We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #40 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Memorable Holiday”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I've often passed by The Iroquois hotel each time I visit NYC. I've stayed at the nice hotel beside it several times and often appreciated how The Iroquois would generously share their business center's computer each time the other hotel's system had problems. This time, I decided to try them out and spent 11 days with them last December. It was a wonderful stay, to say the least. The front desk personnel were friendly, warm, and very accommodating, particularly their Filipino night manager. The rooms were comfortably spacious by New York City standards and the refurbished hotel's feel was homey and inviting. When there was a slight problem with the elevator, they looked me up and I received a box of chocolates and personal letter from the Manager granting me a suite upgrade on my next stay (which I plan to use when I return this coming December). This was a hotel who looked after you, and made sure to anticipate your needs. And the midtown location can't be beat, right at the heart of where the action is, yet secure and quite peaceful.

Room Tip: Advanced bookings help, as the hotel is often booked year-round due to it's excellent location a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSMM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your compliments and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor! I'm sorry to hear that you encountered an issue with our elevator through out your stay, but I am glad we were able to take swift action in resolving it. It's a pleasure to hear our staff was of assistance in helping to provide you with a comfortable stay. We look forward to welcoming you in again the future!


Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,399
    902
    179
    61
    33
See reviews for
855
1,445
214
436
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thomasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had stayed here a few years ago and liked it so was pleased to find it was still a top-notch venue. It is very convenient to Times Square, Bryant Park, Grand Central Terminal, Broadway, subway stops and many great restaurants. We had an executive suite and it was large by New York standards. The bed is probably the most comfortable hotel bed I've slept on. All the staff from the front desk to the doorman were courteous and helpful. We had a little trouble with the cooling of the room the first night but they rectified the problem in short order. They were going to move us to another room if we were not satisfied. The cost was in line with hotels in that area. Being down 44th reduces the noise level considerably. Although you don't get much road noise, you may want to request a room off the road but it's really not an issue as the front rooms seem to be very well sound proofed. Will be back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room up high and off 44th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I will like to thank you for taking your time to share your words with the trip adivsor community. I would like to apologize for being uncomfortable on your first, but delighted we were able to resolve the matter in a short period of time. We take in great pride in our customer service, and it's an absolute pleasure to hear that we were able to treat you so well and provide you with a memorable stay! We look forward to welcoming you in again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Staying here for 4 nights, close to Times Square but far enough away to be peaceful! Very clean hotel, rooms cleaned immaculately every day. Chilled water and morning coffee an advantage as are the Molton brown toiletries and chocolate each night! Would definitely recommend this hotel to first time visitors to NYC!:)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latte225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I will like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Iroquois over the various hotels in New York City. I'm pleased you found our property comfortable and convenient. I am glad you were able to enjoy your stay as well as our amenities! We hope to welcome you in again in the future.


Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Have stayed in several mid-town Manhatten hotels....The Iroquois is in the top two (with the Intercontinental.) The Iroquois is closer to Times Square, however. Rooms were the cleanest we've seen, staff was really friendly....new me by name; concierge staff was friendly and helpful. Great coffee shop across the street and Bryant Park and subway are about 3 blocks' walk. REALLY quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view....we could see the Chrysler Building....from our closet window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuAnn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your kind complements of our staff. They are very appreciative of your words. It is a pleasure to hear that you benefited from the location as well. We hope to welcome you in again in your future trip to New York.



Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Checkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Iroquois is a relaxing and elegant hotel in busy New York. The location is ideal, as there are so many interesting restaurants and sights close by. A short stroll from Broadway, Grand Central Station, Byrant Park and the Public Library. Away from the hustle and bustle. The restaurant and bar were first class. A fabulous pre dinner drink in the elegant bar followed by a great meal. The breakfasts are great, non stop coffee. All the staff were professional, friendly and helpful. We loved the chocolate and weather forecast when the beds were turned down at night. A lovely touch. We can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are small but it is New York. The rooms and bathrooms are kept clean and tidy. The beds are co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were in New York City and thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. Your compliments of our staff are most appreciated and I am pleased to hear you had an ever so enjoyable stay with us! We hope to see you again on a future visit to New York.


Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This charming boutique hotel is in a great loaction. It's within walking distance of Time Square, Broadway, Rockfeller Center and more. Our room was very clean and all of the hotel staff were very attentive and helpful. The bed was very confortable. The rate for the location was reasonable. I would definetly recommend the hotel and stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaTheRedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I'm delighted our property suited your needs for your stay in New York and that our staff were able to provide you with such an enjoyable experience, it truly a pleasure . We appreciate your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Thanks tripadvisor friends for telling us about The Iroquois Hotel! This was our home for the past 5 days and it was PERFECT for our first trip to New York! 2 blocks from Times Square, 3-5 blocks from both musicals we attended, 3 blocks from Grand Central Station and the shops on 5th Avenue, close to the subway, 5 blocks from the tour we loved (1/2 on bus, 1/2 on boat) called See It All New York from On Board Tours, etc. Loved Hotel Staff Vanessa who helped with directions and advice and Rocky the bellman who was pleasant and helpful. The room was bigger than I expected after reading what others had said. Perfect for a Mother, Daughter and Grandaughter!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iowadutchgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your review on trip advisor. It's a pleasure to hear such feedback and I am glad to hear our staff were able to provide you with a pleasant stay. I will be delighted to pass on your kind words to Rocky and Vanessa it will surely brighten up their day. We hope to welcome you back soon!


Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#66 of 468 in New York City
6,370 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,550 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#76 of 468 in New York City
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,849 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#57 of 468 in New York City
3,158 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 468 in New York City
3,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#36 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing