We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel to Rest after long Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Iroquois New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #38 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good Hotel to Rest after long Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Iroquois was our 3rd hotel stay as part of our 17 days holidays in Manhattan. We stayed for four nights there and that was not enough to enjoy the hotel. We are grateful for granting our preferences as most hotels don't do, really big thank you. Concierge Vanessa was most helpful in finding the pet store where I could purchase my dog his specialty breakfast which he ran out of the following day after check in. This hotel definitely deserves higher rating on Trip Adviser compare to some for front hotels I stayed in. The receptionists were all very pleasant. Beautiful Frette towels were very pleasant and our Queen size bad was so comfortable to sleep and sit on. Plenty of towels more than we needed and we never had to ask for extra. We were on the top floor and water pressure was excellent. The hotel has sauna and jacuzzi bath tub in the gym, but I was so ex hosted from walking and took a bath using the energizing body wash provided and it was so comfortable to sit in for a regular bath tub, and there was plenty of hot water to take shower afterwords. The hotel features fairly priced snack bar drinks, has beautiful bar and lounge bar. There is complementary coffee in the lobby in the morning and cyder all day long. All three of us loved the library room: small, but so cozy and inviting. There are 2 computers with keyboards and mouse there, was refluxing to use over lap tap. We had continental breakfast included and loved the choices offered on the menu. After returning back home we went shopping and purchased the foods that we ate for breakfast to continue our indulgence of eating healthy breakfast. We loved our experience in The Iroquois with no spot light on stuff who are there for you when you need them and the location is the best that it can be right next to Sofitel were we stayed years ago, having to have the same great view for much less. We are especially grateful to the doorman and the manager who assisted us to load our 3 weeks worth of luggage on to Access A Ride which could not lower the lift to load our luggage for us. This was the only hotel I booked without reading a single review as I was pressed on time and I am glad I did. We really felt reluxed after all the activities we've done spending holidays in the city.

Room Tip: We love a lot of windows, so we asked for room with bay windows, but at the expense of the size of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank et49589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your such a wonderful review! It is a honor to have welcomed you as a guest just like yourself. We are continuously striving to provide a most comfortable and enjoyable experience for our guest. It is wonderful to hear that we are succeeding in doing so. I will be more then happy to pass on the kind compliments to our head concierge Vanessa as well, this will definitely brighten her day. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,325
    868
    168
    57
    31
See reviews for
815
1,402
207
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Came here for New Year's Eve. Very easy walk to Times Square, Empire State Building, subway, Theatre District. Small hotel but very nice rooms. The glass and marble bathroom was spotless, crisp and comfortable white sheets. Nice bathrobes, nightly chocolates on the pillows, and all the amenities one would expect from a 4 star hotel. There was no complimentary breakfast though. It is as nice as Westin imho. Friendly staff and good customer service. Didn't have any problems with bed bug bites like I've had when I stayed at cheaper hotels. Expensive but when compared to others it was worth it. If you're gonna spend that much money for New Year's eve this hotel is worth it. I definitely would stay here again if I ever need to visit Manhattan.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us out of the many options in New York City. I'm pleased to hear that we were able to live up to the standards that you expected from us, not only from room comfort and cleanliness, but to the service as well. We thank you again for taking your time and sharing your review with the Trip Advisor community we look foward to welcome you in the future!


Warm Regards,

Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Look no further than the Iroquois. Subway just around the corner, Broadway, Grand Central, Bryant Park and the Rockefeller Centre. Our room was spacious (even when filled with our shopping and suitcases), bathroom huge and included a bath, bed luxurious with gorgeous sheets and coffee in lobby was a great start to the day. The staff were always helpful and friendly. I will stay here again if I am lucky enough to visit NYC again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank all4walls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review on trip advisor. It's a pleasure to hear such kind feedback and I'm pleased that we could accommodate you, and I am glad to hear our staff were able to be of assistance during your stay.



Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed here with my daughter while visiting New York. We had twin room with two double beds. The room was very small, dark and cluttered. Every available surface was covered in hotel booklets and minibar items. The sill in front of the small window that let in very little light was the only clear space in the room.

The hotel seems to have taken the need to economise to the extremes. There were no light fittings on the walls or ceiling of the room, no fridge, no coffee maker, teabags or kettle. One can only begin to guess how much they are saving on the power bill! The room was lit with 1 small table lamp and 1 lamp on a stand. It was next to impossible to see into the wardrobe to find things in your suitcase and no room to store the case any where but in the robe.

If you want coffee you need go down to the foyer and help yourself from a small silver urn. Coffee is only available for a limited time in the morning. The foyer is also very dimly lit.

The bathroom was small and narrow (about 115cm wide) and icy cold.

On the positive side, the staff were polite and helpful and the hotel is centrally located within easy walking distance of Broadway, Times Square, the Empire State Building, the Rockefeller Centre, and several subway stations that make it easy to get to Central Park, Ground Zero, the ferry to the Statue of Liberty and numerous shops and museums.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justmeplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share the experience of your stay with us at the Iroquois. Due to such beneficial feedback as yours we are in the process of adding additional lighting to our guest rooms, as the comfort of our guests is our top priority. I would also like to apologize that our complimentary coffee in the lobby is only available in the morning, however we do offer room service that can provide coffee 24 hours a day, even after our lobby beverage service has switch to cider or refreshing citrus water rather than coffee.
Thank you once again for sharing and thank you for your compliments of our staff!

Warm Regards,
Kelli Phillips
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

What a fantastic hotel. It is a perfect base for a weekend in NYC. My wife and myself stayed in a top floor suite in Feb 2012 and found the location to be ideal. Having stayed in other NYC hotels, I would strongly recommend The Iroquois. Looking to re-book for Feb 2013.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cripps2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking your time and sharing your comments on the Trip Advisor community, it's a great tool to hear our guest's feedback. I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel last year! We hope to see you next month!


Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Enjoyed a one night stay in this hotel for Xmas shopping. Room was fine and though I always miss not having coffee making facilities in the room, one could head to the lobby and get a free cup! Staff helpful; stored our luggage while we went shopping after check out. Elevators small and slow and the free continental breakfast was boring but thats looking for flaws in an otherwise nice hotel. As they say its location,location, location.......

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
I will like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Iroquois for your shopping visit to New York City. I'm pleased you found our property comfortable and convenient. Your compliments of our staff are very much appreciated and I hope we can welcome you back!



Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for four nights in December 2012. It is perfectly located two blocks from Times Square and one block from Fifth Avenue. We found it a perfect base to explore all Manhattan has to offer. Walking to Central Park took approximately 20 minutes, Times Square was less than 5 minutes away and with close Subway stations access to all of Manhattan is a piece of cake.

With regard the hotel itself, we were very happy with out choice. Location aside, the hotel was very clean and well appointed. We had a room on the 11th floor, and after sending the hotel an email prior to our arrival they provided a room with a view of the Chrysler Building, as requested.

The room itself was a decent size, tidy bathroom with powerful shower and Molton Brown products. The hotel has two lifts servicing all floor, and we never had to wait for a lift. Both the concierge and the front desk staff were very helpful and courteous, as were the bell boys. A wonderful little touch was the urn in the reception area. In the morning it was full of coffee, with cups available for you to take out with you. And from the afternoon onwards, hot cider was available.

Very happy with our choice and won't hesitate to return the next time we visit New York.

Room Tip: Email the hotel prior to travelling and they will do all they can to accomadate requests. As mention...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjbeynon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
I'm delighted to hear that you found our location convenient during your stay. And we would like to thank you for your compliments of our hotel and staff. It's always great to hear our staff providing exceptional service to our guest to make their stay that much more enjoyable. We look foward to welcoming you again in the future!



Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,246 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing