We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel w/Old World Charm”
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Belleclaire
Ranked #234 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Great Hotel w/Old World Charm”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I stayed at the Belleclaire for one nite and would definitely book again. The hotel is very well maintained with a charming lobby. The staff was courteous and friendly. The room was delicious. I was so happy that it had hard wood floors! It's so much easier to assess how clean a room is. There was a fridge which was great for drinks/snacks from the West Side Grocery around the corner. Previous reviewers mentioned noise. Room 814 was quite as could be. And I appreciated the free wifi. Normally you have to be in the lobby of a hotel to get that. At the Belleclaire - it was free in my room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbenjamen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Sbenjamin,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay at the Hotel Belleclaire! The exceptional quality of personal service and amenities are the hotel’s signature approach. As you kindly mentioned, we provide complimentary high speed wi-fi access, a mini refrigerator in each guest room, 24 hour access to the fitness center and media lounge to name a few. In addition to our newly renovated lobby and guest rooms, all bathrooms will feature newly renovated and modern floor to ceiling glass enclosed showers, tasteful espresso vanities, and a splash of white stonewash tiles. I’m delighted to read your appraisal of our team, the services, cleanliness, and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts! We hope to see you soon, Sbenjamin!

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,267
    1,511
    509
    213
    114
See reviews for
919
1,298
265
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed in the Hotel Belleclaire for 4 nights with a friend. Neighbourhood appeared safe. Central park with within very easy walking distance. Subway was 2 blocks away and appeared to serve most tourist 'must see' locations directly i.e. Times Square, Statue of Liberty, 34th Street.. There is a well-stocked mini-supermarket (Westwide Market) on the corner of 77th and Broadway and a bakery (Europan) which sells fresh coffee on Broadway and 78th.

Room was small but kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay by a friendly housekeeper. The bed was comfortable and had extra blankets and pillows provided in the wardrobe. There was an iron and ironing board also provided in the room which we liked. There was a minibar and fridge in the room which was big enough to keep other things in if required. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room but these are provided free in the lobby all day. There was a very good shower but no bath. Free wifi was very useful for looking up attractions/maps etc.

The view from our room was not remotely picturesque (room 828). We could see the back of buildings and an elevator shaft. However, we found that this made the room very quiet as we were not on the road. Did not mind the lack of view as we did not spend much time at the hotel. Other visitors might have different views about this.

In general, staff were friendly and helpful. Concierge provided us with lots of information and booked transportation to JFK at a good price. Housekeeping provided extra shower products at request within a few minutes.

I would recommend this hotel to a friend and would stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet but lack a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sianiebach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Sianiebach,

We are very thrilled with your comments regarding our Upper West Side location, the cleanliness, the comfort and the service. I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts and service. I love hearing that you were able to take advantage of Belleclaire Hotel, conveniently located a few blocks from Central Park, the best museums in NY City and far from the chaos of shopping crowds in midtown. We appreciate your business and your feedback, and we certainly look forward to welcoming your family and friends soon at Belleclaire. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com.

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I would recoomend this hotel to everybody! The only thing to consider is taking earplugs as you will need them with a room on street side. Single glass is simply not enough for NY sound! If you take care of that, the rest is perfect. Room is clean, Shower is hot & bed is firm! Supermarket at the corner, nice breakfast restaurants within 100 meters and same for subway. Central park in jogging distance. Without a doubt I will come again with our next NY stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank De_WitteC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear De_WitteC,

Fantastic! Thank you so much for your great review! We love hearing that you were able to take advantage of our prime location. We really appreciate your business, and hope to welcome you back soon. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at Hotel Belleclaire, we had a queen delux room with what looked like a newly installed bathroom with walk in shower. Room was cleaned daily and 79th st subway station is 2 minutes walk away!

Staff were attentive and the concierge helpful. Would stay there again when revisiting NYC.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mr_B87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Mr_B87,

We truly appreciate the very kind and positive review of your stay at the Hotel Belleclaire! We are delighted with your comments regarding our deluxe accommodations, the cleanliness, the amenities, our qualified staff and their excellent services. We were delighted to accommodate your reservation needs and look forward to your future stay at Hotel Belleclaire!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a two night stay in New York. I chose the hotel because I have four kids and it could sleep a family of six in one room. The location is amazing - just off Broadway and only a couple if blocks away from Central Park and the Natural History Museum. Easy access to the metro stations at 72nd and 79th. Unfortunately this is part of the problem - the sash windows are full of character but offer no soundproofing so we had constant traffic noise and sirens from the fire station down the street. As a result we hardly slept at all and with four jet lagged kids we were on the streets of New York by dawn! The second night was more bearable but only because we used ear plugs. Even the room itself is noisy as the radiators clunk but the manager has informed me a new heating system is being installed so check before you book if your room has been updated. The hotel itself is pleasant and the room is ideal with three double beds - two in one area and a third in another so perfect if you have kids. Unfortunately the bathroom is tiny - far too small for a family room and my toddler couldn't use the toilet without hitting her head on the sink. The fittings in the bathroom were also dated and not what you would expect in a boutique hotel. I was also surprised that there were no tea making facilities in the room and we had to pay for bottled water but maybe this is standard in hotels in the US. The service was polite and efficient but I didn't feel we got the American welcome we expected but again, maybe this is standard for New York. When we complained on leaving, the receptionist apologised but seemed disinterested . The email response by the manager has been better.

Room Tip: Make sure it is away from the street and has a new heating system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Wendy W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the Hotel Belleclaire. Please allow me to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We have alerted our staff and will take proactive measures to avoid this issue in the future. I notice as well your mention about the convenient location of our Hotel Belleclaire. Is true that it’s in a perfect location, just a stone throw away from Central Park and is situated in a friendly neighborhood on the Upper West Side. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The hotel is in a great location, however if you want clean this is not the place to go. We had several issues from finding a pill in the floor to the furniture never being dusted. There were dust balls all in the floor and no unit in the room to keep you cool. When we asked about getting a unit we were told it would take an hr. They advised us they would come back the next day to install. That never happened. Next time I travel to NYC I will spend a little more for something cleaner.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The staff is cheerful and very competent, the hotel is in a great location on the West Side, lots of restaurants and the West Side Grocery is 1/2 block away. For New York it is a good value for the price. The rooms vary a lot, some are very small, we had a King Deluxe with a small view of the Hudson River and it was worth the extra cost since we were there for 6 nights. The elevators are efficient and quick, it is good to have a refrigerator in the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Susan F,

Thank you for spending 6 days at Hotel Belleclaire!! We really appreciate the time you took telling us about your experience at Hotel Belleclaire. We are delighted with your comments regarding our location, the deluxe accommodations, the amenities the service, and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts and service. We appreciate your business and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again soon at Belleclaire. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 466 in New York City
4,990 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#128 of 466 in New York City
2,364 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#58 of 466 in New York City
3,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#247 of 466 in New York City
2,061 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#204 of 466 in New York City
1,151 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#131 of 466 in New York City
5,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Property: Hotel Belleclaire
Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#143 Business Hotel in New York City
#162 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#179 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing