We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Belleclaire
Ranked #229 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The hotel was excellent! Staff was very welcoming and friendly and provided everything we needed. The room was very nice and comfortable. Better sleep then I get at home. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Aldo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Aldo D,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay at the Hotel Belleclaire! The exceptional quality of personal service and amenities are the hotel’s signature approach. We provide complimentary high speed wi-fi access, a mini refrigerator in each guest room, 24 hour access to the fitness center and media lounge to name a few. In addition to our newly renovated lobby and guest rooms, all bathrooms will feature newly renovated and modern floor to ceiling glass enclosed showers, tasteful espresso vanities, and a splash of white stonewash tiles.

I’m delighted to read your appraisal of our team, the cleanliness, comfort, services, and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts. I’m so thrilled to hear that Hotel Belleclaire made you feel at home in the fabulous, cultural and residential neighborhood!

Hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,946 - 1,952 of 3,776 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

I compared other hotels in the area and decided on Hotel Belleclaire upon the reviews, features and price. The room was average size for a NY hotel, the room was very clean and the hardwood laminate flooring really helps open the space up.

The elevators are on the small side, but two of us traveling together had no issues using it along with handling our baggage at the same time.

The hotel is located very close to shopping, dining and entertainment, we didn't use our car the entire trip, and only a taxi one time due to time restraints on where we needed to go.

Street and nearby building construction did go quite late into the night, at least 3am, not that it is the fault of this building/hotel, but it did detract from the stay slightly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Barry S,

Thank you for sharing the positive review! I'm pleased to read your appraisal of our value, cleanliness, and our prime location. As you already kindly mention, Belleclaire is located two blocks away from the subway train station and steps to some of the best small restaurants, shopping, and coffee shops. We really appreciate your business. Please feel free to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com in case your future plans bring you back to New York City.

Happy Holidays!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

A great find!

Stayed for two nights in December, on vacation with my SO. We both loved it and were so happy with the find.

Pros:
- Spacious room. Not sure if we were in a corner room, but we had TONS of space, way more than I've had at other Manhattan hotels (that are almost twice the price!).
- Tasteful decor. Unlike every other Manhattan boutique hotel, this one wasn't trying too hard. Our room and bathroom weren't fancy, but were decorated in a clean, modern, simple style. Everything was new and in good condition.
- Friendly staff. We only interacted with them at check-in, but they were welcoming, kind, and helpful.

The only other thing to note is the neighborhood, and that could be a pro/con depending on what you're looking for.
- Neighborhood. On the Upper West Side, in a quiet area, right off the 1 Subway line. We found a good bar for drinks, and enjoyed being in a less touristy area, but generally the hotel was far from everything we wanted to do. Great proximity to Central Park and some nice museums though!

I would come back here any time, and recommend it to business or vacation travelers!

Room Tip: No noise from the neighbors, but tons of street noise. Ask for a room away from the street if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Lindsey S,

Fantastic! Thank you for sharing the positive review! I’m delighted to read your comments regarding our cleanliness and the room décor, appraisal of our team, the value, services, and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts. As you already kindly mention, Belleclaire is located close to the best museums in NY City and far from the chaos of shopping crowds in midtown. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at the Belleclaire! It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service. Please feel free to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com in case your future plans bring you back to New York City.

Hope to see you soon and Happy Holidays!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This was my very first trip to NYC, but was traveling with a frequent visitor. She had stayed at this hotel previously and we were both disappointed in the lack of microwave and complimentary coffee. There was a small refrigerator in the room that we appreciated.

This hotel was basically right on Broadway (one storefront separating this building from Broadway), and just a short walk to the subway stop for the 1 train. The 1 runs north and south the entire length of Manhattan.

Our room was hot, hot, hot!! Even though we completely turned the radiator off, our room was like a sauna. The maintenance man came up on two different occasions in an attempt to adjust the radiator. On a positive note, they are removing the boiler system and putting in central A/C and new vented heat. So this issue is soon to be resolved.

Staff was amazing, very friendly and accommodating (with the concierge being the only "sourpuss" in the bunch. The front desk staff was able to answer our questions and direct us to nearby restaurants, etc. Too bad the Concierge didn't offer these services. The bellman was absolutely wonderful, always smiling and friendly!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Pam R,

We are very happy with your comments regarding our wonderful location, the cleanliness, and our Front Desk and Housekeeping service. I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts and service. As you already kindly mention, Belleclaire is located two blocks away from the subway train station and steps to some of the best small restaurants and coffee shops. Our location offers easy access to various main attractions and locations throughout NYC. Thank you for letting us know that there was an element of your stay that you found needed improvement (heat), and this will certainly be addressed and corrected. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com.

Happy Holidays!

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We arrived to a beautifully remodeled lobby, with Iced tea waiting. There was also a coffee bar right in the lobby. The front desk staff helped us get an adjoining room, which with two kids was amazing. My top priority in a hotel is a comfortable clean bed with nice linens and towels, and it truly exceeded my expectations. The rooms are newly remodeled as well. Nicely appointed with top notch Co Bigelow products, slippers and robes, which I thought was a nice touch. We had recently stayed at the Millennium in Times Square and I have to say I enjoyed my stay at Belleclaire much more. The staff, beds, and everything that went with our stay at Belleclaire was just easier. Also it was easy to get to with traffic, unlike trying to get a cab into Times Square.

Room Tip: loved the view of the church of the look out balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heathergg1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear Heathergg1999,

Fantastic! We are thrilled with your comments regarding our prime location, amenities, the comfort, cleanliness, our Front Desk Service and our Hotel value. I notice as well your mention about the nice renovations of our rooms and lobby. As you kindly mentioned, we are situated in the heart of the Upper West Side; a magnificent, cultural and residential neighborhood that is located steps away from the subway station. Our location offers easy access to various main attractions and locations throughout NYC.

We were delighted to accommodate your reservation needs and look forward to your future stay at Hotel Belleclaire!

Happy Holidays!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

As former New Yorkers, we love the old-world charm of this hotel, especially the rooms facing on B'way. Everything is always very clean and the lobby is so beautiful and comfortable for sitting around in between visiting and touring.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JeanneBrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear JeanneBrick,

Very nice! Thank you so much for your review! I'm pleased to read your appraisal of our comfort and cleanliness. I notice as well your mention about the nice renovation and the old-world charm of our lobby. We really appreciate your business, and hope to welcome you back soon.

Happy Holidays!

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hotel is not in the middle of Times Square, so if that's what you want don't stay here. But it's a great hotel in a top neighborhood with tons of restaurants and small shops nearby - and easy subway or cab ride to Times Square or other locations. The rooms are average size for New York hotels. Bathrooms very nice. All very modern inside. We did not get a room with a "view" and faced a brick wall, but this didn't really bother us, as it was very quiet.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Fran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear Fran G,

Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent visit to the Belleclaire Hotel. We are happy with your comments regarding our wonderful location and our modern bathrooms. I notice as well your mention about the convenient location of our Hotel Belleclaire. Is true that it’s in a perfect location, just a stone throw away from Central Park and is situated in a friendly neighborhood on the Upper West Side, where there are lots of restaurants, bars, shops and places and which is very appreciated by our guests. Again, we truly appreciate the positive review! We hope to see you soon!

Happy Holidays!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#184 of 470 in New York City
5,554 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#141 of 470 in New York City
2,448 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#62 of 470 in New York City
3,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#254 of 470 in New York City
2,135 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#181 of 470 in New York City
1,192 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#322 of 470 in New York City
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Business Hotel in New York City
#160 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#177 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $135 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing