We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class stylish Euro-Manhattan hotel on the Upper West Side, near Fairway Market and many landmarks”
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Belleclaire
Ranked #224 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“First class stylish Euro-Manhattan hotel on the Upper West Side, near Fairway Market and many landmarks”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The first wave of ‘apartment hotels’ occurred between 1889 and 1895 in New York City. The Belleclaire Hotel was created in 1903 by Emery Roth the architect. His stylistic influences originated in Modern French classical, French Art Nouveau, and the Viennese Secessionist Movement. In 1993-1995 I use to live in this apartment hotel, side by side with many eccentric immigrants from Eastern Europe and Africa in the other rooms, and with native artists and writers and actors working and living in Manhattan.

I lived on the 4th floor, for less than $200 per week. We felt aristocratic on the 4th floor, because it had so many kooky and stylish asymmetrical window panes. Nearly every ‘apartment’ was different in the hotel, some with many rooms not just one, all designed with a special unique ambiance.

Years later it became some kind of youth hostel, on its lower floors, and it still maintained some of its long term SRO former occupants. Additionally, they renovated some newer upscale rooms, slowly at that time.

Now it is a first class stylish Euro-Manhattan hotel on the Upper West Side, near Fairway Market and many landmarks, shopping and eating establishments, and entertainment venues, that have been uptown quite a long time.

The rates are very reasonable and affordable, for NYC you could say it is in the budget range, and it makes one wonder why hotels are so overpriced and outrageously impersonal for the money, in many venues splattered all around Manhattan.

There are many “converted” dives and rip off hotels that prey upon unsuspecting out-of-towners, in today’s New York City, but BelleClaire is not one of them.

I hate to write this paean to a classic old lady of a hotel, because if too many people know this secret, despite my good intentions, the hotel will soon always be full, or maybe change their rates into the stratosphere, along with the other cash cows in the uncivilized real estate marketplace of Manhattan.

The service is on par with 5-star hotels in Europe, and the lobby quite attractive, with complimentary scented waters and homemade lemonades of some sort, to drink, and daily free newspapers, including the New York Times.

The amenities are many, plus the bathrooms are very nice, and the TV and towels, top notch.

It was like “going home” to stay here again, after 20-years absence. I hope this hotel maintains its essence another 50 years, at least.

So stay away from this hotel and leave it just for me!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bryan-quiller-hire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    1,527
    511
    214
    114
See reviews for
931
1,305
270
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great location - near subway, Central Park and Natural History Museum. Staff lack some courtesy... amazing family room, small bathroom. Nice coffee place on the ground. Try the bakery across the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mm_brz_sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Counter staff and valet very helpful and genuinely interested in making our stay a pleasant one. The hotels location is quiet for a NYC hotel. Prices reasonable and room clean. We would stay at the Belleclaire again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navgrebsleda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Spacious and clean with great service. Location is far from downtown Manhattan. But 20 min subway and 10 min by cab depending on traffic. But lots of shops and eats nearby. The tv wasn't working and if you have an apple device the wifi doesn't work. But overall great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsallthetime_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on my trip to NYC, it's close to the Lincoln Arts Centre and the park and in a nice part of the upper west (before it starts getting a bit more Harlemish). The room was nice, good size, great decor. Paid 4 star prices but I wouldn't necessarily give it that although Manhatten is overpriced for hotels (as expected). The extras were quite pricey and I felt this was unnecessary. Could do worse though.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear M B,

Thank you for spending the time telling us about your excellent experience at Hotel Belleclaire!
We are delightful with your comments regarding our wonderful location and amenities. I love hearing that you were able to take advantage of Belleclaire Hotel, conveniently located a few blocks from Central Park, Lincoln Center, the best museums in NY City and far from the chaos of shopping crowds in midtown. We appreciate your business and we hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My four girlfriends and I stayed at their suite and it was very comfortable!!!! Bed was super comfy and staff were super helpful and friendly!!! Convenient location and I'll absolutely stay there again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anita2012_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear anita2012_10,

Fantastic! Thank you for sharing the positive review! The exceptional quality of personal service and amenities are the hotel’s signature approach. I’m pleased to read your appraisal of our team, the comfort, services, and the very kind remarks and recognition of our staff’s efforts. It’s great to hear you took advantage of the prime location in the heart of the Upper West. Again, we truly appreciate the positive review! We hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I really love staying here. The location is fantastic and it's so clean and well run. I so prefer the wood floors to carpeting and the bathroom was well planned out to compensate for its small size. My only regret about our room was our lack of any kind of view and that our window looked directly into the window of another room. Obviously, there's a limited amount of rooms that have views so its just how it is. We were usually out and about so that was a trivial thing. Other than that, this hotel is definitely at the top of my list on places to stay in NY.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancyl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear NancyI50,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Hotel Belleclaire! The exceptional quality of personal service and amenities are the hotel’s signature approach. We provide complimentary high speed wi-fi access, a mini refrigerator in each guest room, game room with over 10,000 arcade style games and 27-inch MAC computers, C.O. Bigelow bath amenities, and 24 hour access to the fitness center and media lounge to name a few. In addition to our newly renovated and pristine lobby and guest rooms, all bathrooms will feature newly renovated and modern floor to ceiling glass enclosed showers, tasteful espresso vanities, and a splash of white stonewash tiles.

With steps away to the subway station, our location offers easy access to various main attractions and locations throughout NYC. Take a walk through the picturesque Central Park, dine at a world class gourmet restaurant, let music fill your ears at Lincoln Center and top off the night with delicious cupcakes from Crumbs Bake Shop.

We were delighted to accommodate your reservation needs and look forward to your future stay at Hotel Belleclaire!

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#173 of 467 in New York City
5,090 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
2,383 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#66 of 467 in New York City
3,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#249 of 467 in New York City
2,079 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#198 of 467 in New York City
1,158 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#317 of 467 in New York City
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Property: Hotel Belleclaire
Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
#161 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#178 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing