We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Calm Amongst The Hustle & Bustle of NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #41 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Mahwah, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Calm Amongst The Hustle & Bustle of NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Iroquois is perfectly situated. Walking distance to Broadway and great NYC restaurants. Otherwise, the door man haled us a cab for everything else. Our stay was WONDERFUL! The staff was very attentive and pleasant, concierge took care of our dinner reservations and even recommended two places that were awesome. Our room was beautiful and clean. The Hotel is tastefully decorated. I loved it. It was nice to be in the middle of it all then have a clean, comfy hotel to go back to and relax. One of the best places I have stayed in the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeG03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
I'm delighted to hear that you found our location a convenience during your stay. We would like to thank you for your compliments of our hotel and staff. It was great to hear our concierge was able to provide you with exceptional service throughout your stay to make your stay that much more enjoyable. We look foward to welcoming you again in the future.



Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,346
    882
    174
    59
    32
See reviews for
833
1,417
209
421
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Hotel Staff are great, The rooms are a nice size and Comfy. The Bathrooms are great too very clean and nicely decorated.
The turn down service and chocolates on our pillows was a very nice touch!
The only negative was that on our last day the corridor of the floor we were on was being wallpapered very early and we were woken before nine by the noise of it, that was quite annoying as we had a flight that evening and wanted to get a good sleep, we were not warned or made aware by the hotel that this work would be happening which we did not appreciate especially at the price you pay for it.

overall though it was a nice hotel with good staff but was just let down by the lack of communication about the work that was being done and also being woken up by the workmen!

Room Tip: room 705 was the room we stayed in it was at the back of the hotel so it was very quiet-no street no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shauna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. Having our guests feedback is an excellent tool to better our service as well as the overall guest experience. It is certainly a disappointment when our guests do not have the experience that we hoped for. I would like to extend my apologies that we did fall short on not infroming you properly on the wall paper construction we had on your floor.
If you do choose to give us the opportunity to make this up to you in the future please feel free to contact me directly, we hope to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,

Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bethesda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Lovely midtown property. Friendly, knowledgeable staff from front desk, to doormen, concierge, etc. They all understand customer service. Loved my deluxe king with Ferette bedding and upscale amenities. Room was spotless. Really appreciated the daily NY Times delivery. Room service breakfast arrived promptly and was delicious. Over the years, business travel resulted in stays at large convention hotels in NYC. Now, I prefer smaller properties. I will definitely return to The Iroquois. The outstanding accommodations and service are incomparable.

Room Tip: Deluxe King, at the end of the hall, was very quiet. Slept very well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at The Iroquois on Trip Advisor. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel with our staff and the wonderful service they provided. We hope to welcome you in again in the future!



Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft
Level Contributor
208 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We just spent four nights at the Iroquois and were very impressed both by the hotel and its position. The hotel is quite small and has a friendly feel to it and all the staff we came in contact with were very welcoming and helpful. Our room was a King with one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept on, and the bathroom was also very good. The concierge Mark gave us lots of good recommendations for places to eat, all of which were excellent.
By booking through SLH we got a really good room rate and an upgrade. Overall I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Manhattan and we will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: Room 410 is roomy and looks over the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireofDelft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. Our concierge Mark and our staff are very appreciative of your compliments. We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for sharing your experience!



Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just returned from a five night stay at the Iroquois. We had an executive suite for our family of four. The hotel was very accomodating with a last minute change in our plans due to weather-related flight cancelations. Everyone was very friendly and went out of their way to help with whatever we needed. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the bathroom had a separate shower from the tub which we very much prefer. The bed was very comfortable for us and the sofa bed in the living room accomodated our children well. The room was very clean and all of the furnishings were in good shape. Concierge was very helpful arranging a few special things in advance and helping with recommendations during our stay. Bellman was also very friendly and helpful. I evaluated many properties before settling on the Iroquois and felt it was the best combination of quality, value and location for us. Best things for us: great location in NYC, plenty of room in the suite, cleanliness, comfortable bed, upscale feel. On the downside: no coffee maker in room (not a big deal for us, but might be for some -- free coffee/cider in the lobby daily), must order ice from room service, limited shelf/counter space in bathroom, quite a bit of street noise (we were on 4th floor; our sound machine helped to block some of the noise, but not all).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravelMXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your compliments and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor! I'm sorry to hear that you couldn't find a coffee maker in the room. Due to certain circumstances and fire safety rules we cant place coffee makers in the rooms. I am happy that you were able to take advantage of our complementary coffee in the lobby in the morning and our hot apple cider through out the day. It's a pleasure to hear our staff was of assistance in helping to provide you and your family with a comfortable stay. We hope to welcome you in again the future!


Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from our second stay at the wonderful Iroquois. All the positive reviews before mine are 100% accurate. The location can't be beat, the beds are to die for and the staff is most welcoming, friendly and helpful. We will never stay anywhere else in NYC again! Thanks Iroquois!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking your time and sharing your comments on the Trip Advisor community. It's absolutely wonderful to hear guest's feedback such as this! It's a honor to hear we were able to provide you with yet another enjoyable exprience at our property. We look forward to welcoming you again!

Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The positives: Clean, comfortable, very good value, uniformly friendly and informed staff, location, free: internet, ny times, wsj, and usa today.

The not positives: The gym (though free). The gym is too small, too warm, and has very limited devices and free weights (none over 25lbs). Both days I was there the TVs wouldn't turn on (multiple guests tried) and one of two treadmills wouldn't work.

Tea and coffee in lobby would be nice.

Recommend reserving their largest room or suite. Rooms are not large.

We didnt use restaurants, but many very good places are very close, as are many coffee places. Top shopping, theater, music all within walking distance.

Room Tip: Resrve the largest available or a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank insights100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your room as well as the hospitality of our staff. I do greatly apologize for the fitness center not being adequate to your needs. We will take into consideration the various inputs you have mentioned to better our service, which is greatly appreciated. Thankfully we have tested the tvs and remotes inside of our fitness center, alongside our treadmill, and they've been placed back in to working order. Once again thank you for taking your time and sharing your experience with us, we hope to welcome you in again in the future.


Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,454 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,313 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#34 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing