We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #41 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great hotel with friendly staff. The room was well-appointed. Washrooms do not have enough shelf space, but that is a manageable situation. Great experience and fantastic location! Comfortable bedding and pillows.



  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Morris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Morris B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay! We greatly appreciate it and hope to see you again soon! If there is anything we can do to assist you in arranging your next trip to NYC please don't hesitate to contact us!

Best Regards,

John Waechter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,803)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,255 - 2,261 of 3,803 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

I truly had a perfect hotel experience at The Iroquois, from beginning to end. And I received some unexpectedly stellar customer service, which I'll get to in a minute. But first, a summary of the hotel experience: it is everything you want in a hotel. The entire staff is professional, friendly, and knowledgeable. We chose an upgraded room this time and it included a proper bathtub, which is quite the luxury for a Manhattan hotel room.The bed was super comfy and luxurious; lots of pillows, which I love. The room was quiet and the lighting was subtle. They offer turn down service in the evenings, leaving chocolate and a weather card on your pillow. Such a nice touch. In the mornings the lobby serves good, strong coffee and in the afternoon they switch to hot cider; so nice to come back to after walking through bustling Times Square. Which brings me to location: The Iroquois is very centrally located, just two blocks away from Times Square and steps away from the theatres where we were seeing Broadway shows. Just perfect.
And now to that bit about customer service that went above and beyond: we had booked our room during a mega Boxing Week sale, pre-paid and non-refundable terms. When I informed the front desk that we'd unexpectedly be leaving early (due to a health issue, which I didn't tell them), they offered me a refund, which was totally unexpected. I couldn't believe that they did this even though I didn't ask them to. I think that experience really sums up The Iroquois; everything and everyone excels above and beyond expectations.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akiko t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear akiko t,

It is such a pleasure to read reviews such as yours and thank you so much for providing your feedback. There is a lot of stiff competition in NYC and we try to do everything we can to exceed our guests expectations. We hope to see you again soon and if there is anything we can do to make your next visit even better please don't hesitate to contact us. :)

Warm Regards,

John Waechter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at the Iroquois for two nights in October 2013. Nice hotel, to be sure, and almost charming, with a quasi old-school mens club feel in the lobby, which we thought was pretty nice. Upgraded room was a bit cramped, and a previous guest's glasses and other items were still in one of the windows. Bed and noise level were both really good, which certainly is a bonus in New York.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WolfeStreetTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Alexandria Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the ambiance in our lobby, that the bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. I will pass along the note in regards to the glasses to the necessary staff to ensure that doesn't happen again, thank you for letting us know. We hope to see you again and if we can assist you in any way to help arrange your next NYC trip please don't hesitate to contact us!

Best Regards,

John Waechter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Fantastic hotel. Very clean and comfortable (and believe me I am very fussy with hotel rooms!). Staff were more like friends than employees. The food was excellent. The hotel was also ideally located for seeing the sights, off Fifth Avenue, 2 blocks from Times Square, 4 blocks south of Rockefeller Centre and 10 blocks north of Empire State Building for example. All in easy walking distance. Gregorys Coffee Shop across the road from the hotel was also a must. We had a Superior Queen room and although some might say its small, we found it perfectly adequate for us, our large cases and numerous shopping bags. The bed was very comfortable and the linens nice and relaxing, not crispy starchy (cosy like home). The Concierge, Vanessa, is an absolute gem. Her local knowledge and helpfulness is second to none. Would easily stay at this hotel again and hope to in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Joanna C,

We are so thankful for your glowing review! Yes, our location is fantastic but your comments in regards to our staff and rooms are very much appreciated. Vanessa is a huge asset to our property and we are lucky to have her. I will pass on your kind words to her as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

John Waechter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Refined and warm service from A to Z and so near everything. Loved it! Great staff, ready to help with any question. Location is excellent and the area is very safe. Rooms clean, and romantic the warm cider at the door is what can I say unusual and superb when it's cold in NYC.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Madeline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Madeline C,

Than you for your glowing review, it is much appreciated and very humbling. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time at the Iroquois and are looking forward to your next visit. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better please feel free to contact us!

Warm Regards,

John Waechter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

great. I wrote everything to the Iroquois. love the location, the staff is wonderful, very helpful. the rooms are nice, spacious. I love this hotel.
think a little more attention to details in the room could be done, but overall a very special place and I look forward to returning many times !

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Alicia B,

Thank you for your kind review! Although the staff and location are definitely two of our most highlighted aspects of our property, we do have a lot of exciting things planned for the rooms as well in the near future. We hope to see you again soon and if you need anything to make your next stay more comfortable please don't be afraid to contact us.

Best Regards,

John Waechter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Great place at NY... It is a small luxary hotel with high quality from the doorman to the housekeeping team, full of great details to the guest... There is a grocery store around the corner open 24 hours

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Jose S,

We want to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! Our team is dedicated to making sure every moment of your stay is as comfortable as possible. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

John Waechter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#15 of 469 in New York City
3,148 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 469 in New York City
6,624 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 469 in New York City
1,082 reviews
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#45 of 469 in New York City
246 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#31 of 469 in New York City
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#37 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $211 - $651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing