We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Little Hotel, In side Road. Very Quaint” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Belleclaire
Ranked #231 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice Little Hotel, In side Road. Very Quaint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2006

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Hotel Belleclaire from February 3rd to February 6th (2006). We found that the Hotel entrance was round the corner of a side road and that some scaffolding was constructed on one part of the building. One we had got into the lobby, it was very pleasant and the reception area looked very nice. They had a gift shop on site that you could log on to the internet. it was $3 for 15 mins. They sold all kinds of New York gifts and merchandise. They also sold tickets to tours, and can book the transfers to from JFK airport for you. Talk
to the guy in the shop and he can give you Macys passes and can give you friendly advice about clubs, bars, pubs to go to etc...
Aparently the 3rd floor had fire damage to it, that is why the scaffolding is there. They are refurbishing the hotel. We checked in with ease, and the staff were quite helpful. You have to sign an agreement and give over your credit or debit card to cover any events or charges that may occur (phone, extra nights etc...) and it says you must check out by 12.00pm otherwise you get charged for an extra nights stay. The Hotel had three lifts that you could use to go up to your floor. Sometimes the workmen would use them so we had to wait for another one, or use one of the others. We stayed on the 8th floor (the hotel had 10 floors). The room number was 814 and it was a double room with en suite bathroom. (toilet, bath, shower). Quite small though, and it took quite a while for the hot water to come through. Some of the tiles on the floor were a bit grubby but nothing to bad. It had a nice double bed and a TV with satelite. (MTV, Comedy, Childrens etc...) at no extra charge. The view was a bit constricted, but the room itself was pleasant and spacious. It had a dressing table, Wall mirror and a wardrobe with an iron, and a hair dryer. Also the room had a fridge in it (full sized). You could order room service if you wanted to.
As for the location of the Hotel we found that it wasnt bad, but was quite some trek from all the main attractions. Most of the time we walked, but we got the yellow cabs sometimes. Central park is a short walk away down West 77th Street. The Restaurants we recommend in close proximity to the Hotel are the Manhatten Diner (Directly opposite), and the Cafe 52 which is just a short walk down from the Manhatten Diner. It was actually my 21st Birthday whilst we were in New York, so we went to the Tavern on the Green which was at 66th street, West Central park. Beautiful Restaurant! Nice surroundings. And the food was delicious.
Some things not to miss whilst in New York are:- A Horse and carridge ride around Central Park (Try to find the Horse named Billie, he was a saint!) And do a deluxe ride for about $75. Also you have to try Ice skating. We skated at the Wollman Rink and it cost about $24. A Helicopter tour (we had one pre-booked) With Liberty Helicopters on 30th street. This was about £33 each for a 10 minute ride taking in the statue of liberty, the bronx, Central park, the empire state building, manhatten and the Stadiums! Take a City Sites tour starting at Times Square its a hop on hop off bus tour that takes in everything! It was Brilliant. The company we went with were City Sights. Jose was our guide and he was very funny! And factual of New York. Of course there is the Staue of Liberty, Times Square, Empire State Building, Bloomingdales, Macys, The Chrysler Building, Grand Central Station, The UN head quaters, The Rockefeller Centre and Central Park to name but a few. Plus the thousands upon thousands of shops. In all a great trip! Just make sure all your transfers are sorted before you leave! They have a room to store luggage in that is quite secure. Time for last minute shopping! PS- If you have time pop to Tribeca Bubby's pie company is a great Restaurant! and also the Hotel has a safety deposit service at reception.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
34 Thank travel_agent16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,201
    1,462
    475
    204
    110
See reviews for
861
1,242
257
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2006

Hotel rooms are like dorm rooms with comfy beds and small bathrooms. If you want a clean, relatively quiet (nowhere in New York is quiet!), and a cheap hotel, this is for you. They don't offer extravagances, but instead offer necessities to make your stay in New York pleasant. Within walking distance of Central Park and very close to the subway. Has grocery store and delicious pizzeria right below. I enjoyed it and I am pretty picky!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2006

I found this hotel very disappointing. The price was good and the location was great, the front desk staff were very nice. The problems with this hotel were:
too noisy, long wait for the elevator, and no heat and once no hot water for the shower. It has the feel of a rooming house not a hotel.

Helpful?
11 Thank Palatyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2006

Our family stayed at the belleclaire hotel 23/09/05-27/09/05.The suite we stayed in was fine, not that big, but we didnt expect it to be. Rooms were clean and the beds comfy.Had a fridge,hairdryer,ironing board and own bathroom...the location was excellent, just a short walk to subway. Diner across the road is open 24 hrs and right next door is a supermarket and plenty of places to eat close by. Central park also close by.Staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definately recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
18 Thank oz_rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2006

So myself and two friends stayed at the belleclaire for a week from the 22 nov - 2nd dec, we had a great stay! our room was suite which had two double beds, a single and a en-suite bathroom. The staff were always happy to help us with directions and tell us where places were to eat. There is also internet in the gift shop which is really handy. The location of this hotel is perfect, it was a 3-4 dollar cab ride to times sq. If you want to walk its around a 20 minute walk but a lovely one. So if you are on a budget like we were, being three 20 year old students then this hotel is spot on. I would also say it is perfect for people who would like a taste of real new york, being a tad out of the cliche times sq/downtown area. Going back to the belleclaire in may this year!!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2006

myself and mygirlfriend stayed in the belleclaire for new years and were rather disappointed the our room was on the eight floor with a shared bathroom it was run down very different to those shown on their web site. the bathroom was the same with tiles missing.
but on the bright side the staff were very friendly and accomadating. would go back just to be close to the manhattan diner whose food is fantastic,

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kieran24883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2006

Stayed in Belleclaire for 5 nights over New Year. Had suite 116. Advertised as for 6, but for 5 really.

Have quoted the room number because the reviews suggest that experiences vary depending on the room and the floor.

There are a few things to mention that might discourage the very sensitive. But, please remember that this hotel cost us £120 a night (£180 on New Years Eve), between 5 guests. For £24 pppn on the Upper West Side, you are not going to reside in the Astoria.

The room was big enough, clean, changed every day. Newly painted and appointed. In fact, they hadn't finished off the inside window frames on a couple of windows. Not an issue - you don't normally notice, and at least they are obviously maintaining it.

Good shower, bath more of a foot tray. Okay if you're under 5'3". Only one wardrobe. Storage space severely limited, so no good if you have a trunk full of nice clothes. Big TV in each room of the suite, fridge in one room.

Corner room, so light enough. No view, but one wouldn't expect that from the 1st floor in the middle of a big city.

Default radiator setting was 'sauna'.

Gym free, and well appointed. No pool. No bar or restaurant - use "Manhattan Diner", 100ft away. They will even deliver breakfast in bed.

Staff were perfectly pleasant and helpful. Tipping as soon as I could probably helped here.

Radiator sprang a leak on the first night - not good.
Janitor at room, with toolkit, 12 seconds after I called reception - good.

If you like to spend a lot of time in and around your hotel, don't choose this one.

If you expect 5 star accommodation for 1 star prices, don't choose this one.

If you want somewhere clean and straightforward, in a pretty good location, and don't have vast fiscal reserves, then you you could do a lot worse.

Helpful?
26 Thank Joan_Crawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#180 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,369 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#123 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#59 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#210 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#253 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Property: Hotel Belleclaire
Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 Business Hotel in New York City
#165 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#182 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing