We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfy enough rooms but poor ventilation in rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #38 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Marin County
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location, comfy enough rooms but poor ventilation in rooms”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Clean and mostly comfortable room but ventilation problems were not addressed. We stayed for 6 nights and really didn't get relief until day 5 when it rained and the weather changed. I called everyday to request that A/C be turned to a more refreshing setting. Nobody ever followed up with me or addressed my concerns. DIdn't seem like they were trying very hard to make us feel comfortable. Friendly enough staff but any real issues were not addressed in any sort of accountable way. Loved the location. Morning coffee was good. Check in was delayed until after 4pm which was not appreciated by our jet lagged bodies I think the service should have been a little better given the status of "luxury" boutique hotel. Requested a fridge but was discouraged by reception staff. ?? not sure why.

Room Tip: My requests for specifics on room were ignored.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dulcinea2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisHotel, General Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dulcinea2009,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at the Iroquois. I am glad to hear you found our location convenient but I am very disappointed to hear of your overall feedback regarding comfort in your guestroom. Having a comfortable room is a basic amenity and we seemed to have failed to provide this for you during your stay. Your concerns should have been followed up with immediately and I will certainly investigate as to why a follow up call was not made to ensure you were satisfied.
I sincerely apologize for the lack of follow up and would like the opportunity to speak with you regarding your recent stay.
Please contact me at your earliest convenience so we can discuss this further.
Sincerely,
Robert Holmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,434
    907
    179
    61
    34
See reviews for
868
1,462
214
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very nice boutique hotel in a location convenient to all mid-town locations. Staff was very nice and helpful. Room typical size for the price. The bed was very comfortable. Good value for the price. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your new found pledge to us; it is evidence of our dedication to our guests. Your comments regarding our staff and overall experience are a pleasure to hear. We look forward to having you back on your next trip to New York City.

Warm Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

If you're going to call yourself a luxury hotel, then you ought to offer more than a tiny, poorly lighted and airless room overlooking an air shaft (that's the good part, because it was quiet). Granted we got a deal through Booking.com because it was a weekend, and we did get chocolates on our pillows—but the maid had pushed the thermostat to 80, the windows didn't open, the shower was little more than a drizzle, and the mattress had two indentations on either side of a hump covered by a single comforter (either use it and boil or toss it off and be chilled), all for a little over $300. We stay in a lot of NYC hotels—definitely would not go back to this one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jww1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisHotel, General Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Sweetbrook,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear of your overall impression of our guestrooms. We do have windows that open but they do not open fully due to safety regulations. I must admit that this is the first time anyone has mentioned anything negative about our guestroom beds. We have received countless reviews regarding the overall comfort of our beds. I would like to know the room number you stayed in so we can address along with the shower pressure issue...again something we have never received negative feedback on.
I am pleased to say that we are in the process of updating several features of our guestrooms and the most important area we are addressing is lighting.
This is certainly not an accurate representation of the overall guest experience as noted in the many reviews we receive.
I do apologize again and we would like another opportunity to win you as a guest for life at the Iroquois. Please contact me at your convenience so we can discuss a future stay with us and I can personally apologize.
Sincerely,

Robert Holmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miller Place, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and I spent one night at The Iroquois Hotel for her birthday. The reservation process was excellent- they asked for my wife's name- and when we arrived at the hotel the front desk staff wishes her a Happy Birthday and we found a bottle of wine and chocolates in our room.
The room was a modest size with a large bathroom. We were on the 12th floor. The street noise was minimal.
We had dinner in he Triomphe Restaurant. The service was excellent as was the food.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Iroquois New York on your recent trip! It is our pleasure and goal to put a personal touch on each of our guest’s stay and I am happy we were able to make your wife’s birthday a pleasurable one. Your wonderful comments are a joy to hear and pleased you found the staff and Triomphe to be of excellent standard. Thank you once again and we look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you’re in New York City.

Warm Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel was fine but this review is of the Iroquois restaurant, which we visited almost by accident (not having the energy to go out as we usually did). We're delighted that we stayed in and tried the restaurant. The cooking was excellent, clearly produced by a chef who really understands what he's doing and the service was excellent. We both enjoyed excellently cooked fish in interesting sauces. make a point of eating in when staying at the Iroquois!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisS504170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Iroquois New York and your wonderful comments about our restaurant, Triomphe. The French-American cuisine is truly a delight and we’re happy to have had you as a guest. Your kind words are much appreciated, and will be sure to inform Triomphe’s staff. Thank you once again and we look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you stay in New York City.

Warm Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I've been to NYC three times over the past 2 years, staying in a different midtown hotel each time. The next time I go I plan to rebook at the Iroquois. Two blocks from Times Square on one side; two blocks from Grand Central Station on the other. Small room (it is NYC), w/o a view -- but I loved the room. It was clean, looked like it had been recently refurbished and was comfortable. The staff members were uniformly polite and while I was with a friend, it was safe enough for a woman to stay alone. I went to a play on 46th St by myself on Saturday night and walked back to the hotel after with no problem. I would have liked easier access to ice (you had to call room service, but they were prompt), but nothing else bothered me at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rthomp681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for your new found pledge to us; it is evidence of our dedication to our guests. Your comments regarding our staff are a pleasure to hear as we dedicate ourselves to high hospitality standards while putting a personal touch on it. We look forward to your next stay with us and some great new features we’re about to undertake for an even greater enjoyment!

Warm Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Friendly staff, excellent bellmen. the location is very central for subways, theaters and good restaurants. Room was clean and quiet, little traffic noise, bed was fantastic. No real view except into the NY Bar Assoc library :-)
We would definitely return

Room Tip: Check what is happening in NY Rates can really vary
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to New York City! I’m pleased to hear that you took advantage of your great location and you found The Iroquois to be an overall great stay. Your Trip Advisor comments are pleasure to read and thank you for sharing with everyone. We look forward to having you back on your next trip to New York City.

Warm Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 467 in New York City
3,171 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,585 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#62 of 467 in New York City
6,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#79 of 467 in New York City
732 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
2,915 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing