We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a City Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #43 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed here August 2010, it was very warm in the city so the cool lobby and rooms were perfect.
There were 4 of us in 2 rooms, we would have liked 4 seperate beds in one big room or even adjoining rooms but this never seems to be an option in new york.
The rooms were comfortable and I got the best sleep I've EVER had, they use simmons mattresses with egyptian cotton sheets and pillow cases, nice and cool when you got into the sheets but kept you warm, an absolute delight!

New York is famed for it's tiny rooms but high prices but these rooms were't too small.
I had also requested a fridge in each room as I knew we'd want to keep stuff cold whilst there.
Both rooms had a mini fridge and they worked fine and not noisy like some can be.

Our rooms were also pretty quiet, no noisy neighbours luckily.
Service was okay, nothing amazing but we never really asked for anything after the fridges.
Our friends had a problem with their bedroom lock on the door but this was rectified within 30 minutes.

The bar in the hotel (like most) was a little over priced but nice for a treat.

Location was perfect, right in the heart of it all, a couple of doors down from an AMAZING Indian restaurant and 5th Avenue.

There's also a handy deli across the street that serves cold beverages and it's open VERY late so very handy for evening snacks, ice-cream, salad, juice (and in our case chocolate and crisps!)

I would stay in the Iroquois again and have told others to stay there too.

A loyalty card would be a good idea!

Room Tip: watch out for awkward closing doors, it's an old hotel and although the hotel isn't "ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gooey Events L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2012

Thank you for your review, we value the feedback of our guests and appreciate the time you took to assist us in bettering our property and service. Seeing your mention of a loyalty program I am happy to inform you that we offer our 'Gold Guest' points program, you can sign up on our website as well as learn about the perks of being a 'Gold Guest.' We hope to see you in the future! Warm Regards, Kelli Phillips, Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,824 - 2,830 of 3,843 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Iroquois when we were running the NYC marathon in early Nov 2011. What wonderful accomodations! The rooms were clean, comfortable and full of character with modern amenities. No cookie cutter rooms here! The comfortable beds enabled us to get a great night's sleep before the marathon. The staff was amazingly helpful with directions, questions and were extremely accomodating in helping us with our luggage and also storing it so we could pick it up after the race. The restaurant had a wonderful romantic and atmosphere and the food was delicious. We will definitely stay here again for a romantic couples getaway into the city.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoalieDMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2012

Thank you for your kind review, I'm so please to hear that you were able to get a good night's rest before the marathon, I'm sure it made all the difference. And congratulations! We look forward to seeing you in the future! -Kelli Phillips Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Right on Hotel Row on West 44th between 5th and 6th, The Iroquois allows a very easy walk to most Broadway houses, Rockefeller Center, Grand Central, 5th Avenue shopping, Times Square, the New York Public Library, and a host of other touristy things. It's a hotel bar-hopper's dream as well, since the Mansfield, Sofitel, Royalton, and Algonquin are on the same block. (The Algonquin is closed for renovation until at least May 2012.) The Bryant Park/42nd street subway station is a two-minute walk away, which allows access to several lines. Grand Central is slightly farther, but also has several other subway lines, so it's very easy to use public transportation from this starting point. I went all over the City and only used a cab once, and that was because it was late at night.

This is a small boutique hotel, so everything is compact and cozy, but they have done a remarkable job of keeping the character of this 1930's-era building while updating it for modern needs and expectations. The lobby is charming with marble floors, a chandelier, and dark walls. There's a small library facing the street with complimentary computer/printer access and a selection of newspapers. The lobby offers complimentary cider in the winter as well. Off to the right of the lobby is the restaurant Triomphe (which also provides the room service). It has a small bar area in the front, then a cozy, small dining room. I only had breakfast here so I can't comment on any other menus, but it was fast, done precisely to order, and very efficiently served. To the back of the lobby is the cocktail salon, Lantern's Keep. It is, as they say, a "jewel box" of a room done in a Paris salon style. The juices are all fresh-squeezed and there is a terrific selection of house-created cocktails on the menu served by fantastic bartenders who will chat while they work even though they're busy without missing a beat. A stop here is a must if you stay at the Iroquois, though they aren't kidding when they suggest reservations. With only a couple of dozen seats, it can fill up very quickly and once here, you won't be inclined to leave for a while.

The rooms are quite small, but space has been used efficiently. Tall leather headboards affixed to the wall give them a smart look and there is plenty of closet and drawer space. The beds are very comfortable. The mini-bar is a little pedestrian and it's one of those sensor-driven things, but at least the rooms are equipped with them. My bathroom seemed larger than those pictured on the website. The room was at the end of a hallway, so I thought perhaps the floor plan was a little different. Water temperature and pressure were great, which is a relief in an older building. Higher floors facing 44th St. have decent views of the block and some of the skyscrapers beyond--I requested one when I made my reservation and they took pains to ensure that at check-in. The rooms are equipped with DVD players and you will be provided with a password to the complimentary wi-fi when you check in. These extras are much-appreciated.

For me, the true 5-star hotels in New York are high-luxury places like the St. Regis, the Mandarin Oriental, and the Four Seasons. As a boutique property, the Iroquois is not equipped to provide the same range of options and level of room size/quality. But they also don't have the pricetags of those hotels, and it's not their aim to be one of those guys. If you can score one of their frequent package or multiple-night discount deals online, then the combination of value, comfort, and location provided here make it one of the very top boutiques in the city.

Side note: Also on the same block is the Greek restaurant Kellari, which has a sensational grilled octopus dish.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adamunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2012

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, it sounds as if you got to know our property very well! I'm happy hear you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to hosting you on a future stay. Warm Regards, Kelli Phillips Assistant Manager Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

The hotel is a member of the Small Leading Hotels of the World chain...all my previous experiences with this club were great...but NY has been a disappointment. We booked the hotel for a 1week stay at NY for New Years, coming all the way from Moscow. Were disappointed when arrived, because neither the pictures nor its status qualify for LSHW club. The hotel needs some renovations, espcially the lobby, lifts and the windows. Delux rooms are tiny...second smallest after usual Paris hotels. This is a good place for business trips, but i would not go there for a personal trip. Moved to the mandarin oriental after 3 days there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2012

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor, though I am sorry to know you felt your experience was disappointing. We take great pride in being part of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World (SLH), and I hope you can see from our other Trip Advisor reviews your experience was not the norm. It is unfortunate you were unsatisfied with the size of your deluxe room, but we do offer other room types including our Executive King guestroom and our One bedroom Suites which are estimated around 650 square feet. The next time you visit New York, I would like to invite you back to the Iroquois NY. Please contact me directly, and it will be my pleasure to personally tailor your reservation to ensure your every need. Again, thank you for sharing your experience. -Caroline Lakin, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

This is a smaller, older hotel in midtown Manhatten. Our room was very small but the service made up for that. Our room and bathroom were exceptionally clean. We were able to walk to our dinners and Broadway shows without difficulty. There's a diner right next door which serves a great reasonably priced breakfast. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

Thank you for your kind words! I'm so pleased to know that we were able to make your stay comfortable while visiting our city. We hope to see you again! Kelli Phillips Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

This place is amazing. "A must stay in the city." The service was great and the location is perfect. Cheers!

Room Tip: If you're a film/pop culture buff, James Dean stayed here from 1950-1953. Stay in his room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We have stayed in Midtown several times but ths was our first experience at the Iroquois. The location is great, within walking distance to theaters, restaurants, etc. The employees were very courteous and friendly. Didn't eat at the restaurant but had drinks in the bar, which is nice. The rooms are very nicely furnished although they are quite small compared to similarly priced alternatives in the area. The only problem we had was the noise from the street. We were originally in a 5th floor room facing the street. We asked to be moved but were told they didn't have other rooms, but they said the room was "sound proof." No so. We heard every car, voices from the street, garbage trucks in the middle of the night, horns, etc.

Room Tip: Lower front rooms are very noisy, so ask for an upper room or a room facing the courtyard. If you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davelw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

I'm pleased to hear that you found our staff hospitable however I do apologize that you found your room to be noisy. We do our best to accommodate all of our guest requests so I am disappointed that we were not able to make you comfortable in a quieter room, please accept my apologies. On a future stay please feel free to contact me directly. Warm Regards, Kelli Phillips Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 470 in New York City
3,183 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#69 of 470 in New York City
6,659 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 470 in New York City
3,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bernic Hotel
The Bernic Hotel
#42 of 470 in New York City
259 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 470 in New York City
435 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#14 of 470 in New York City
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#38 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $190 - $631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing