We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great classy hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Iroquois New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #33 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
West Linn, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great classy hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Friendly staff, excellent bellmen. the location is very central for subways, theaters and good restaurants. Room was clean and quiet, little traffic noise, bed was fantastic. No real view except into the NY Bar Assoc library :-)
We would definitely return

Room Tip: Check what is happening in NY Rates can really vary
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to New York City! I’m pleased to hear that you took advantage of your great location and you found The Iroquois to be an overall great stay. Your Trip Advisor comments are pleasure to read and thank you for sharing with everyone. We look forward to having you back on your next trip to New York City.

Warm Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,190
    822
    159
    53
    30
See reviews for
757
1,326
191
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

we found this place on booking.com and read the reviews. great location and staff. the front desk clerk allowed us to check in early which was a great advantage since we were tired from playing tourist all day. the room was large (by NY standards), clean and comfortable. I would stay here again. Actually, the room was positioned that we had an OK view but very quiet and.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fredeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to New York City! I’m very happy to hear our staff made your stay comforting and you were able to check in early. Walking around the city can be taxing and good rest is always needed. Your kind words are much appreciated, thank you once again and we look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you stay in New York City.

Warm Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

It's been awhile since I've been back to the Iroquois as I try to save money every time I go to NYC. I thought that I was going to have trouble getting a room the same day of travel but I was lucky and spoke to Patrick. He was so helpful and recognized my loyalty. He gave me a reasonable rate and a beautiful room. This stay was as good, if not better than my last. The room was clean and beautiful, the staff was great and the service was excellent. I would stay here every time I go to NYC. My favorite hotel by far!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Your commitment to us is a testament to our dedication for our guests. I’m very happy Patrick was able to assist you with your same day reservation! We are always working to raise our standards of service, amenities and décor. We look forward to your next stay with us and some great new features we’re about to undertake for an even greater enjoyment!

Warm Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
173 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Iroquois is in a great location for shows and shopping. The rooms are nice sized by New York standards, reasonably priced, clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We had a quiet room on an upper floor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kgs1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to New York City! I’m pleased to hear that you took advantage of your great location and you found The Iroquois to be an overall great stay. We look forward to having you back on your next trip to New York City.

Warm Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Thanks to all the friendly staff during our 3 day stay in the city. Bill, you are awesome! Comfortable rooms, great location, competitive pricing and friendly. Was here for a special birthday as well as a bit of business. Perfect for both!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank n2dzine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to New York City! I’m very happy to hear Bill and the rest of our staff were able to make your birthday a special way, even while squeezing in some work time. Your kind words are much appreciated, thank you once again and we look forward to you coming back to us the next time you stay in New York City.

Warm Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Mom and I went for a girls weekend to NYC as we do every year. This year we chose the Iroquois and were not disappointed! The room size was good for NYC. Location was ideal as we were close to Times Square, Rockefeller Center and the Theatre District. The concierge who helped us with our dinner recommendations even sent two glasses of prosecco with our dessert - we were very impressed! Would come back to stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mapelprup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at The Iroquois New York! It's great to hear you and your mom enjoyed your girls’ weekend in the city and taking advantage of our central location seeing sites around town. Our concierge enjoys taking that extra step to personalize your stay and making it a memorable one and hopefully we will see you again on your next visit back to New York City!

Best Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed here with my fiancé. We were impressed by the awesome location, you can walk to Times Square about a block. Very beautiful, nice and clean. The room was super quiet which I was surprised by considering the location at how quiet it was. Our view wasn't good but we weren't expecting a good view, our window faced a brick building. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Two things I do have to say that aren't the best, but wouldn't keep me from booking there again is that there was not inroom coffee and the robes weren't very soft. They are very nice robes, I even bought one, but I think at home I'll use fabric softener.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artistv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Iroquois New York! We’re very happy to hear you and you fiancé enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our central location being so close to it all but yet quiet enough for a great night’s sleep. I’m sorry you were disappointed regarding the coffee and the texture of the robe. I do hope you able to take advantage of our complimentary coffee station in the lobby and after a washing, your new robe should loosen up a bit. We hope you will join us again on your next trip back to New York City!

Best Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#51 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,761 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#59 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,979 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,986 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#14 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#28 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing