We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel great location”
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Belleclaire
Ranked #228 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Our experience at the hotel belleclaire was a good one for what we required. Our room was small but what do you need whilst visiting New York for a few days a comfy bed a shower and a tv for chilling. There is no restaurant onsite but there are plenty of cafés and restaurants near by. They do sell coffee tea and bagels at the lobby in the mornings courtesy of the coffee an Tea leaf cafe from around the corner. Complimentary ice tea is available through the day in the lobby also which my wife loved. The location is great only 2 streets away from the 1 subway which will take you to pretty much any stop you want and a few avenues walk and your in Central Park. Few negatives but not a huge problem but we had to turn the fridge off as the the noise kept waking us up and we had a hissing radiator which we also had to turn off but all in the hotel was a great place to come back to after a long day traveling around New York. If your looking for somewhere for breakfast you cant go wrong with the Viande Cafe a couple of streets down ( don't let the miserable check out girl put you off :) ). We would definitely stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Wilchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Wilchie,

Thank you for spending the time telling us about your experience at Hotel Belleclaire.
We are pleased with your comments regarding our wonderful location and our amenities. As you already kindly mention, Belleclaire is located two blocks away from the subway train station and steps to some of the best small restaurants and coffee shops. Thank you for letting us know that there were a few elements of your stay that you found needed improvement (radiator/fridge noise), and these will certainly be addressed and corrected.

Please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com if your future plans bring you back to New York City.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,782)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,006 - 2,012 of 3,782 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

The photos online make the Belle Claire look a little more large and spectacular than it really is BUT it was a nice place. Charming neighborhood and very close to stores and restaurants. Our room was very small and the sink in the bathroom had a large crack in it. It seemed safe and the staff was friendly enough. I stayed there with my 13 year old son. His first trip to NYC. We wanted a quiet place where we could relax at night and it worked fine for that. Not much in the way of food or drinks. They said they are hoping to get a liquor license soon. We could walk to Natural History Museum in just a few minutes as well as Central Park.

Room Tip: We ordered in breakfast from a local cafe on Broadway every morning. It was fast and inexpensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNJMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear MNJMoo,

Thank you for sharing the positive review of your recent visit to the Hotel Belleclaire, conveniently located near Central Park! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am delighted to read your appraisal of our prime location, our team, and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts. However I am sorry that you had a less than exceptional experience and that there was an element of your stay (sink) that you found needed improvement, and this will certainly be addressed and corrected. We really appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We found all of the staff at the Belleclaire Hotel to be very professional and helpful. We had a great deal via Expedia. Our room was much larger than we expected and it was relatively quiet, being on the ninth floor and not overlooking Broadway. It was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Mr B is recovering from a back operation and commented that the bed was quite high and therefore easy for him to get in and out of. Not so the bath, which was low to the floor. We used the air conditioning just to cool the room down upon our arrival most evenings. It was quite loud.

There is a media room with three terminals a printer and two video games. In the room next door is a gym, which we did not use. There are three lifts, although two of them are intimate!

The hotel is two blocks down from the subway. The hotel does not serve food. There is a coffee bar in the lobby which opens at 0600. It was closed when we returned from our days out, but iced water and tea were available.

Good breakfast options and a couple of bars are just a few blocks away.

We liked the hotel but would probably not return to the Upper West Side.

Room Tip: High floor and back street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissusB1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adisa F, Director of Sales at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear MissusB1965,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hotel Belleclaire! We truly appreciate your feedback, and are delighted to hear that our staff was helpful and professional. We would love to welcome you back in the future. We also have great news to share--Hotel Belleclaire will introduce central air/heating in all guest rooms and suites in 2014!

Please follow us on social media and subscribe to our email list for exclusive offers and best available rates-- book direct and save!

Sincerely,

Adisa Feratovic
Director of Sales & Marketing
Hotel Belleclaire
Adisa@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great location in upper west side - close to all conveniences. Trouble with the hot water for 24 hours meant cold showers, and a luke warm response from the Manager. He assumed that an apology was all that was necessary to make things right. Eventually moved us to another room, (much noisier) where the water was a dirty brown colour and unable to be used. (see attached photo) Had to have bottled water in the room for drinking and teeth cleaning.

Room Tip: Ask for one with clean, hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgeres, General Manager at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Allan M,

Thank you for writing a review about the Hotel Belleclaire. Your feedback is essential to our success!

I apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced during your most recent visit with us. Unfortunately, we had a water shut down in our building during the time you were here. This was unexpected and it was the reason for the brown colored water. I would hope that you could give us another opportunity in the near future if you a traveling again to NYC. Please contact me directly and I will personally make your reservation at the best available rate.

Sincerely,

Scott Geres
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Staying at the belleclaire 446 dollars a night no breakfast.

First impressions it's like a budget hotel , small lobby , no restraint facilities so everyone sitting around drinking their bought in wines or coffees . Hallways are absolutely filthy dirt and bits of paper and rubbish on the floors . Get to my room and it's seen better days , paintwork chipped and worn . The small window I have is single glazed and I can hear the noise from the street , it's as if I'm on the street. Neighbours come in from a night out and I can hear every word of their conversation through the adjoining door and thin wall. They aren't being loud it's just the acoustic insulation is that bad. Room service links to a deli around the corner. Breakfast option is a local coffee shop that sets up in the foyer

All in all terrible terrible hotel - the worst I've stayed in

Room Tip: Don't - go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keir d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgeres, General Manager at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Keir d,

Thank you for writing a review about the Hotel Bellelclaire. Your feedback is essential to our success!

I apologize that your overall experience of the Belleclaire was not to your satisfaction. We did just complete a multi million dollar lobby renovation and the majority of our guest rooms were newly decorated. I would love to discuss your stay in more detail if you did have a free moment. My direct contact information is 212-706-4469 or sgeres@hotelbelleclaire.com. I apologize again...

Sincerely,

Scott Geres
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I just came back from New York and stayed here for 4 nights and had a great time. The hotel is only 2blocks away from the metro station and has great connections to all the tourist things we wanted to do! Times Sq is only around 12mins away on the tube!
The staff were really friendly - Natalie on the reception was very helpful and Carlos on the concierge desk was such a delight!
There are a few places to eat around, although there is not a lot of choice. If shopping is your thing, then Century 21 is only a 10min walk from the hotel!
Would 100% recommend this place for your stay to New York!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Persian_Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adisa F, Director of Sales at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Granadinaa,

Thank you for sharing your FANTASTIC experience at the Hotel Belleclaire! Our convenient Upper West Side location is centrally located near transportation, boutique shops, and top-rated restaurants. The staff compliments have been well received by Natalie and Carlos, and we look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next visit to New York City.

Please follow us on social media and subscribe to our email list for the best rates and exclusive offers-- loyal guests receive the royal treatment! We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Adisa Feratovic
Director of Sales & Marketing
Hotel Belleclaire
Adisa@Hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

While we were staying at the Hotel Belleclaire for a family celebration in NY, I made a note to myself to write in and give it wonderful reviews, but when I left my flat iron there and called to see if they had it, they proved themselves to be absolutely amazing!!! I called and spoke to a Ms. Adisa Feratovic, who said she would look into it and call me back. Not only did she call me back within 90 minutes, but she personally guaranteed that it would be sent out to me immediately (I was quickly frizzing in Baltimore!) I received it today, in perfect condition and wrapped in bubble wrap for extra perfection. This hotel will have my business every time I stay in NY!!! Thank you!!! Robin Miller

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adisa F, Director of Sales at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Robin M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Hotel Belleclaire! Our team was delighted to read your positive feedback and the compliments are very much appreciated. It was my pleasure assisting you as well, and I am glad the item was received in an efficient manner.

Have you heard about our loyalty program? During your next visit, we'll customize your stay with complimentary amenities and enhanced guest services. Please follow us on social media and subscribe to our email list for exclusive New York City promotions. We look forward to seeing you soon, Robin!

Sincerely,

Adisa Feratovic
Director of Sales & Marketing
Hotel Belleclaire
Adisa@hotelbelleclaire.com/ 212-706-4479

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#184 of 470 in New York City
5,575 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#138 of 470 in New York City
2,450 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#60 of 470 in New York City
3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#252 of 470 in New York City
2,135 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#177 of 470 in New York City
1,192 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#323 of 470 in New York City
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Business Hotel in New York City
#160 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $133 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing