We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the heart of Manhatten”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #43 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Perfect location for sightseeing. 2 blocks from Time Square but quiet enough to offer a respite from the noise and bustle of the city . Room was spot less . Beds were v comfortable and a welcome resting place after a day pounding the streets of New York. Staff friendly and helpful.
No kettle in the room but in the lobby they offer free coffee in the mornings and hot apple tea in the afternoon.
We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant or bar as the city was just outside the door.
All NYC hotels are on the dear side but felt this was an excellent choice. Would highly recommend this and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in New York and thank you for sharing your experience. Such reviews are a great help in bettering our service and our property. Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you again in the future

Warm Regards,

Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,841)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,577 - 2,583 of 3,841 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

I was in New York on business (which I frequently am) and decided to stay at The Iroquois and enjoy the theater one night. Staff could not have been better and friendly. Location was perfect. Comfy bed and robe. Will be back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanBoydMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for your mention on the trip advisor community it is always a pleasure to hear feedback from our guests. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, property, and our staff. We hope when your back for busniess in New York we can welcome you back!


Warm Regards
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Me and my Fiancée came to New York for the first time for Valentines 2013.

I chose The Iroquois based on what other travellers had said about it's cleanliness and friendly service (based on a bad hotel experience at Tenerife last year) and the reviews we read we read weren't wrong!

Location:
This was one of the most important aspects of the hotel for us as we knew how big New York was so we needed it to be in an ideal location.

When booking, it stated the hotel was very close to Times Square which we'd been told would be a perfect spot. The hotel was in the middle of Broadway (which would have been noisy) but was in the best place we could have asked - it was two blocks (a ten minute walk) from Broadway which was great as it meant we weren't too close to noise, butt was not too far away, all you could ask for was within walking distance.

Staff:
All the staff at the hotel were absolutely brilliant, really friendly and very helpful.
Every morning we went to Vanessa at the concierge desk who gave us maps, directions, and recommendations for places to go such as restaurants and attractions, and always explained the easiest and cheapest way to get to these.

The reception staff were also very helpful, and the doorman helped us with our bags, and flagged us taxis when we needed them.

Room:
The room was perfect for us, although there was a mix up where we ended up with two double beds (not that this was a problem).

It was always very clean each day with fresh bed sheets and towels. The cleaner always left a cute little bag with the NY Times newspaper on the door handle each day, chocolates on our pillow, and a card with the following days weather forecast. The beds were really comfy and we had a great nights sleep. It offered a 32 inch TV, a Blu Ray player (American region DVDs only), a bath with shower function, and a long built in wardrobe.

We didn't try the restaurant due to the prices being a bit high, and the mini bar was very pricey ($4 for a small diet coke) which were the only downfalls but didn't spoil anything.

Overall, we were both both very satisfied with the hotel, and we would definitely come back and stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want cheaper drinks in your room, go to the nearest convenience store (not on 5th Ave, still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Contentbycraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor. It's a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your room and everything was to your satisfactory needs. We hope to see you in the future and thank you again!

Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Iroquois. The room was clean and not tired at all. We were on the 12th floor overlooking 44th street and never heard street noise. The staff was very friendly. My only slight complaint was the service...I had to call downstairs for ice twice on two different occasions. They must have been busy but it was frustrating. Also, the front desk seemed to be understaffed on a few occasions and confused by a mistake (theirs not mine) on my reservation, etc. These problems were minor, but they kept me from giving the hotel 5 stars. If I was given the same deal on the price, I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DallasTravelingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay at The Iroquois. I’m pleased that you enjoyed the room as well as our friendly service, however I’m disappointed to hear of the issues you mentioned in regards to your reservation and ice delivery. Trust that these issues will be addressed however if you would like to contact me directly to describe the issue you experienced with your reservation I would love to hear from you. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Kelli Phillips
Front Office Manager
Kphillips@iroquoisny.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I came to NYC for our very first visit to the city and was extremely happy with The Iroquois. Everyone from Patrick from the Front Desk who went above and beyond to ensure an early check in even though they were sold out that day, JJ the Bellman who assisted us nightly with taxi service and ice service, Veronica (I believe that was her name) at the Concierge Desk who assisted us in guiding us through the city, Ling and the others in Housekeeping who made our room lovely on a daily and nightly basis, with fresh linens/robes, and chocolates. The room was very quaint, but was all we needed as a couple. Great location in the city, close to Times Square, Central Park, Rockefellar Center; etc. When we return to NYC for future visits, we plan on staying with The Iroquois! Thank you for your outstanding services.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMcGlumphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

I will like to thank you for taking your time to share your kind words with the trip adivsor community. We take in great pride in our customer service, and it's an absolute pleasure to hear that we were able to treat you so well on your first visit to New York City!! I will make sure to pass on your compliments to the rest of the our staff, it will surely brighten up their day!. We hope to welcome you in again in the future.



Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel is maimum 3 stars at most (thanks to comfortable bed). Staff were unhelpful and rude - too busy chatting to each other. This is a very old hotel, with ancient lifts, old carpets and absolute no attention to detail.
We have stayed in Small Luxury Hotel group hotels in europe in the past, so when we saw this hotel, we expected the same level of service, surroundings and attention to detail. How wrong we were. We will not be using SLH brand as a stamp of luxury or quality from now on!
Please review your bills carefully on departure, as they are ready to charge you for anything and everything... e.g. water which is meant to be complimentary is $9.50...even the random collection of molton brown soap, shower gel, body lotion (all different scents) is an example of carelessness.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank passion4hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisHotel, General Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at the Iroquois. I am truly disappointed to hear of your overall experience and this is certainly not an accurate representation of the level of service we strive to provide here as evident by the many reviews on this site regarding our great service. We are looking into the scents of our amenities but Molton Brown is one of the highest regarded amenity lines a hotel can offer.
I am pleased to inform you that we are approximately 75% complete with our hallway renovation. We are replacing all of the carpet along with wainscoting and new artwork and the new design is fantastic. We look forward to another opportunity to win you as an Iroquois guest for life. Please contact us prior to your next trip to NYC so we can ensure we exceed your expectations.
Sincerely,
Robert Holmes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

You are welcomed from the minute you step in by the friendly doormen..(Rocky has a big smile!) Patrick at the front desk was lovely, made us feel right at home... Rooms are small but very well maintained. The linens are great quality and the beds were super comfortable. Our room was in the back so there was no street noise. Wifi is free. Concierge..Vanessa and Mark both went out of their way to help us get home.We were there for the blizzard (Feb 2013) and they spent over an hour calling the airline for us on 2 different days to get us re booked...it was a lifesaver..coffee or hot cider in the lobby..all day. Free DVDs at the front desk are available to watch in your room..nice little touches all over. Bottom line, this is a beautiful boutique hotel with service that makes you feel you are definitely more than just a number.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the street so it will be quiet..may not want to be up too high because of spotty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for submitting your review on trip advisor. It's a pleasure to hear such kind feedback and I'm pleased that we could accommodate you during the snow storm. I am glad to hear our staff were able to be of assistance during your stay, its wonderful knowing our guest are taking advantage of our free amenities as well. We hope to welcome you back soon!


Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 470 in New York City
3,183 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#69 of 470 in New York City
6,659 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 470 in New York City
3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#42 of 470 in New York City
258 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 470 in New York City
434 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#14 of 470 in New York City
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#38 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $193 - $644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing