We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Belleclaire
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$311
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$343
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$246
$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$458
$359
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$189
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$265
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
$235
$195
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$178
$142
Park Central
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$263
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,915)
Filter reviews
3,915 results
Traveler rating
1,384
1,624
551
233
123
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,384
1,624
551
233
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsupper west sidecentral parkgreat locationfamily suitenew yorkmuseum of natural historytwo blocksshared bathroomhardwood floorslincoln centeraround the cornerstreet noisehudson riversubway stoptimes squaremini fridgeflat screen tv
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,775 - 2,780 of 3,915 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We stayed two nights at The Belleclaire, and I enjoyed our visit very much. I had lived on the Upper West Side some twenty plus years ago, so it felt like staying in a real New York neighborhood apartment, rather than a predictable tourist crash pad. The new decor is sort of hip urban-chic which transposes onto the vintage charm quite well. We had a king room on the corner, which was very spacious due to the round shape of the room. Unfortunately, that meant that the bathroom was quite small. This is an old Beaux Artes era building that has been updated quite effectively, but the architecture can be quaint or limiting, depending on your point of view. I found it charming. The ceilings are high and the windows large and overlooking Broadway. Again, the windows are a little drafty: charming or annoying? I didn't mind. In fact I liked not feeling hermetically sealed into a new building. The heat is very efficient from a cast iron radiator, which once you know how to control it, is great. It was off when we got into the room, but It warmed up quickly, once I turned it on. It can get hot, so no need to leave it on while we were out all day. The street noise can be LOUD all hours of the day and night. But I knew what to expect and my trusty earplugs insured me a great night's sleep in the very comfortable bed.
I am a big fan of in-room coffee makers, so I was a little nervous about the absence of one in the room. But the 24 hr diner across the street delivers for free(tips, of course) and had piping hot, good coffee to the room in minutes after direct dialing it in. The afore mentioned Manhattan Diner is a very good value and the food is great. The location of The Belleclaire on Broadway and 77th made it a convenient spot to sightsee from. The proximity to the subway and crosstown bus on 79th was perfect, and safe even late at night. You can walk in any direction from the hotel and find any type of restaurant you could want. Great shopping and a real neighborhood vibe.
The service at the hotel was OK, not that we needed anything beyond basic check in/out. Everyone was very nice.
I really liked The Belleclaire. I would stay there again and would recommend it highly. My only caveat is to take earplugs and slippers and enjoy the vintage charm and character of an elegant NYC landmark.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shopsaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBelleclaire, Director of Front Office at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2011

Dear Shopsaround,

First and foremost, I want to thank you for the thorough review of your recent stay at the Hotel Belleclaire. Your feedback as a native New Yorker from the Upper West Side, provides detailed insight for all of our future guests. As a historical landmark, we pride ourselves on preserving old-world charm, yet introducing a hint of urban decor, to better accommodate today's travelers.

The deluxe king room (our round room), is one of our preferred guest rooms. The breathtaking Broadway views and city sounds remind you of the fast-paced atmosphere that NYC is famous for; but just because the city NEVER sleeps, doesn't mean you don't have to. Per your request, we offer complimentary earplugs for added convenience, together with our comfy bedding; it's a great combination to ensure much-needed rest.

We now offer additional complimentary amenities such as Gillie's Coffee (NY's oldest coffee merchant, served fresh daily), Bromley Teas, and hot cocoa in our hotel lobby. Please contact us directly to reserve a room for your next visit. We will be sure to personalize your stay with slippers and earplugs. For exclusive offers, please subscribe to our website. Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Adisa Feratovic
Director of Front Office

Find us on Facebook: Hotel Belleclaire
Follow us on Twitter: The Belleclaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Excellent location in the Upper West Side. Very convenient to the Subway (79th Street station is only a block away and on the 1 line) - so very easy to get to attractions like Times Square, Statute of Liberty etc. Staff were very helpful and happy to deal with our enquiries and had discount tickets for attractions such as the American Museum of Natural History (which is only a couple of blocks away).

Room was exactly as described and a good option for family of 2 adults and 2 children. Little things like free wifi also were great. Plenty of eating options close by.

There were some renovations happening, but it didn't disturb us as they occured during the day when we were out.

Would definitely recommend for those wanting a quieter and cheaper option than Midtown. Will definitely consider again next time in NYC

Note: The Hotel booked us a car to JFK through Arrows Car Service. The driver was rude and not helpful with luggage. No reflection on the great service of the Belleclaire, but I would ask them not to use Arrows again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBelleclaire, Director of Front Office at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2011

Dear SGurns,

Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review of your stay. It is great that you mentioned the convenience of our location (corner of 77 St. and Broadway). I am delighted that the Hotel Belleclaire has met your expectations. Free wi-fi is one of the many complimentary amenities we offer to our guests, in addition to complimentary Gillie's Coffee, Bromley Teas, USA Today, New York Post, and laptop-friendly safes.

In response to your note about Arrow Service; they offer transportation for our hotel guests, among other options (super shuttle, yellow cab, etc). We have informed Arrow of your feedback, and they have addressed the issue with their staff. During your next visit, please call us directly for the most competitive rates and preferred transportation options.

Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon. Happy trails down under in Australia!! =)

Sincerely,

Adisa Feratovic
Director of Front Office

Find us on Facebook: Hotel Belleclaire
Follow us on Twitter: The Belleclaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

i spent three nights in the lovely belleclaire. the recently redecorated rooms have been very tastefully appointed and the accommodations were decidedly a "cut above" most other places i've stayed in new york. my deluxe king was spacious and comfortable in every way. i very much appreciated the relatively noiseless, radiated steam heat, which kept the room comfortable and the temperature fairly constant! and whenever i asked for anything, i was treated very well by the staff a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevenmarcweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBelleclaire, Director of Front Office at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2011

Dear Steven,

Thank you for the wonderful compliments; we are delighted to be your choice hotel in New York City. The feedback regarding our rooms is truly appreciated; we want to meet or exceed guest expectations during every visit. We look forward to your next stay at the Hotel Belleclaire.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review; all feedback is important to us. See you soon!

Sincerely,

Adisa Feratovic
Director of Front Office

Find us on Facebook: Hotel Belleclaire
Follow us on Twitter: The Belleclaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in January while on a vacation in NY. Was a very nice hotel - great location (2 blocks from 79th Street Subway) and great staff at the front desk. Couple complaints were noise in our room (windows not sealed), and slow elevator. Other than that was a great stay and would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a1custom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBelleclaire, Director of Front Office at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2011

Dear A1Custom,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Belleclaire during your visit to New York City. I will pass along your compliments to the front desk team. We are always looking for ways to improve our product; thank you for your feedback regarding the noise (this is something we will inquire about). And our elevators; we are currently replacing our elevator mechanism. This will improve performance and guest satisfaction. Please visit us again soon; call directly for the best available rates, and subscribe on our website for exclusive offers.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review; feedback is very important to us.


Sincerely,

Adisa Feratovic
Director of Front Office

Find us on Facebook: Hotel Belleclaire
Follow us on Twitter: The Belleclaire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of December 2010.
We were very impressed with this hotel the location was ideal for us, out of the busy city and only a 5 minute walk to central park.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
This hotel's big downfall at the moment is it's building work! We did not mind very much as we were not at the hotel all day, however being woken up at 7:30am every morning became very annoying. I complained after 2 days and was moved to a room on the 9th floor which was perfect.
If you find your on a floor were the building work is move immediately don't wait to be woken up.
The rooms were a good size very clean and well serviced everyday.
This hotel is highly recommended and a good price!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsTolhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgeres, General Manager at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about the Hotel Belleclaire. We greatly appreciate all of the kind words that you mentioned about us. We do have an outstanding staff, a great product, and an unbelievable location on the Upper West Side.

I do apologize about the current renovation project that was ongoing throughout your stay. We have changed the start time of the construction based upon comments such as yours. The improvements that we are making are going to benefit all of our future guests at the Hotel Belleclaire. We are remodeling all of our guest rooms and suites by installing all new flooring, walls, and updated bathrooms with modern fixtures. I am pleased to say that we are currently on our last floor and the project will be completed by the end of February. Please visit / "like" our facebook page under Hotel Belleclaire for further details and specials.

Please contact me directly if you are planning on returning to NYC. It would be my pleasure to make your reservation directly and offer the best available rate for a valued repeat guest!!!

Sincerely,

Scott Geres
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews