We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Iroquois New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #38 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Iroquois. The room was clean and not tired at all. We were on the 12th floor overlooking 44th street and never heard street noise. The staff was very friendly. My only slight complaint was the service...I had to call downstairs for ice twice on two different occasions. They must have been busy but it was frustrating. Also, the front desk seemed to be understaffed on a few occasions and confused by a mistake (theirs not mine) on my reservation, etc. These problems were minor, but they kept me from giving the hotel 5 stars. If I was given the same deal on the price, I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasTravelingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay at The Iroquois. I’m pleased that you enjoyed the room as well as our friendly service, however I’m disappointed to hear of the issues you mentioned in regards to your reservation and ice delivery. Trust that these issues will be addressed however if you would like to contact me directly to describe the issue you experienced with your reservation I would love to hear from you. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Kelli Phillips
Front Office Manager
Kphillips@iroquoisny.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,320
    868
    168
    57
    31
See reviews for
813
1,402
206
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I came to NYC for our very first visit to the city and was extremely happy with The Iroquois. Everyone from Patrick from the Front Desk who went above and beyond to ensure an early check in even though they were sold out that day, JJ the Bellman who assisted us nightly with taxi service and ice service, Veronica (I believe that was her name) at the Concierge Desk who assisted us in guiding us through the city, Ling and the others in Housekeeping who made our room lovely on a daily and nightly basis, with fresh linens/robes, and chocolates. The room was very quaint, but was all we needed as a couple. Great location in the city, close to Times Square, Central Park, Rockefellar Center; etc. When we return to NYC for future visits, we plan on staying with The Iroquois! Thank you for your outstanding services.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMcGlumphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I will like to thank you for taking your time to share your kind words with the trip adivsor community. We take in great pride in our customer service, and it's an absolute pleasure to hear that we were able to treat you so well on your first visit to New York City!! I will make sure to pass on your compliments to the rest of the our staff, it will surely brighten up their day!. We hope to welcome you in again in the future.



Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel is maimum 3 stars at most (thanks to comfortable bed). Staff were unhelpful and rude - too busy chatting to each other. This is a very old hotel, with ancient lifts, old carpets and absolute no attention to detail.
We have stayed in Small Luxury Hotel group hotels in europe in the past, so when we saw this hotel, we expected the same level of service, surroundings and attention to detail. How wrong we were. We will not be using SLH brand as a stamp of luxury or quality from now on!
Please review your bills carefully on departure, as they are ready to charge you for anything and everything... e.g. water which is meant to be complimentary is $9.50...even the random collection of molton brown soap, shower gel, body lotion (all different scents) is an example of carelessness.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank passion4hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisHotel, General Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at the Iroquois. I am truly disappointed to hear of your overall experience and this is certainly not an accurate representation of the level of service we strive to provide here as evident by the many reviews on this site regarding our great service. We are looking into the scents of our amenities but Molton Brown is one of the highest regarded amenity lines a hotel can offer.
I am pleased to inform you that we are approximately 75% complete with our hallway renovation. We are replacing all of the carpet along with wainscoting and new artwork and the new design is fantastic. We look forward to another opportunity to win you as an Iroquois guest for life. Please contact us prior to your next trip to NYC so we can ensure we exceed your expectations.
Sincerely,
Robert Holmes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

You are welcomed from the minute you step in by the friendly doormen..(Rocky has a big smile!) Patrick at the front desk was lovely, made us feel right at home... Rooms are small but very well maintained. The linens are great quality and the beds were super comfortable. Our room was in the back so there was no street noise. Wifi is free. Concierge..Vanessa and Mark both went out of their way to help us get home.We were there for the blizzard (Feb 2013) and they spent over an hour calling the airline for us on 2 different days to get us re booked...it was a lifesaver..coffee or hot cider in the lobby..all day. Free DVDs at the front desk are available to watch in your room..nice little touches all over. Bottom line, this is a beautiful boutique hotel with service that makes you feel you are definitely more than just a number.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the street so it will be quiet..may not want to be up too high because of spotty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review on trip advisor. It's a pleasure to hear such kind feedback and I'm pleased that we could accommodate you during the snow storm. I am glad to hear our staff were able to be of assistance during your stay, its wonderful knowing our guest are taking advantage of our free amenities as well. We hope to welcome you back soon!


Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here during a business/personal trip. Its was a very cozy and friendly hotel. The staff was fabulous and very helpful - from the concierge to the front desk to the doormen/staff. The room was clean and comfortable. I will stay there on my next trip to NYC for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor, I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your time in New York and that we could be a part of your experience. We hope to see you again the next time in New York!

Thank You,

Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, Illinois
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Iroquis is a very nice hotel but the rooms are very small and they really need updating. They had to bring the ice to your room and no soda machines-the soda was in the room and extremely high priced for the size soda they had. They didn't have coffee machines in the room and I never seen coffee in the lobby. Am not sure it was offered. (must admit I never asked) They did have hot apple cider in th lobby each evening and it was a nice alternative during the winter months. Our room overlooked other rooms and you could see people in the other rooms.
It is very close to Times Square and a great location to do your site seeing from. It is just a little over a block from Times Square and very close to many of the broadway shows. Vanessa, the conceirge was excellant and could help w/ all of your plans.
We did find a real nice diner just a couple of doors from the hotel for breakfast the was very reasonable and very good food. Al.so a 24 hour convient store right around the corner.

Room Tip: I would check to see what the difference in price is for a window w/a view and a bigger room would c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmygolfforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Iroquois and thank you for sharing your experience. I’m pleased that you found our location convenient through out your stay, and found Vanessa, our chief concierge to be of great help with your plans.

I am sorry that our room size was not up to your standard. We do offer different room catergories that offer more space then the others, which we are able to accommodate if available. Our daily coffee is offered in the morning from 7-10am, and on the weekends it is extended until 12pm which can be located in the lobby. In regards to the minibar, unfortunately we do not control the prices of the items that are offered in the room. What we do recommend is to have a word with our front desk staff or with our concierge to provide you with information on a economical alternative. I would like to apologize for these inconveniences you have experienced.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Iroqouis the next time you find yourself in New York.

Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have just returned from a great stay at The Iroquois. This midtown hotel has a lot of things in its favour; helpful, friendly staff, well-appointed rooms, amazingly comfortable beds, and a first class cocktail bar; The Lantern’s Keep, on the ground floor.
We upgraded to a corner king room which was definitely spacious by NYC standards – it was also at the back of the building so no view but no street noise either which was a bonus. Our heating failed on the penultimate day which wasn’t ideal. However, things like that can go wrong in any hotel – the real test is how staff respond. And in this case, they swiftly moved us to a suite; very comfortable if a little more susceptible to the near constant honking horns of the cabs outside.
Personally speaking, The Iroquois is probably too close to Times Square for our tastes – we prefer to be within staggering distance of a bar that appeals to locals as well as tourists – but for other people, this may well be a major selling point. It was certainly convenient for Broadway, Rockerfeller Centre and most other ‘must see’ nyc spots.
There’s a decent diner practically next door which was great for breakfast and a coffee shop opposite. Hell’s Kitchen was a 10 minute walk away and good for casual dinner options – (we enjoyed Southern Hospitality & 5 Napkin Burger) and for a rough and ready bar with a great jukebox Rudy’s is definitely worth a visit.
Overall, for us The Iroquois delivered; it’s a classy joint with attentive staff and we’d definitely consider going back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of building can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SR73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on our trip advisor community. It is always a pleasure to hear feedback from our guests. I'm happy to hear our staff were able to move you to another room in a timely manner. While still providing you with wonderful customer service through out your stay. I would like to take this time and thank you for your compliments on our bar Lantern's Keep, and we look foward to welcoming you again!


Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,401 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,241 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#62 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,634 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#59 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#33 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing