We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent location, great venue”
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Belleclaire
Ranked #227 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Hotel Belleclaire for five nights and our stay was wonderful. The hotel is big, romos are tiny but very comfortable. We were offered an upgrade to a bigger room, but we decided not to upgrade because we werent going to spend a lot of time in the room.
The bathroom was very modern and functional. Great showerhead!!!
We stayed in the 9th floor. Zero noise.
They do not provide breakfast, but there is a deli right next to the Children's Place store (which is in front of the hotel) that works 24/7.
The hotel is only two blocks away from the Subway station. Very well located, the red line goes through that station and you can move pretty much everywhere in Manhattan.
Loved the hotel, will stay there again and I definately recommend this!!!

Room Tip: High floors
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmaliaB162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear AmaliaB162,

Thank you for spending five nights at the Hotel Belleclaire! We are thrilled with your comments regarding our prime location, our service, cleanliness, and the comfort.

As you kindly mentioned, we are situated in the heart of the Upper West Side; a magnificent, cultural and residential neighborhood that is located steps away from the subway station. Our location offers easy access to various main attractions and locations throughout NYC.

We were delighted to accommodate your reservation needs and look forward to your future stay at Hotel Belleclaire!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,682)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Belleclaire
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,953 - 1,959 of 3,682 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Looking to stay here again for Thanksgiving this year. Last year my husband and I had an excellent time here. Rooms was clean and comfortable. Room service was wonderful and the location of the hotel was great! Hoping to stay again soon!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimberlyinMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear KimberlyinMaui,

Fantastic! Thank you for sharing the positive review! The exceptional quality of personal service and amenities are the hotel’s signature approach. I’m pleased to read your appraisal of our team, the value, the comfort, cleanliness, services, and the very kind remarks and recognition of our staff’s efforts. It’s great to hear you took advantage of the prime location in the heart of the Upper West. Again, we truly appreciate the positive review! We hope to see you in November!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I booked a flight/hotel package with many hotel choices. The price is great for NYC and I found the location preferable to being further south because it is more a neighborhood without throngs of tourists packing the streets. THe subway stops are 2 and 6 blocks away so it's easy to get around; there are many nearby restaurants walkable as well as a 24 hr market around the corner and a bakery/coffee shop 1/2 block away. THere is a coffee bar in the lobby with some bakery goods as well. The small refridgerators in the room are great for a quick breakfast in or a snack.
The king room we had faced Broadway but the fan covered noise and the work outside did not start until 8:30 AM.
We did have some issues regarding maid service when we remained in our room until about 10 AM. THough we were gone until 5:30 PM one day, no one serviced it and did not come promptly when requested. The rooms were clean, contemporary and the shower quite nice.

Room Tip: A higher floor would be good to avoid Broadway noise and the king room is pretty spacious.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear SueTerry,

Very nice! Thank you so much for your great review! We love hearing that you were able to take advantage of our prime location, the value and all amenities that Belleclaire has to offer. As you already kindly mention, Belleclaire is located two blocks away from the subway train station and steps to some of the best small restaurants and coffee shops. Thank you for letting us know that there were an element of your stay that you found needed improvement and this will certainly be addressed and corrected. If we could be of any assistance in your future plans, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com.

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Without repeating what others have written, I would like to say that this hotel was like a home from home - without the staff being 'in your face'. There was a lovely relaxing atmosphere in the lobby and time of day or night. The decor is minimalistic and classy. We stayed for 7 nights and it was consistently clean. Wifi was excellent and the computer room was also so accessible and screens huge! The gym is right beside the computer room on the 1st floor. There was a guest arrested while I was in the lobby one day, it was handled very professionally by the staff. The hotel is 2 blocks away from the subway 1 red line - it is so accessible. We also took advantage of Central Park being 4 blocks away and a jog a few mornings - bliss:) I will definitely recommend this hotel to others. Couple of small gripes - only got 1 container of body lotion which was fab over the week and also only 1 hand towel between 3 of us - we managed. should have asked for more - totally our fault for not asking. I hope to be back. Oh P.S. The beds are v comfy and area is an oasis in NY.

Room Tip: 9th floor, view of Hudson, little or no noise. Put on a/c when U go out - nice and cool on return
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pixie067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Pixie067,

Thank you for spending a full week at Hotel Belleclaire!! We really appreciate the time you took telling us about your experience at Hotel Belleclaire.

We are delighted with your comments regarding our lobby, media lounge, fitness center, wifi, the amenities, our qualified staff and their excellent services. I notice as well your mention about the safe and convenient location of our Hotel Belleclaire. Is true that it’s in a perfect location, just a stone throw away from Central Park and is situated in a friendly neighborhood on the Upper West Side, where there are lots of bars, shops and places and which is very appreciated by our guests.

I’m so thrilled to hear that Hotel Belleclaire made you feel like a true New Yorker at home in the fabulous, cultural and residential neighborhood! We are looking forward to the return of your home base!

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We are half way through our stay at the Hotel Belleclaire.

We are in a Family Suite as we are travelling with our adult children. The room is clean and larger than expected. We have three beds, Two fridges, Two sets of dressers for our clothes and two TVs.

The hotel in close to the subways and as mentioned in other reviews close to several restaurants, shops and delis.

The staff have been friendly and helpful. Check in was quick and easy.

The only surprise thus far was the work man outside our window this morning. (We are on the sixth floor) Our blinds where shut thankfully, we simply closed the black out blinds and all was well. We would stay here again without question!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Christine P,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay at the Hotel Belleclaire!

I’m delighted to read your comments regarding our Family Suite accommodations, the amenities, appraisal of our team, the value, services, and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts. I notice as well your mention about the convenient location of our Hotel Belleclaire. Is true that it’s in a perfect location, just a stone throw away from Central Park and is situated in a friendly neighborhood on the Upper West Side, where there are lots of restaurants, bars, shops and places and which is very appreciated by our guests. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at the Belleclaire! It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service. Please feel free to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com.

Warm Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Good experience at reception having booked via internet. All OK, rooms were as requested (we travelled with three kids). Large room for three of us was a one bedroom suite with lounge that had a sliding door so privacy for parents and peace for child. Other kids' room was fine but we asked for a move so they could be on same floor as us. No problem for hotel and second room was even better quality. Very clean rooms, especially bathrooms, comfortable beds and air conditioning.
Only negatives were noise from traffic and building work next door and across street. Noisy as rooms were not double glazed. Air conditioning was noisy too making sleep difficult. Internet had problems, but that was down to provider rather than hotel whose staff tried hard to ensure it was accessible (I overheard the conversation the duty manager was having with the internet support provider).
The location was good in terms of restaurants and shopping on the door, trips downtown relatively quick and walking to Central Park easy.

Room Tip: Away from Broadway side
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D_and_LWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear D_and_LWales_UK,

Thank you for writing a review about the Hotel Belleclaire. Your feedback is essential to our success! I apologize for the negative experience that you encountered during your most recent visit. Thank you for letting us know that there were a few elements of your stay that you found needed improvement (A/C, noise), and these will certainly be addressed and corrected. As you already kindly mention, Belleclaire is located close to the best museums in NY City and far from the chaos of shopping crowds in midtown. Our hotel is two blocks away from the subway train station and steps to some of the best small restaurants and coffee shops. We really appreciate your business. Please feel free to contact our reservations department at 1-877-468-3522 or reservations@hotelbelleclaire.com in case your future plans bring you back to New York City.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great location. Not a very touristy part of Manhattan thus making you feel like a local. Food mecca like Citarella and Zabar's are just a block or two away. There are plenty of restaurants and designer shops in the area. Central Park and The Museum of Natural History is also close by plus LLincoln Center is just a few blocks away. The hotels lobby is very nice and cozy. Complimentary ice tea and lemon water in the lobby is a welcome treat. Hermie the Pinoy staff is very helpful. Rooms are a bit small and old but everything you need is right in there. Window type A/C can be really noisy and the bathroom needs a facelift. Grout in the tiles (color black) are seeping out every time you shower. Kinda "yucky" if you ask me. Service is a bit of a challenge specially when they have a lot of guests. Took them 45 minutes and 3 calls to deliver my tv remote control which got lost after the cleaning service in the morning. Took them a while also to deliver slippers and laundry bag to my room. Tiny elevator-both. Except for some minor minuses i would love to stay here again at the same room rate if not less.

Room Tip: Rooms away fro the elevator and request for newly renovated ones
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorycook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Belleclaire, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear dorycook,

Very nice! Thank you so much for your review! We love hearing that you were able to take advantage of our prime location, the value and all amenities that Belleclaire has to offer. I notice as well your mention about the nice renovation of our lobby. However I am sorry that you had a less than exceptional experience and that there were a few elements of your stay that you found needed improvement, and these will certainly be addressed and corrected. We really appreciate your business and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Anna Nejasmic
Sales and Marketing Coordinator
Hotel Belleclaire
212-706-4479 / salesoffice@hotelbelleclaire.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#172 of 468 in New York City
5,233 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#131 of 468 in New York City
2,409 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#72 of 468 in New York City
3,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#245 of 468 in New York City
2,100 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#208 of 468 in New York City
1,168 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#317 of 468 in New York City
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belleclaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belleclaire

Address: 250 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Business Hotel in New York City
#160 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#177 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $179 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Belleclaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by an eclectic array of cultural offerings, Hotel Belleclaire combines classic charm with modern conveniences in a landmark building designed by Emery Roth in 1903. Suitable for business and leisure guests, our Upper West Side hotel is ideally located near iconic New York attractions including Beacon Theatre, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park and Lincoln Center. Additionally, the avenues surrounding the hotel contain some of the most prominent boutiques, restaurants and bars in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Belleclaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleclaire Hotel New York City
Hotel Belleclaire New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing