford
1 review
“Girls getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Perfect hotel very near Times Square but far enough from the madness. A large selection of subway stations nearby. Hotel staff very friendly, room although a bit on the small side was perfect. Beds really comfortable. Great diner for breakfast a couple of doors down Red Flame Diner. Will definitely stay again on our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Lorraine H,

We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your "Girls getaway" here at the Iroquois! Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon and if you need anything don't hesitate to call!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,051
    781
    151
    48
    29
See reviews for
703
1,239
182
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The staff at the Iroquois was absolutely fantastic. room was great, the location is great for both business and pleasure. the only disappointment is the fitness center, tiny and not enough of the right equipment for a good workout.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank RobertHCleve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear RobertHCLeve,

Thank you for staying at the Iroquois New York! The staff here at the Iroquois really are the hotels' greatest asset and it's is great to heart that you feel that way too! Being a smaller boutique property we try to offer all major necessities for a good work out in our fitness center but we are limited in terms of space. However, there is a New York Sports club on the block and they do offer discounted day passes for our guests should you need a more extensive facility. We hope to see you again soon and if you need anything please feel free to contact us.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Booked this hotel for my stay after reading the really good reviews it had.The reviews are true to the word. This a great hotel with really good service. Just spent four nights at the hotel and found the staff very helpful, with a special mention to the concierge staff, one in particular is Vanessa who is the font of all knowledge and nothing is too much trouble. Hot coffee on tap in the foyer during the day and a hot cider waiting when you walk in during the evening after a cold March shopping and sightseeing day. This is not a large hotel but the room was good and the bed even better. Never once disturbed or heard any street notice. I would definitely come back to this hotel, it is perfectly located and the service was brilliant.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 6th floor at the rear, we didn't hear any noise at all in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michaela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Michaela S,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are thrilled that we were able live up to all of your expectations! Vanessa is a valued member of the Iroquois team and we are definitely lucky to have her. We look forward to your next visit and if you need anything please don't hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Had a wonderful time staying here this week. The staff could not have done more for us. Everyone was so friendly. The room was pleasant and cosy - and quiet. (We were in 705). The complimentary coffee/hot cider in the foyer was most welcome with subzero temperatures outside, and the doormen were always ready to help us in or out with luggage etc. And we had free WiFi to back up our million photos every evening.

We ate in the restaurant once and the food was pricy but fabulous. I mean fabulous.

The location cannot be beaten - two blocks from Time Square (in British terms - not very far at all!) and Fifth Avenue is at the end of the street half a block away. Walk down Fifth Avenue one way for Rockefeller, and the other way for Empire State, Macy's and the Chrysler Building. Grand Central is nearby and you can get the big red tour bus (recommended!) from Times Square, a ten minute stroll away. For the keener walker, Central Park is not too far up Fifth Avenue, and for the very keen (us!) you could walk right down to the very tip of Manhattan - but better to get the bus or subway! Restaurants all round, a great traditional diner next door but one (Red Flame Diner) and plenty of places for coffee/dinner. It was all happening right there yet the room and hotel felt like a little luxurious world of tranquility.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and for the outstanding service you got I think the price was pretty reasonable too.

Room Tip: Our seventh floor room was quiet - no traffic or street noise at all. Free WiFi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Archsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Archsweet,

We are so pleased to receive such a glowing review from you! Thank you so much for providing your feedback, it is truly appreciated. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return. If you need any assistance arranging your next New York getaway please do not hesitate to contact us.

Many Thanks,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Great hotel, close to everything we wanted to do. Had a great stay. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Would definitely recommend a stay here. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Kim G,

We are so glad the you were able to do everything you wanted to do while you were in New York. That is definitely not and easy task to accomplish. Thank you for your feedback and we can't wait to have you back again soon!

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The hotel was very convenient. Only several blocks to Times Square. A comfortable walk. Hotel restaurant was pricey and limited. Hotel bar was small. Room was very nice. Had a large stain on the carpet. Bed was comfortable. Room was very warm and thermostat did not work. Complained to staff but it was never corrected during our entire stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Jay M,

We want to thank you for staying with us and for providing feedback on your recent stay. I am truly disappointed that your complaint went unresolved and can assure you that we will address this issue with the staff. We hope you will stay with us again so that we can show you what staying at the Iroquois is really all about. Thank you again and if you have any questions or need any assistance in arranging your next New York trip please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We were pleased with this hotel. The staff was friendly and the rooms clean. Our room was quite hot and we had to open a window. The food was very expensive and we didn't buy there. Overall, we recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Dariusz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Dariusz P,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Iroquois New York! We are pleased your enjoyed the hotel and that the staff made you feel comfortable. Although the restaurant may seem a bit pricey, the quality of food and overall dinning experience is extremely comparable to anything in the area of a similar nature. I hope that if you return you do decide to dine with us as well, we would love to show you how great our restaurant really is. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to your next stay!

Best Regards,


John Waechter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,126 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#43 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,643 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,697 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#55 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,759 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 475 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing