We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but perfectly formed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #40 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Portballintrae, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a wonderfully located boutique hotel that has everything you need for a great trip to New York City. The bedrooms while small or extremely comfortable and the beds guarantee a great night sleep. Ask for a room facing inwards..you wont have a view but there will also be no noise. Staff very helpful and there is free wifi and free use of computers and printers off the lobby

Room Tip: Go for one on the inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at The Iroquois New York! Your kind words are a pleasure to hear and will be shared with our staff. We're happy you enjoyed the comfort of your room, amenities we provide and your overall stay with us. We hope you chose to visit us again on your next trip to New York City!

Best Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,399
    902
    179
    61
    33
See reviews for
855
1,445
214
436
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We chose this hotel on the basis of its position - a quiet street but centrally located. Our room was small - we had expected this - and had no view, just the fire escape - but this was a bonus as it meant it was very quiet, with no street noise at all. Our bed was so comfortable and we slept well every night. Nice toiletries were provided. The hotel was immaculately clean, the staff were friendly and helpful and the chilled water available on arrival back at the hotel after long days sight seeing was always very welcome. We enjoyed being close to Bryant Park - this is the most lovely place to visit any time of day, always vibrant, with music, yoga, film screenings, people working, reading, relaxing - a fantastic area which provided the opportunity to relax and enjoy the sunshine between all the sight seeing and walking. A good place to eat nearby is LT Burger - quieter and with more emphasis on the quality of the food served than some other restaurants nearby. This is a lovely hotel and we will definitely stay here again if we come back to New York.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmh1157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at The Iroquois New York! It's great to hear you enjoyed our central location and were able to advantage visiting our local merchants and parks. We will be sure to share your kind words with our staff and happy you enjoyed the amenities we provide. We look forward to your next visit back to The Iroquois New York and New York City!

Best Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagoya
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here happily for the 2nd time but this time in a suite. It was a major increase in space, approx double the area with a comfortable lounge area and a larger bathroom - tons of room for 3 people. The only negatives were the dim lighting (why don't hotels offer at least one or two brightly lit areas?), the sofa bed mattress which is fine for a night or two but pales in comparison to the amazing beds, the lack of powerpoints, and the very tight width of the shower entrance (although there is also a very accessible bath provided). As in their other rooms the bathroom still lacks shelf space. Also front-facing rooms - I believe all suites do - get some street noise (even in the 11th floor suite). But the central location is head to beat in mid-town.

Room Tip: Light sleepers should request a room away from the street but need to be aware that the views will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nagoyafrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at The Iroquois New York! We're very happy you enjoyed our suite and the space it provided as an alternative to the room with double beds on your previous stay. I'm glad you able to take advantage of our central location and we hope you choose to visit us again on your next trip back to New York City.

Best Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great Location
Great Price
Great Staff
Great View
Cozy (i.e. small like anything in NYC) but comfortable room
Wouldn't change a thing!
(This line is filler to meet 200 character review minimum:xxxxxxx)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AP-OSMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at The Iroquois New York! We're very happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope you choose to visit us again on your next trip back to New York City.

Best Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Service is great, very clean and well located in the best part of midtown: 44th and 6th. Not too far away from Times Square and the theater district, but far enough to avoid the hustle and bustle. The service is impecable and the rooms very clean. I always stay when I am on business, but would come here anytime with my family. And I'm coming back for more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachmom0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and staying with us at The Iroquois New York! We're happy to hear that our service and standards continues to bring you back to us. We look forward to providing you the same quality service for your future stays.

Best Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrow, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Every member of the staff went above and beyond what was expected to make sure that our stay was memorable. The room was nicely appointed with plenty of towels and the linens/towels were changed on a regular basis. A nice, quiet place to relax after a full day of sightseeing and activities. Conveniently located to all that you need to see in this part of the city. We were in NYC for our Son's wedding and our stay was part of a memorable 4 days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Assistant Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at The Iroquois New York! We're very happy we were able to be a memorable part of your son's birthday! It sounds like you were able to take advantage of NYC our central location and hope that you choose to visit us again on your next trip back to New York.

Best Regards,

Roger Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Iroquois is situated between 5th and 6th Avenues and two blocks from Grand Central station. The midtown location was fantastic. Close to subway and Times Square. Easy to walk to major shops and sights. This was a fabulous hotel to stay at. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The rooms were clean and quiet, and the beds were very comfortable. I would stay at this hotel in the future. Very impressed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasvindar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while you were in New York City! I’m happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and the assistance of our staff. Please come see us again when you are in New York City.

Warm Regards,

Kelli Phillips
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#66 of 468 in New York City
6,371 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,550 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#76 of 468 in New York City
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,850 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#57 of 468 in New York City
3,158 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 468 in New York City
3,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#36 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing