We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Choice for the Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Iroquois New York
Ranked #41 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
alabama
Level Contributor
255 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Good Choice for the Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

This is typical of New York, the room is small but it is nicely appointed. It is clean, you have the necessary things. The lobby is small, but we did not spend much time in lobbies. the front desk staff and doormen are all very friendly. the location is good, close to times square but far enough that it is quiet.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynful2no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
We appreciate the feedback. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am glad you mentioned our friendly staff as service is always one of our priorities. We hope to welcome you again soon. -Caroline Lakin, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,346
    882
    173
    59
    32
See reviews for
833
1,417
209
420
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

I loved EVERYTHING about this hotel! It has a great location. We walked to everything, or took the subway (right around the corner!!) or took a taxi (which the hotel would flag down for us). The hotel staff was beyond helpful, nice and professional. The room was small, but hello! You are in NYC! I guess after my Paris hotel (ekk! Size of a closet!), small does not bother me. The bathroom was glorious and I loved the bathrobes. Turn-down service was cute. They'd leave you a little note about the weather for the next day! :) The fitness room was small but very clean and well stocked with water and towels. The sauna was nice, but you had to call the front desk to turn it on. I loved it, but I wish it had gotten hotter! Boo! Overall, an amazing hotel. I want to travel back to NYC just to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelloHayleyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
We apprecaite your detailed review, and thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here. It pleases me to know that the small details we tend to on a daily bases (like our turndown service) were not overlooked. As far as the temperature of the sauna, we will review the temperature settings and adjust if needed. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to New York shortly. -Caroline Lakin, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuerich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

Nice hotel, very clean, centrally located, excellent service.
We had a suite which was spacy and nicely decorated, in a modern, american style, no frills, no gold. Very good bed and shower, silent in the night.
The AC was working fine. The staff was friwnly and gave us excellent recommendations.
Drawbacks: too small wardrobe, breakfastroom not very inviting

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aluisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Thank you for writing this detailed review. It is satisfying to know you liked our suite and the amenities that we provide. We definitely appreciate your compliments. We also will review your small criticisms and will adjust accordingly. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon. -Caroline Lakin, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

The hotel staff was super friendly from start to finish. The room was clean and a bargain considering location, amenities and service. This is the second time we have stayed there and I plan on staying there again for our next trip.

Room Tip: Check the online specials regularly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Thank you for choosing the Iroquois once again. We value your loyalty, and feel grateful we have so many repeat guests. With this in mind we created a loyal guest rewards program called "Gold Guest" aimed for repeat guests like yourself. In this program points are redeemable for complimentary upgrades, amenities, and stays. We look forward to welcoming you back next time! -Caroline Lakin, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

I recently spent 3 days at the Iroquois hotel and could not have been happier with the experience.
While the room was small, it was more than adequate for my needs.
The front desk staff was quick to respond to any calls from my traveling companion or myself.
Vanessa, the concierge, was fabulous. She was able to get us tickets for a completely sold out show (even stub hub, and ticket brokers could not get us tickets).
She also made us numerous dinner reservations, and found us tickets for another sold out show.
She always responded to our requests with a smile and a positive attitude
She was a pleasure to deal with.
She, alone, would be enough of a reason to stay at the Iroquois, again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
I agree that our concierge Vanessa is outstanding, and I was delighted to read about your experience here. No task is ever too big for Vanessa, which can sometimes make her seem magical! I will most definitely share your compliments with her and the rest of our staff. We hope to welcome you back soon. -Caroline Lakin, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

This was our second stay at this property. All of the hotel staff were welcoming and helpful. The concierge went out of her way to accommodate our requests ranging from limo service to tickets, dinner reservations, champagne and flowers, and recommendations for sighseeing. The hotel is small, intimate, and beautifully appointed - a wonderful, quiet space to come home to! Location is great for easy access to galleries, museums, shopping, and theatre.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rem1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Thank you for this thorough review. I especially appreciate your comment "place to come home to" because that is exactly how we want you to feel- like you're coming home! I will also pass on your gratitude to our concierge Alan, who works tirelessly to help our guest's wishes come true. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back shortly. -Caroline Lakin, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

Stayed in this hotel recently, awesome place. Very clean, friendly staff and location is perfect. No ifs no buts or maybe's...book this hotel you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOS321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IroquoisFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at The Iroquois New York, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Thank you for this kind review. We are certainly proud of our history here and find it nice when our guests are interested as well. Next time you visit us, please inquire about our suite dedicated to James Dean. If you are a fan of his, its a special place to stay. Thank you again. -Caroline Lakin, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,450 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,312 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#65 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,722 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iroquois New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iroquois New York

Property: The Iroquois New York
Address: 49 W 44th St, btwn 5th & 6th Aves, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in New York City
#29 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#34 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Iroquois New York 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Iroquois New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois Hotel New York City
Iroquois New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing