We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Belleclaire
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6810 (Upper West Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
MEMBERS ONLY SPECIAL
Ranked #230 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Nice hotel, nice lobby. The room we had was smallish but well appointed. The Dean and DeLuca chocolate bar, pretzels and water were nice touches. The location was excellent to The Beacon Theater, Museum of Natural History, and the subway. There was a window air conditioner which we did not use. The window was not shut tightly so the elements infiltrate the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CleoandMonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,050
    1,328
    421
    182
    101
See reviews for
736
1,116
230
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The first wave of ‘apartment hotels’ occurred between 1889 and 1895 in New York City. The Belleclaire Hotel was created in 1903 by Emery Roth the architect. His stylistic influences originated in Modern French classical, French Art Nouveau, and the Viennese Secessionist Movement. In 1993-1995 I use to live in this apartment hotel, side by side with many eccentric immigrants from Eastern Europe and Africa in the other rooms, and with native artists and writers and actors working and living in Manhattan.

I lived on the 4th floor, for less than $200 per week. We felt aristocratic on the 4th floor, because it had so many kooky and stylish asymmetrical window panes. Nearly every ‘apartment’ was different in the hotel, some with many rooms not just one, all designed with a special unique ambiance.

Years later it became some kind of youth hostel, on its lower floors, and it still maintained some of its long term SRO former occupants. Additionally, they renovated some newer upscale rooms, slowly at that time.

Now it is a first class stylish Euro-Manhattan hotel on the Upper West Side, near Fairway Market and many landmarks, shopping and eating establishments, and entertainment venues, that have been uptown quite a long time.

The rates are very reasonable and affordable, for NYC you could say it is in the budget range, and it makes one wonder why hotels are so overpriced and outrageously impersonal for the money, in many venues splattered all around Manhattan.

There are many “converted” dives and rip off hotels that prey upon unsuspecting out-of-towners, in today’s New York City, but BelleClaire is not one of them.

I hate to write this paean to a classic old lady of a hotel, because if too many people know this secret, despite my good intentions, the hotel will soon always be full, or maybe change their rates into the stratosphere, along with the other cash cows in the uncivilized real estate marketplace of Manhattan.

The service is on par with 5-star hotels in Europe, and the lobby quite attractive, with complimentary scented waters and homemade lemonades of some sort, to drink, and daily free newspapers, including the New York Times.

The amenities are many, plus the bathrooms are very nice, and the TV and towels, top notch.

It was like “going home” to stay here again, after 20-years absence. I hope this hotel maintains its essence another 50 years, at least.

So stay away from this hotel and leave it just for me!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bryan-in-tbilisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great location - near subway, Central Park and Natural History Museum. Staff lack some courtesy... amazing family room, small bathroom. Nice coffee place on the ground. Try the bakery across the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mm_brz_sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Counter staff and valet very helpful and genuinely interested in making our stay a pleasant one. The hotels location is quiet for a NYC hotel. Prices reasonable and room clean. We would stay at the Belleclaire again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Navgrebsleda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Spacious and clean with great service. Location is far from downtown Manhattan. But 20 min subway and 10 min by cab depending on traffic. But lots of shops and eats nearby. The tv wasn't working and if you have an apple device the wifi doesn't work. But overall great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsallthetime_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on my trip to NYC, it's close to the Lincoln Arts Centre and the park and in a nice part of the upper west (before it starts getting a bit more Harlemish). The room was nice, good size, great decor. Paid 4 star prices but I wouldn't necessarily give it that although Manhatten is overpriced for hotels (as expected). The extras were quite pricey and I felt this was unnecessary. Could do worse though.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear M B,

Thank you for spending the time telling us about your excellent experience at Hotel Belleclaire!
We are delightful with your comments regarding our wonderful location and amenities. I love hearing that you were able to take advantage of Belleclaire Hotel, conveniently located a few blocks from Central Park, Lincoln Center, the best museums in NY City and far from the chaos of shopping crowds in midtown. We appreciate your business and we hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My four girlfriends and I stayed at their suite and it was very comfortable!!!! Bed was super comfy and staff were super helpful and friendly!!! Convenient location and I'll absolutely stay there again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anita2012_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear anita2012_10,

Fantastic! Thank you for sharing the positive review! The exceptional quality of personal service and amenities are the hotel’s signature approach. I’m pleased to read your appraisal of our team, the comfort, services, and the very kind remarks and recognition of our staff’s efforts. It’s great to hear you took advantage of the prime location in the heart of the Upper West. Again, we truly appreciate the positive review! We hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#157 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,156 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#105 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,148 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#201 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#47 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,105 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#254 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,871 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#315 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Property: Hotel Belleclaire
Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 Business Hotel in New York City
#165 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#183 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing