We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Iroquois, but bring earplugs or get an inside room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #37 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We just returned from a weekend at the Iroquois, our first time there. I go to NYC two or three times a year and like trying different smaller hotels. We had a very nice one bedroom suite on the 6th floor, facing 44th St. I have to agree with other posters that the rooms facing the street are quite noisy at night. My husband never travels without a couple pairs of earplugs and we both needed them. However, that's my only complaint about the hotel. The beds were very comfortable, the linens, towels and toiletries top quality. I appreciate the free wifi, which should be standard in any 3 or 4 star hotel but isn't in NYC. Finally, I think the Iroquois staff is one of the best we've encountered in NYC, uniformly excellent. Aside from the noise issues, which can be remedied with earplugs or an inside room, I highly recommend the Iroquois.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, choose an inside room or bring earplugs! Rooms facing 44th St are no...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amaklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Iroquois New York! Your feedback is much appreciated and I’m sorry to hear you had problems with the street noise levels at night. I know that can be a frustrating experience, but it sounds like you’re a savvy NYC traveler and a prepared one at that. I’m happy to hear that your overall experience with us was an enjoyable one and you found comfort with our in room amenities, complimentary Wi-Fi and speak so highly of our staff. We pride ourselves on giving the best quality service possible. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you’re in New York.

Best Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,678)
There are newer reviews for The Iroquois New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,256 - 2,262 of 3,678 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

We visited The Iroquois almost 3 years ago for new year.

This was our first trip to New York and generally we were not disappointed with The Iroquois.

The location of this hotel is fantastic, not far from Broadway etc.

The staff were very accomodating and were quick to sort theatre tickets for us.

The room we had was very nice and although there was no view etc, it had a feel of a smaller friendly hotel.

The only issue that we did have was that when we cisited it was consistantly below zero outside and the warm air heating in our room was inconsistant. It took a couple of prompts to resolve bu they fixed it in the end.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamandPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Iroquois New York! What a great first time trip to NYC! Being here during the holiday season is something special, particularly New Year’s with us being so close to Times Square as well as the Theater District. It’s a pleasure to have been part of that and knowing our staff was able to put a personal touch on your stay. I’m sorry you had problems with the heating in your room, I know it can get quite cold here in the winter months but mores so, I’m happy to hear it was corrected. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you’re in New York.

Best Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was our first trip to New York and we found the Iroquois to be in an excellent location as it's right in the heart of Manhattan and therefore convenient for getting to the main tourist sites. The room was fairly small but I believe this is the norm for New York. However it was very clean with comfy beds and a lovely bathroom. The staff were friendly and the concierge was very helpful. Overall I would recommend this hotel if you're looking for reasonably priced accommodation in a great location.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisMD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Iroquois New York! It’s a delight to hear your kind words regarding our staff as it is our pleasure to offer you the best service possible. We’re happy your first stay in NYC was a pleasurable one by taking full advantage of our location making it convenient to get around the city. Good rest is much needed when touring the city and we’re glad we were able to provide that. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for recommending our hotel and services. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you’re in New York.

Best Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel is a small nicely decorated hotel in a good central location on 44th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues. We had a suite which meant it was very spacious and there was a fridge/minibar. There was no coffee/tea facilities however (not unusual in NYC). There was free wifi which was a bonus. The bathroom was oddly small for a suite. The reception staff were friendly and efficient and the concierge helpful when there (it appeared to be closed quite a lot). The one major gripe however was the noise. Not from other rooms which appear to be well insulated from each other, but from the street. We were on the 11th of 12 floors but still the noise from sirens/horns etc was quite intrusive. Presumably this historic building is not allowed double glazing! For that reason alone it is unlikely we would make a return visit. If you are a heavy sleeper however it would not be an issue.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Iroquois New York! I’m sorry to hear your sleep was disturbed by the street noise and understand how that can affect your stay. We appreciate your feedback and if there is anything I can do to assist you, possibly reserving a room that is not overlooking the street, it would be a pleasure having you back. You may contact me directly if so desired. We're happy to hear your kind words about our staff. We pride ourselves on offering the best possible service. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you’re in New York.

Best Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is very nicely decorated with good sized rooms & bathrooms, spoilt slightly by the ugly view of the brick wall of another building close by; which made the room very dark. This was not helped by the lighting which is provided only by lamps & one of them wasn't working so you had to go into the bathroom to see properly to apply any make-up.

No tea & coffee making facilities in the room; I enquired & was told it was not allowed & that morning coffee was served free in the lobby. Also free internet access which was handy to check the emails whilst drinking my coffee.

I didn't eat in the hotel so can't review the food. Nearby are plenty of coffee shops open for breakfast from 6am which was handy as coffee isn't served until 7.30am in the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a road view the room maybe lighter?
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Iroquois New York! We appreciate your feedback and knowing our guests desires helps us provide the best experience during your stay. I’m sorry that your room was dimly lit and if brought to our attention during your stay was corrected with an additional light source. We're happy you enjoyed the comfort of your room, amenities we provide and your overall stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you’re in New York.

Best Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at the Iroquois while attending a wedding in Midtown. It was ideal. Rooms were small - but hey, this is Manhattan - but very comfortable and quiet. Staff were charming and helpful. This is walking distance to Fifth Ave, theaters, Rockefeller Center and two major subway stations -- Bryant Park and Grand Central. The Algonquin is next door (where Martinis are $22) but reasonably priced restaurants abound and there is a good diner for breakfast just a few doors away. Unfortunately, the bar at the hotel was closed for renovations, depriving our group of a convenient gathering spot, but we worked around it. I have stayed at a number of midtown hotels over the years and I'd go back to The Iroquois.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Opinion8ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Iroquois New York! We're happy you enjoyed your stay and took full advantage of our central location enabling yourselves to move about the city with ease. Sorry for the inconvenience regarding our food and beverage establishments, however we like to keep our facilities up to the standards our guests have come to know and enjoy. We hope you choose to visit us again on your next trip to New York City and stopover at our Triomphe Restaurant, and cocktail salon, Lantern's Keep!

Best Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My adult daughter and I have just returned from a four-day, three-night "girls' trip" to NYC. I used to work at the Rolex Tower, one week a month from Toronto and, on business, would stay at the St. Regis. I confess to have been badly spoiled. On personal trips over the last few years, I have travelled without an expense account and stayed at various hotels in Midtown; however, none has been entirely desirable ... until now! I received a notice from Asia Miles that Small Luxury Hotels have joined the awards program. There was an introductory offer that included bonus miles plus a first-time upgrade. Decided to give it a try at The Iroquois.

What a terrific find! Located on 44th West, between 5th and 6th, it is within a five-minute walk of Times Square, the Theatre District, The Avenue, and shopping on 5th. Our room on the 9th floor faced to the back of the hotel and was wonderfully quiet. We went out daily, from 8 am to Midnight, so view was not important; not hearing the garbage trucks all night was most appreciated.

Lovely Frette Italian linens, Moulton Brown comestibles, deliciously comfortable beds with big puffy duvets and deep pillows, evening turndown service, morning newspaper. Non smoking room was fastidiously clean and odour-free. Complimentary morning coffee in the lobby, to take into the front lounge, and enjoy with the newspaper. Computers available; there is also free wifi throughout the hotel. Lovely front desk, door and concierge staff.

We were not able to get a complimentary upgrade for two separate beds (two doubles in a room are the maximum size available); instead, we were gifted with a bottle of wine and a box of truffles.

This hotel is in a "vintage" row with most buildings dating back to the late 1800s. There are historic plaques on the building fronts that provide architectural details. Also, the street was home to the literati (playwrights, critics, writers, actors and social gossips) of the 1920's: Hemingway, Faulkner, the Marx Brothers. Fascinating history.

New York has become quite an expensive city in the past five years, even more so than London and Paris. The Iroquois is comparable in price to the Hilton Garden Chelsea but oozes charm, class and amenities far beyond.

We'll be back at the first possible opportunity! Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Iroquois New York! We're a proud member of SLH and pride ourselves on service and it gives us great pleasure knowing you have hopefully found your new destination in NYC! It's nice to hear you enjoyed our comfy Simmons Beautyrest mattresses and bright white Frette linens along with all of our other amenities. It sounds like you and your daughter had an amazing birthday stay in New York and we can't wait to have you again on your next trip to New York City!

Best Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
3,666 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#63 of 468 in New York City
3,223 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 468 in New York City
3,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#103 of 468 in New York City
791 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#60 of 468 in New York City
6,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $248 - $605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing