We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #38 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for NYE 2012. It was kind of a last minute trip and I was looking for a four star hotel close enough to Times Square and still available two weeks before NYE. I read some great reviews on Trip Advisor of the Iroquois and we decided to stay here. The room was clean, but extremely small, even by NYC standards, but I think we had the smallest room on our floor when looking at the evacuation routes and floor plan posted to our door. I had requested a king sized bed and a room facing the street, and while I was advised those requests would be considered, neither was fulfilled. The room was clean, but the queen bed was small - both mine and my husbands' feet dangled off the edge. Since we only stayed the weekend, it wasn't that big of a deal, but if our trip was longer it would have become a problem. They served complimentary hot apple cider every afternoon in the lobby, which was delicious. It is a small, boutique hotel, but reasonably priced in an amazing location - we did not have to cab or take the subway our whole weekend and we went to Central Park, Times Square, Broadway, 5th Avenue, Rockefellar Center and the Meat Packing District. I would consider it again for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asher8506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I apologize we were not able to accommodate your requests, however on a night such as New Year's that can be quite tricky. We also offer larger rooms with king size beds, as well Suite's, if you need more space on a future stay. We hope to see you again! Kind Regards, Kelli Phillips Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,434
    907
    179
    61
    34
See reviews for
868
1,462
214
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Awesome weekend spent at the Iroquois Hotel. When we returned this year, we were really pleased to be put in The James Dean Suite, where he lived 3 years back in the 50s. How cool is that!
Perfect location for theatre and shopping on 5th Avenue. Vanessa, you are amazing!! You restaurant choices exceeded our expectations once again. When we were looking for something a little different you sent us down to the Lower East Side for a tour of the Tenement Museum, which we loved. The only downside of the weekend was leaving. Plan to be back again next year, same time.

Room Tip: Select a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makarska1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
It's very rewarding to welcome back our return guests, we are all very flattered that you enjoyed your experience once again. I'm happy to hear you were also given the James Dean Suite this time around, a nice touch for sure! Thank you again and until next year! Warm Regards, Kelli Phillips, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

This hotel is in the perfect location and is comfortable and welcoming. If I was to return to NYC I would stay here again. Only one small complaint, the air conditioning/heating in our room was pretty noisy!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BopC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor! I do hope the sound from the ventilation system in your room was not too much of a bother for you while you were visiting us, but I thank you for pointing this issue out so it can be addressed. Warm Regards, Kelli Phillips Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We read the reviews online looking for a hotel to stay in on our honeymoon in NYC, and we hit the jackpot with the Iroquois. The staff was excellent and very welcoming. The location was great, just off Times Square enough that it wasn't too hectic. It was close enough to all of the sites we wanted to see in that area, and only a few blocks from Grand Central which got us everywhere in the city we wanted to go. The room was of average size, but the bed was comfortable and was exactly what we were looking for after long days of walking around NYC. Having the fruit flavored water in the lobby was a huge plus after the extremely hot weather we encountered. Can't wait to come back on our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel as well as your honeymoon. Congratulations and we hope to see you on your next trip! Thank you again! -Kelli Phillips, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

stayed here with my girlfriend. just returned yesterday and had to say that my hotel experience was near perfect.
all the staff were excellent with a special mention to Vanessa the concierge who really looked after us with all sorts of enquiries, from pre-booking clubs/restaurants to advice on all things NYC.
I am actually pretty ***** fussy, very well travelled, and visit NY a lot - so this is a major compliment to the hotel.
NYC boutique hotels is all about location, service & decor - this does it pretty well ;)

Satyen

Room Tip: upgrade to a king room for $30 / night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satyen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, February 11, 2012
What an honor it is to be your first trip advisor review! And such a great one at that, your compliments are too kind. I'm pleased that you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again the next time you are in New York. Thank you again! Warm Regards, Kelli Phillips Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed in the Iroquois Hotel for my parents' Golden Wedding Anniversary just before Christmas and couldn't have stayed anywhere better. The hotel is home from home with comfortable rooms and a wonderful lobby, bar and restaurant. The staff are unbelievable in every way. They couldn't have done more to make our trip both enjoyable and memorable. Nothing was too much trouble and special mention must go to Vanessa and Alan on Concierge, who could not have been more helpful. They went out of their way (both before we got to NY as well as while we were there) to ensure everything worked smoothly. Patrick on the front desk also went that extra mile to ensure we were comfortable, and the guys on the front door gave us such a wonderful welcome every time we came back that it felt like we were coming home! Thank you to all the staff and I highly recommend you get over there and experience it for yourself.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBP50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, February 11, 2012
Thank you for your very kind compliments, I am so pleased to hear that we could host your family during such a special time. It's very rewarding to hear such kind words. We hope that we will see you again in the future! Warm Regards, Kelli Phillips Assistant Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We have spent the New Year's Eve in NY and have stayed at the Iroquois. Very nice and helpful staff. Especially Vanessa! She was very nice and helpful with all our inquiries. The room was very clean and comfortable, nice linings and good bed! Everything about this hotel was a lovely surprise! We strongly recommend it !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for ringing in 2012 with us at the Iroquois! I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the rooms comfortable, as well as the staff accommodating. Thank you for sharing your experience. -Kelli Phillips, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 467 in New York City
3,171 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,585 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#62 of 467 in New York City
6,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#79 of 467 in New York City
732 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
2,914 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing