We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, excellent location”
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Belleclaire
Ranked #235 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We really enjoyed being so close to Central Park, subway stations, restaurants, and the neighborhood market. Hotel Belleclaire with a lovely place to stay. The room was smaller than we are used to but I think for New York it was pretty standard.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Carrie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Carrie N,

We are very happy with your comments regarding our wonderful location. As you already kindly mention, Hotel Belleclaire is located close to the best museums in NY City and far from the chaos of shopping crowds in midtown. Our hotel is two blocks away from the subway train station and steps to some of the best small restaurants and coffee shops. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com. We appreciate your business and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again soon at Hotel Belleclaire.

Best regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,764 - 1,770 of 3,873 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2014

Hotel is strategically placed near everything. Very clean and well run. Staff was very attentive to our every request. Special thanks go out to Jake, the bellman who identified a free parking space for me. The car was parked across the street from the hotel from Thursday through Sunday. Jake actually stood in the space until we could unload our vehicle so no other car would get the space. I tipped him well, needless to say.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear John P,

We are thrilled with your comments regarding our prime location, our service, cleanliness, the comfort, and our Hotel value. I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts and service. As you kindly mentioned, we are situated in the heart of the Upper West Side; a magnificent, cultural and residential neighborhood that is located steps away from the subway station. Our location offers easy access to various main attractions and locations throughout NYC. We were delighted to accommodate your reservation needs and look forward to your future stay at Hotel Belleclaire!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Staff is wonderful and accommodating. Location was excellent for my needs. The rooms are extremely small. My room did not even have a dresser. The closet had some storage. The air conditioner was noisy.




  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Frieda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Frieda R,

Thank you for sharing your recent review. We love hearing that you were able to take advantage of our prime location, and to read your appraisal of our team and the very kind remarks and recognition of our staff’s efforts. I apologize for the negative experience that you encountered during your most recent visit. Thank you for letting us know that there were a few elements of your stay that you found needed improvement (A/C noise, room size), and these will certainly be addressed. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

A must stay Hotel in the chic and revitalized "Upper West Side". Close to very sumptuous dining and music events. A walk to Central Park and in a very safe neighborhood. Morning coffee and "goodies" bar exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Mark L,

Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent visit to the Hotel Belleclaire. We are delightful with your comments regarding our wonderful location and amenities. I love hearing that you were able to take advantage of Hotel Belleclaire, conveniently located a few blocks from Central Park and the best museums in NY City. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Hotel Belleclaire!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel has in-the-window air conditioners that are completely ineffective in the July heat. Sleep was next to impossible, street noise permeates the room, including the ambulance runs to St Luke's.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Suzanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Suzanne P,

Thank you for sharing your recent review. Please allow me to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We have alerted our staff and will take proactive measures to avoid this issue in the future. The Hotel Belleclaire has recently completed a multi-million dollar renovation and continues to improve guest rooms and amenities. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The lobby is gorgeous and the staff are good, but the actual room is a disappointment.
It's very cramped and stuffy. The biggest part of the room is the hallway which is poor design. The window AC means that there is too much cold air on the bed and not enough anywhere else. The AC is also extremely loud and between that and the vrey audible street noise, it was hard to sleep the first few nights. The bed is pretty small.
The bathroom is tiny, with the shelves for toiletries being right above the toilet - I had to keep closing the toilet lid just in case. Shower pressure is too thin.
There's no kettle in the room - one could easily have fit on the table.
Wi-fi reception is virtually non-existent on the bed, table or bathroom - you need to be against the door. One time it didn't even work well in the lobby. It's also limited with a free plan vs an extra plan for $10 for those who want more data. Firstly I don't know how anyone could get more data with the poor reception, but it's generally poor form compared to other hotels we stayed in. There is also a ridiculous wi-fi filter which mislabelled an LGBT news blog as "pornography" and blocked it.
The room was clean, and I liked the large selection of magazines provided. Again, lobby and staff were good but I'm sure there are other hotels in NY where you can do much better.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pancreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Pancreas,

Thank you for sharing your most recent stay. We are happy with your comments regarding our recent hotel lobby renovation and our cleanliness. I am sorry that you had a less than exceptional experience and that there were a few elements of your stay that you found needed improvement. We have brought this matter to the attention of our General Manager, Mr. Scott Geres. In case you would personally want to discuss with Mr. Geres, please feel free to contact him directly by calling (212) 706-4469 or email: sgeres@hotelbelleclaire.com. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed for a 2 night girls' trip The staff was friendly. The room was clean (though the noxious fumes from the cleaning products immediately upon entering were overwhelming.) The window unit AC was too loud and woke us throughout the night, but we still woke feeling rested and the beds are comfy. Overall a very good stay. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Pamela S,

Thank you so much for your great review! We are happy with your comments about the Hotel value, our amenities, the cleanliness, comfort, and our service. However I am sorry that you had a less than exceptional experience and that there were a few elements of your stay (A/C noise, cleaning products) that you found needed improvement, and these will certainly be addressed and corrected. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com. We are looking forward to your return!

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#180 of 473 in New York City
5,758 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#138 of 473 in New York City
2,472 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#246 of 473 in New York City
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#59 of 473 in New York City
3,929 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#149 of 473 in New York City
946 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#323 of 473 in New York City
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#140 Business Hotel in New York City
#159 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $116 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing