We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #41 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Saved us during Storm Sandy. We were able to leave our dark and very cold NYC downtown apartment after 3 days to spend 2 warm and lovely nights at the Iroquois.After searching hotels on 44th street with no vacancies we were so happy when we walked into the Iroquois and they had one room left on the top floor. Great location for restaurants and their own restaurant Triomphe is excellent. Staff are professional and kind. Very helpful and interested in providing rooms to storm victims. I will never forget the experience and we will recommend the Hotel Iroquois to all family and friends when they visit NYC! Location is perfect. Very clean and quiet rooms. Can't say more about the staff--really caring and wonderful!

Room Tip: Top floor was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jholiday27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for your mention on the trip advisor community it is always a pleasure to hear feedback from our guests. I am happy to hear that we were able to accommodate you during the aftermath of hurricane Sandy, and that our staff were able make your stay with us comfortable. We hope to welcome you back in the future.


Warm Regards
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,803)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,594 - 2,600 of 3,803 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

Lovely small hotel in a great location in midtown. The rooms were a little on the small side but very clean with all the right amenities. The staff were helpful and welcoming.
The only downside is the hotel bar isn’t that nice but the Royalton across the road had a beautiful bar so we often went there instead.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LunalunaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

I'm delighted to hear that you found our location a convenience during your stay. And we would like to thank you for your compliments of our hotel and staff. It's always great to hear our staf going providing exceptional service to our guest to make their stay that much more enjoyable.




Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A small hotel compared to many in NYC, but then you don't have to negotiate miles of corridors.
The location is excellent for most things in midtown. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Rooms are quite small but then it is a city hotel and we were lucky enough to be given an up-grade. Cleanliness is good except for the carpets which do look grubby.
The free WiFi in the room worked! and the complimentary coffee near the reception was appreciated.
We would recommend this hotel as a value for money stay in NYC.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karoulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

I am glad we were able to meet your standards and provide you with an overall pleasant experience. I'm sorry to hear that the carpet was not to your liking, we will defintely take this into consideration. Our first priority is to ensure our guests are as comfortable as possible, I hope that we can welcome you back in the future.



Warm regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have a fabulous 3 day stay (which turned into a 6 day stay) at this independent and well run hotel in 44th street MIdtown. We were going to highly recommend this hotel before the storm - and afterwards we can only say thank goodness we stayed at this total gem in Midtown.

Staff are fabulous, rooms are very comfortable (King has much more room and better large bed than standard room so recommend king rooms). No noise from lifts or other rooms despite hotel being full. Its not trendy - its conservative and a little old fashioned but in a good comfortable way with great linen and bathrooms as well.

The location is great - two blocks to the madness of Time Square and then you can retreat to this haven - or walk the other direction straight onto the shopping mecca of 5th avenue. 10 minute walk to Empire State. Breakfast in the hotel's restaurant "Triomphe" is too formal/staid and pricey for us but it was very good food.

We had our stay extended by Superstorm Sandy and I can honestly say in 20 years of travrelling the globe we have never experienced such service and dedication as the staff showed its guests during this crisis. The morning after the storm when Manhattan was closed down literally and shut off from the rest of NYC, the hotel laid on complimentary breakfast for all guests, they provided up to the minute information from airlines about flight cancellations, they made pots of coffee for guests in the lobby trying to use the internet, and despite having to sleep at work, the doormen handed out umbrellas with a smile and up to date information about what was operating or open when it was hard to find places to eat.

We must mention the fabulous and friendly concierge Vanessa who was always smiling and knowledgable and sorted out anything guests asked her to including spending over an hour on the phone (helping other customers whilst she was on hold I might add!) to an airline for us trying to change our flights due to cancellations.

Patrick on the front desk kept his cool when faced with tired and emotional customers and was always helpful. Hotel management did the human spirited thing and made the very generous decision to allow all guests to stay on at a flat rate which was below their usual rate (unlike other operational hotels in NYC after the storm) and also to cancel additional nights up until 2pm if guests found they could actually travel out of NYC.

AMAZING. Total customer focus, super friendly helpful staff, and a great stay in a great location. We will always go back here when in Manhattan.

Room Tip: stay higher up if you can - we had room on 10th floor overlooking internal courtyard and it was so p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pid13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

I will like to thank you for sharing this with us, we take in great pride in our customer service. It's an absolute pleasure to hear that we were able to treat you so well! Patrick and Vanessa are great assets on our team. It will be my pleasure to pass on your compliments to them and to the rest of the staff, for providing such amazing service through out your stay. We hope to welcome you in again in the future.



Warm Regards,
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Iroguois the weekend just before "Sandy." Great location (near but not on top of Times Square), nicely appointed room, free wifi, friendly and helpful staff. The Triumph restaurant in the hotel is quite good. The bar is pricey but comfortable to hang out in. We reserved the hotel for 3 nights, but by Sunday afternoon it was clear that NYC was shutting down and we should head for home. At 1:15 pm, we told the front desk that we might like to leave. (Our room had already been made up for us.) The hotel was extremely accommodating - just asked us to be out soon, which was fine, and did not charge us for the night. This hotel is a great find!

Room Tip: Don't worry if your room is right beside the elevator. Ours was, and we didn't hear a thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for your mention on the trip advisor community it is always a pleasure to hear feedback from our guests. It's great that you were able to get out of the city before hurricane Sandy was able to affect the city, and that our staff was able to acommodate you with a shorten stay. I am happy to know that you were able to take advantage of our amenities as well . We hope to welcome you back in the future.


Warm Regards
Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have just come to the end of a 9 night stay. It was supposed to be 3 but we had to stay on due to Hurricane Sandy.

The staff have been exceptionally helpful and accommodating given our circumstances. I have have heard all sorts of horror stories from other 'stranded' travellers this week and it appears we certainly struck lucky.

The location of the hotel is perfect too. Just a short walk to Time Square and yet far enough to escape the noise. 5th Avenue is literally around the corner and Grand Central is just 5 minutes walk.

I don't like recommending hotels as everyone has different expectations, but the Iroquois has exceeded mine this last week or so, for so many reasons.

Thank you Team Iroquois!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigDunk100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. I'm happy to hear we were able to accommodate you through out the duration of the storm and spent your time with us comfortable. It's great to know that you also found the location of our property convenient and our staff helpful, I will definitely pass on your kind words to them. Once thank you fir staying with us and thank you for your recommendation, we hope to welcome you in again!




Warm Regards,

Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was one of those who had no electricity after Sandy - so moved to this hotel after having stayed at another hotel for 3 days. All I can say is that I truly wish I had come here first! What a brilliant find! Im not really crazy about the area around Times Square - as it can be a bit hectic, but honestly, would overlook that for Iroquois. Service is superb , rooms are cozy ( feels like you are in your own bedroom)...and everything was just spot on. Unfortunately - I didn't get to taste any of the food - but will save that for next time. This hotel is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller11nNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

First of all thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear we were one of the hotels that was able to accomdate you during the storm. I am pleased to know that you were able to find our service helpful through out your stay and that you found your room comfortable as well. We hope to welcome you back soon!



Warm Regards,

Elvis Nunez
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#15 of 469 in New York City
3,148 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 469 in New York City
6,625 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 469 in New York City
1,082 reviews
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#45 of 469 in New York City
245 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#31 of 469 in New York City
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#37 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $211 - $651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing